We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest beach bar ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundowners

Sundowners
Half-Moon Bay, West End 00001, Honduras
1-305-720-2705
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 45 Restaurants in West End
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Greatest beach bar ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The best place to cap off a long amazing day of diving! This is where you recap the day's sightings with other divers, where you meet new people (locals, ex-pats, and other travelers), and where you can sip a frosty beverage while watching the sun set while digging your toes in the sand. The food is pretty traditional bar fare but still tasty, and the blue cheese burger is definitely a win. Don't miss this place! This is where everybody starts their night festivities before moving down the road. Can't wait to be back! Thanks Paul and everybody else at Sundowners - great memories!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    143
    30
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best bar on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Seriously, where else do you get good music, great drinks, good food and amazing sunsets?? Sundowners!
Staff are always ready with a smile and to offer you another drink. Music is always happy and perfect for a beach bar. I have either lived or travelled to Roatan since 2001 and I have always had a great experience at this bar.
Whenever I travel to a dive location, I look at where the local instructors go and on Roatan, it's always Sundowners.
Make sure you make a stop here. You'll be happy you did so!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cool little beach bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not the cheapest bar in the town but has a very cool location with a great atmosphere. Nice to be at a tropical bar that plays hockey on the TV for us Canadians.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This place is an institution, so I was happy when some new friends suggested it for dinner one night. I got a cheddar burger, and it was excellent. The portion size is huge, and for only $7.50 it's one of the better values food wise I've found.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the beach and sunset views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The couple we were renting a studio from loved Sundowners so we stopped for drinks one evening. The place was packed so they must be doing something right; it felt like a lot of local expats/divers in the mix. Beer was cold (although it was the day after New Year’s which was a record night for them so they were out of many selections). Prices were listed on chalkboard signs which I liked for comparison purposes. The bartender was efficient and friendly but not overly so. This is a fun beach bar with a good water/sunset view.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundowners also viewed

 

Been to Sundowners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundowners, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.