We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lily Pond” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lily Pond House Restaurant

Lily Pond House Restaurant
Half Moon Bay | The Lily Pond House Hotel, West End 34101, Honduras
32 65 02 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 40 restaurants in West End
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lily Pond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Built in the round, this three story restaurant/boutique hotel was a lovely way to spend one evening. The atmosphere was intimate, the food was elegant. And it looks like a beautiful place to stay for your trip, as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    90
    16
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tranquilo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We've lived here on Roatan for the last seven years and just had our first child. Little William Alexander was going out into the big world outside the house for the first time since coming home from the hospital. There is a belief on the island that you should not bring the baby out of the home for 40 days. Whether or not that has any validity is not the point, we adhered to it. For his first stop, we wanted a quiet place with good food. Zak and Luis were very accommodating, in fact the chef came out of the kitchen to meet the little guy. We placed our order and I received a tour of the rooms they have for rent.

They are beautifully decorated and portray an attention to detail you don't find in many places around here. The location for the Lily Pond house is pretty ideal. You are off the main strip so you don't get a lot of noise but close enough to the action should you want to be a part of it. By close I mean about a 4 minute walk, if that.

The food was delicious. We had two meals, three rum and cokes, and a beer. The cost was just under $50.

We will be back.

Best of luck in your decision making.

    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The meal was delish, atmosphere a bit strange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Lily Pond House is tucked away from the main drag, and sits among a darkened area with trees. It's not beach side and you don't get an ocean breeze at all. The lighting is off (dim and red - personally, I like to be able to see what I'm eating). That said, the meal I had here was really delicious and filling. Take the advice of many other people's reviews and go for the garlic mash and veggie medley. I ordered the catch of the day, smothered in a gravy-like sauce of island spices. It's a healthy sized portion and the price seemed fair for the amount of food and the quality.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Food with Strange Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When you walk up to the restaurant, you are struck by the strange, small, rectangular pool with one inflatable lounger in it...lined by a light blue light rope. The white B and B has a faux Tudor trim of black painted wood and well, the location is just odd. No view. The music playing that night was operatic. The overall combination was just very surreal. The staff were fabulously helpful, knowledgable about the food and friendly. The fish we each had was sea bass cooked in a delicious Thai sauce and accompanied by fresh vegetables and lovely green salad. We shared an average tasting chocolate dessert at the end and overall think it was good but not great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just found this place and I live down the street from it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wow, where to start, when you walk into the gate you get this feeling of energy. We have only eaten there twice in the last week because we just found it. First night we both had pork chops and they were some of the best we have ever had. put some garlic mash and mixed vegetables and you have a plate full for 10 bucks. I'm a big eater and i was full. Then for desert... they have lots and they are great. Second night I had the same thing because it was to good the first time. Need I say more? If you dont eat at the lilly pond on west end your missing a real Roatan Treat. Do yourself a favor and find it. (I dont like crowded dining areas... lol)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lily Pond House Restaurant also viewed

 
West End, Roatan

Been to Lily Pond House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lily Pond House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.