We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Tranquilseas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Save Saved
You added Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center to your Saves list
Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay 33166, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our stay at Tranquilseas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a week at Tranquilseas and also didnt want to leave - the room was beautiful and clean and the food was great. Thank you to Chris and Monica for making the place so wonderful and our stay so comfortable. Kent was a great dive instructor and very patient especially with us not having dived in 10 years! We really enjoyed the refresher course.
Chris was a mine of information about the island and both he and Monica are very knowledgeable and helpful about places to see and visit.
My highlight was visting the Blue Harbor Tropical Arboretum - I was amazed at how many plants and trees there are on the island - some I have never heard of. I got some samples of fruit to try and had a lot of fun later that evening with friends trying the amazing "Mata Sabor" fruit. Amazing experience. Can't wait to come back again one day!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hummingbird room - it had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    32
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
196
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful lodge, delicious food, gracious host and hostess (Chris/Monica), and friendly staff (Isabel, Juan, Kent). Anything that you need, from scuba to zip lines to massages, Monica can arrange it for you. Each room in the five, soon to be seven, suite lodge, is unique with special Roatan island touches. Roatan is reminiscent of Acapulco in the fifties and sixties, before corporate hotels moved in and turned it into a strip of condos and hotels. This was a serene and relaxing vacation in which we were lucky enough to have a wonderful dive instructor, Kent, who introduced us to the breathtaking underwater world. We enjoyed tasty lion fish ceviche that was caught on our dives by Kent and Chris's dad, Paul. Rustic luxury in a secluded setting. Come soon before the developers invade.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I just want to think Chris, Monica, and Kent for making our stay at Tranquil Seas a perfect experience. Kent was hugely helpful in me gaining my SCUBA certification and Chris was the only reason that we were able to get back to the states through a storm.

Tranquil Seas is comfortable, beautiful, relaxing, and perfect. Standing on the dock with the entire staff and all the hotel guests, drinking a bottle of champagne, and watching fireworks over the island was the perfect way to transition into the new year.

Hats off. We will be back and I hope that it's soon!

Room Tip: The turtle was comfortable and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Tranquilseas is a lush and relaxing space, beautifully thought-through and ingenious in its use of space. I really appreciated the our well-designed room, and the open-deck "living area", where we spent most of our time.

Chris and Monica go the extra mile to make their guests feel taken care-of, yet simultaneously encourage them to make themselves at home.

Diving with the Tranquilseas crew was fabulous. Kent and Patrick took great care of us, and we had some truly excellent dives. The boat and our rental gear were all well-maintained, and aside from some troublesome O-rings we were perfectly comfortable.

When we weren't diving we spent a lot of time snorkeling out in front of the resort. Just off the pier is a small artificial reef that is fun to explore. A ten-minute swim gets you out on the actual reef, where you can spend literally hours fish-watching.

We took a few forays outside of the resort, and Chris was a master at getting us transportation, and even a deal at one of the local zip-lining operations. We learned early on to just "ask Chris", because he knew everyone and could find out anything.

All in all, we very much enjoyed our time at Tranquilseas. I appreciated their commitment to being environmentally responsible, and the myriad ways in which they encouraged us to do the same. This has to be the way of the future, and I am pleased to see that it can be done with such beauty and comfort. Thank you Chris and Monica!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you are looking to get away from the "city grind" and to have a rest full vacation this is great spot. No television, no computers. You can do some nice snorkeling just off the resorts peer or take boat trips for further snorkeling and diving spots. Neither I or my wife are divers but the resort It's truly designed for divers daily trips. Besides doing the orientations Jhanan runs the "Sunken Ship" bar and is the most accommodating and personable bar tender that you will ever meet....he let me play music from my Ipod thru the stereo system in the bar which made my vacation more enjoyable. The "Tranquil Breeze" drink is pretty potent so proceed with caution after two of them you wont feel any pain (the rest is up to you). Tuesday night they have a live band and it's Tapas Night (the Shrimp & Avocado salad is awesome). They have an honor system in which if he is not there you make your drink or pour your beer and mark it on your tab. Monica is great in the kitchen and very friendly and hospitable. Chris made sure that everything was going smooth. We had the best room in the house which is the "Hummingbird" a true lovers nest with a hammock, a table for two and front porch overlooking the ocean. If the bar is empty at night take a $3.00 cab to "West End" and enjoy good restaurants and bars (they show NFL in HD) almost everybody speaks English and there is basically no crime on the island. One of the high lights of the trip was that the locals are not "pushy" like they are on other islands. The resort is committed to natural preservation so do your part. We went to "unwind" and truly felt totally rested. It's a beautiful small resort and they will make you feel right at home and leave you alone at the same time. A memorable time. Let yourself go!

Room Tip: Look at the pictures of the rooms then choose whats best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would occupy this place again if i were to return to Roatan; it has left a tasty impression.

One important particularity when trotting with my favorite person, who has a variety of dietary concerns, is how the lodging deals with feeding us. Monica was fabulous. She treated us and fed us so well that we wanted to eat every meal there. All of our issues were dealt with magnificently; they stocked up appropriately and adjusted the menu to fit our needs with attractive variety. This meant a lot to us.

The diving was nothing short of excellent; the instructors, dive masters, and the captain were of the sort of caliber that makes all of the difference. They were professional and, equally as important to me, fun.
The property was unique and fit well into the topography/setting. It is built on a hillside, with many levels providing a unique atmosphere and nice views, as well as a fair amount of stairs.
The staff in its entirety was great.

Discussing all of the highlights is beyond the scope of this review. I can say that you will be taken care of from the moment you clear immigration until your reluctant return to the islands excuse for an airport.

Flyingmoonkey.
Michigan, USA

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I came to Tranquil Seas to rest after spending 5 days diving at another resort. The room was very clean, the owners were very friendly and they went out of their way to make a special anniversary dinner for us. This is a small resort so you feel like you are all alone. The pool is a great place to hide and read a book. The palapa on the end of the dock is a wonderful place to hang a hammock and read. There is pretty good snorkeling right off the dock for the inexperienced. We did not try to the dive services, but my husband hired a guide for fishing and he had a great half day of fishing for a reasonable price. We will definitely come back with my kids. Note. They do not provide showers supplies...so bring shampoo, conditioner, soap. Also, there are only towels for the bath, so if you'd like more ask or bring some from home. This didn't bother us because I knew this ahead of time from previous reviews, but another couple staying there didn't know so we gave them shampoo/conditioner. Very easy to take a taxi into The West End area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Eagle Ray, this room doesn't have a view. Make sure you check out all the rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay 33166, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.