We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Save
You added Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center to your Saves list
Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay 33166, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
ONLY $95 PER NIGHT
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
“Amazing Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Tranquilseas was the perfect place to spend our once in a lifetime honeymoon. We had looked at numerous places to spend our honeymoon, and we made the right choice with the help of some friends who also stayed there for their honeymoon. Our entire experience was excellent mainly due to the high level of hospitality the staff provided. You cannot go wrong by choosing to stay here.

Room Tip: The Hummingbird cabana has a spectacular view of the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    38
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
224
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just back from 9 days at Tranquilseas with my boyfriend. It was the vacation of a lifetime! Monica (GM and amazing cook!), Chris (owner!), Kent (dive master), Jonan (bartender), and the support staff were all very kind and welcoming. The accomadations were clean, beautiful, comfortable, and spacicious. Monica's dinners were the best I have ever had, including her famous sea food paella! Kent was our dive master for the week, and was professional, funny, warm, and very safe in the water. We had several days, where it was just my boyfriend and I on a private dive with Kent. We felt like royalty! Our boat driver, Arland, was also very reliable, funny, and considerate. Jonan, the bartender, was also very warm, and interesting to talk to. His passion for animals, and the clients comfort was tremendous! The other visitors at Tranquilseas eminated happiness, and shared in our love of the place. We are looking forward to coming back again! Thank you Tranquilseas!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tree Frog, which is a room up in the trees. We loved it because it was quiet, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A week at Tranquil Seas is precisely what the doctor ordered. I couldn't have asked for a better experience and place to stay in Roatan.

Chris, Monica, Jonan, Kent and the rest of the staff really did make us feel at home, and completely comfortable.

The hotel(?) is absolutely stunning. None of the photos I've seen really do it justice. The view from the balcony at sunset, is something I'll remember for a very VERY long time. Staying in the Octopus room was nothing short of incredible. The rooms were spacious, unique and impeccably designed. The food prepared daily was fantastic, and the hospitality I cannot emphasize enough was the very best.

A special thanks to Jonan for making our band of brothers feel right at home in Roatan.

I'll definitely be back when the battery needs another re-charge.

Saludos!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were looking for a special place to celebrate my wife's 50th and with good fortune we discovered Tranquilseas. The grounds, accommodations, and food were excellent. The atmosphere was warm, open, and friendly, all the while being as private as you would want. The owners, Chris and Monica, were wonderful and responsive and truly cared for our well being. Their commitment to sustainable ecology is commendable and equal to the Cousteau Resorts in Fiji.

The diving was incredible and the Roatan reef is pristine. The dive master, Kent, is the consummate professional with a true passion for diving. Every dive was unique, well-planned, and safe. Even as experienced divers, we learned much from this incredible crew.

We give Tranquilseas our highest recommendation. We and our family will be back for more. We wish them the best of success.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our family just returned from spending a week at Tranquilseas. You cannot go wrong with this place. The location, grounds and facilities are just beautiful. Chris and Monica were awesome. Monica went out of her way to make a fantastic paella night among other fabulous dinners. We also ate at the Blue Bahia right next door which was yummy. We are a family of snorkelers, and Kent let us tag along on the dive boat and snorkel while they dove which was so fun! Ava taught an explore diving course to my 13-year-old as well as a refresher course for my husband and I and then we all went on an ocean dive. She was so calm and such a great instructor. I LOVED Tranquilseas and truly cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just like other Tranquil Seas reviewers, we loved it! We went here for our 5 year annv. and it was exactly what we were looking for. Small, quiet, & unique and can't wait to go back. The resort furniture was made out of rustic tree chunks and tree roots-very neat! Chris and Monica treated us like friends, not just like regular guests in some huge resort. It felt more personal. We even clicked with Jhonan the bartender immediately. He has a love for music like we do. Like everyone had been raving about, Monica's cooking was to die for! Tapas and Tunes night on Tues. was great! When Jhonan wasn't on duty bartending it was a "honesty" bar. You just help yourself and mark your drinks down on your room sheet. We didn't have to carry money
around the resort, we just squared up at the end of the week for everything. We stayed in the Hummingbird Cabana. We had the front view of the reef and the room was clean and just perfect. AC and fan in room. They supply the drinking water, so you didn't have to buy
any. We got the Dive package and Kent was our DiveMaster, he did a superb job! He even let us pick a few days on where we wanted to go. We did the Excursion Dive with the whole gang from the resort, fun! Roatan we'd say was the best diving we've ever done!

They all gave us suggestions on where to go or places to check out. The times we didn't eat at the resort, there is a Pizza place and other places within walking distance.

Overall, after all the other resorts we saw and heard about on the island, I wouldn't trade it for our time we had at Tranquil Seas. This was the week right after busy season ended-perfect! And we got lucky that it didn't rain a single day. Because of the experience at Tranquil Seas, it's the 1st place we've said that we definitely want to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Unfortunatly my wife and I did not stay at the Tranquil Seas Eco Lodge because we didn't find it while searching. But upon arriving at Sandy Bay and finding that they were just a couple of doors down the beach I changed my Dive plans to go with their shop. I made six dives with Kent, the Dive Master/shop operator and on the last dive trip I was fortunate enough to be included with a group including Chris and Monica (the owner/chef) and some of their friends. We made the mistake of not having a dinner that Monica cooked until our last night, because there was just so much to do on our first trip to Roatan. But we wished we had eaten there more. We ate on the Traditional Honduras meal night and it was very good. We had stopped in before that for drinks with Jonan (the bartender) and we had several good conversations with him.The resort is a wonderfull collection of wooden furniture and art and is just the kind of place that I would picture in my mind for a tropical paradise. The diving was spectacular and Kent and Oscar (the captain) really impressed me with their attention to detail and safety. I would also recommend one of Kent's friends, Hartley, for fishing. He sits down in front of the BananaRama restaurant on West Bay beach. We also hooked up with a very good Taxi driver and Guide, George@RoatanCustomTours.com. These are all very, very nice people that made our trip to this beautiful Island even more special. One word of caution; by the beginning of May it gets a little hot (especially if your coming from snow land like we did) and while I saw hardly any mosquitos there are sand flies and no-seeums. Get a little place with central air and bring the bug spray. They prefer the non-deet kind if you'll be going in the water, to protect the reef.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay 33166, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.