We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tong's Thai Island Cuisine

Tong's Thai Island Cuisine
West End, West End, Honduras
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 40 restaurants in West End
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Reno
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The Thai food was an unexpected surprise in West End, very authentic and very good. A little pricey for this community. Romantic sitting at the end of the pier but they kind of forget you're there and there's not enough light for us older visually challenged folks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    177
    82
    12
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgway, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Taste and location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My favorite cuisine of all is Thai, so we always search out a place for taste when traveling, and tongs scored high! Five of us shared three entrees and two appetizers, and everything was delicious. And, whaT a location! Take a boat ride to West End, if you are not already there, sit out on the pier, and be sure to order one of their screaming mojitos, and watch the sun set!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and sunsets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food is great. We really enjoyed our dinner at tongs.. The view from the restraint is amazing. The cost to eat here is the same as you would pay on the u.s. we had pad tai that was so yummy and lemon grass chicken that was hot even the mild version had a lot of heat. This is our second trip to the island and we have eaten here both times.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Food is good but expensive, curries at The Light house are cheaper and you get more! The lanterns on the tables on the dock are a nice romantic touch.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The food was quite tasty. Perhaps not the world's best Thai, but Thai food of any kind is quite tough to find in Honduras and this certainly will fulfill a craving. Prices aren't terrible and the service can get a bit slow while busy, but great location and tasty food make the visit worthwhile.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tong's Thai Island Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tong's Thai Island Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tong's Thai Island Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.