We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Tree Divers

Coconut Tree Divers
West End Marine Park | Sandy Bay, West End, Honduras
504.2445.4081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Activities in West End
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the heart of West End, Coconut Tree Divers is the oldest PADI IDC Centers on the island. The shop offers four daily dives: the morning boat leaves at 9:00 AM for two dives and returns at around 12:30 PM. The afternoon dives go out at 1:00 and 2.30 respectively. Night dives are available every Tuesday and Thursday. The shop's second boat, Wish U Were Here, is dedicated for cruise ship visitors on various cruise ship schedules. There is the option of a one day experience program, PADI Discover Scuba Diving, for those who want to try scuba diving for the first time. The program involves some basic theory in the classroom, a short session in shallow confined water, followed by a 45 - 60 minute dive in the afternoon. The shop's friendly, experienced staff will guide you through the various dive sites in Roatan's reef system. Nitrox and Trimix are also available. Snorkelers are also welcome.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I got our Advanced Open Water certification with CTD. The staff is very knowledgable, friendly, and professional. There were only 4 of us in our dive group so we had very personalized attention, and I always felt that we were in capable hands. Their equipment was in good condition, and their shop has lockers where you can store your gear if you have your own so you don't have to schlep it back and forth each time. The diving in Roatan is fantastic, with beautiful coral and crystal clear water just a 5 min boat ride away. I highly recommend CTD.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoa211, Manager at Coconut Tree Divers, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Karen,

Thanks for taking the time to write up a review for us and for mentioning the small group size. At times people see a full boats leaving our dock and don't realize there are several small groups branching out. We hope to see you again and that you keep diving. Bring us some crab cakes on your next visit, please. Let us know if you haven't received your certification cards.

Cheers from Roatan,

-marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    18
    2
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“One big happy family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My experience as a lone traveller to Roatan and especially the team at Coconut Tree Dive (CTD) was a lot more than I ever imagined it would be. The locals are very friendly and not pushy at all in trying to sell you there wares or services. If your after either nightlife or a relax, this place has it all. Coupled with the friendly family atmosphere at CTD, I don't believe you could get better. The diving is absolutely brilliant, water crystal clear and little to no current. Sea life is in abundance and the drop off to the trench has to be experienced.

My special thanks goes to my trainers' - being Cigita my Instructor and Ben the Dive Master in training. Thank you both for all your patience with me as a beginner through to the Open Water certification, your professional and friendly manner made the learning and practical side (the best bit) a very pleasing and rewarding experience. Also my thanks goes to Marco and Ted for all their assistance during my time at CTD. During my entire stay at CTD I felt as I was part of their family to which the whole team at CTD made me feel like not just a customer but a good friend.

In closing, I can't give CTD enough praise and once again I thank you all. To all the DMT's, all the very best in your endeavours as one day I would like to be half as good as you all are now.

PS: Note to self - let air out of BCD when ascending to safety stop :)

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoa211, Manager at Coconut Tree Divers, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hey Tim,

Thanks for the review and for coming to visit us all the way from Australia. Sigita says hi as does Ben ; ) A big part of what we do is Training. Monty heads up the divemaster training and you got to see first hand the commitment required by the trainees. More and more we are getting parents coming to drop their kids off and entrusting them to CTD for the duration of their course. These guys/gals work hard and learn plenty about diving, safety, teamwork, and customer service. Your boy is doing an outstanding job.

Cheers from Roatan,

-marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“HUMANOS Y DADIVOSOS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We like Honduras is very hard to do this activity because is very expensive, But Will and Pj help me to do everything for free since Dive Master until Instructor, and i Learn a lot from Jose, Marcos, Monthy and Ragh, all of the very profesional and now i can work like instructor anywere, thats was posible just in my dreams, they really are a very a good people and very profesional one of the best i sew in the caribean were i am traveling now teaching and knowing other place, now i hope i can be a course director and have my own dive shop, they really change my life thank so much Coconut Tree, how will i forget them....the best in the caribean

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoa211, Manager at Coconut Tree Divers, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Abnerin,

Gracias por escribír el testimonio para Coconut Tree Divers. Siempre hemos querido lo mejor para vos. A veces te costo realizar eso pero hoy dia parace estar bien claro. Continua mejorandote y buceando. Muchisima suerte en Panama. No se te olvide ponerte tu camiseta de CTD y de la H.

Saludos de Roatan,

-marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Marie was the highlight of our great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our experience with Coconut Tree Divers was fantastic! The entire crew was very friendly and helpful, and we felt extremely safe on every dive. In our 5 days with Coconut Tree, we had the perfect variety of dives and saw more than expected! We also had the pleasure of attending Coconut Tree Divers' anniversary party, which was a fun filled day of catamaran rides, food, drinks, and partying on a beautiful beach.

If I could pick out one thing that made our experience so special, it would be Marie. My first two dives were off to a rocky start with difficulty equalizing and a jelly fish sting. However, Marie was there on both occasions to help me to the surface and bring me back to the boat. I hated missing out on diving, but I was so thankful that Marie was there to make me feel safe and chat on the boat while the others finished their dives. Marie also made sure to set up all of our gear on the days she was assigned to our boat - she was the best!

We hope to return to Coconut Tree in the near future!

Visited April 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoa211, Manager at Coconut Tree Divers, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello mh1387,

Thanks for the review. Marie completed her PADI divemaster and instructor course with us. Soon she will be working and making other folks feel welcome and taken care of. She was so excited when she read your acknowledgement that she was literally jumping up and down.

In the future we will have to get you at least a dive skin to avoid those jellies. They got you good. Not many people would have gone back in so fast. We hope you enjoyed your stay at Cocolobo and to see you again.

Best wishes at TA.

Cheers from Roatan,

-marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tanks for the memories, Coconut Tree Divers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a fabulous week diving with Coconut Tree. I completed my open water while my other travel companions are more seasoned divers. I found the DM's to be very helpful and made me feel very comfortable as a first time diver. They were very professional and the owners made every effort to ensure we had a good experience. Even when there was a mixup with our morning dives they made up for it on our last dive out with Marco! (Marco is awesome, by the way!) We did 8 dives with them and 2 with another dive shop. The equipment was in good condition (not to mention very FULL tanks!) The location is awesome.. right in Half Moon Bay and we have been following the rebuild of their front deck! (looks great!) We would highly recommend Coconut Tree and can't wait to return!

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcoa211, Manager at Coconut Tree Divers, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Julie,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Congratulations on completing your PADI Open Water Diver course. You should have received the card in the mail by now. If not, let us know. It was fun diving and catching those lion fish with you. Coral vistas and Coconut Tree Divers await your next visit.

Best wishes with your travel bookings.

-marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Tree Divers also viewed

 
 

Been to Coconut Tree Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Tree Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.