We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Save
You added Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center to your Saves list
Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay 33166, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a great place to stay and dive while still feeling at home. Their dive shop is top notch and instructors are very professional and take a great deal of time to explain and plan every second of your experience.

The accommodations are also very cozy and relaxing with some personal touches that you notice right away.

We have stayed at others places in Roatan, but this places leaves you wanting to come back.

Room Tip: we liked the Tree Frog room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    35
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
205
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Chris and Monica are great. Don't miss Tapas night, very fun, great food and music too. Although I didn't dive on this trip (we were researching moving there) talking to others that were - it’s the best. The dive masters know all kinds of nooks and crannies to explore. Boat is just down the steps from your room, pool when you get back - can't beat it. Pool is kept immaculately clean. Air in the rooms is a necessity. We stay on the East end for 2 nights (supposed to be 5) without air - no way, way too hot even with many, many fans. We stayed in Tree Frog, a little further up the stairs from other units, but with the best view and it was spectacular. To really experience the island, rent a car, a little nerve wracking at first, but then it's fun. Chris is very knowledgeable about island and can help planing excursions. He will also set you up with an inexpensive rental car. He actually went to the airport to pick us up. We didn't tell him we would have a car. Service is just great. Tranquilseas is just beautiful, huge palms and vegetation everywhere. The honor bar is wonderful, just mark down what you drink and pay up at the end of the trip. We will be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Not many words to say when a place leave you speechless...
Monica and Chris are two lovely people who will make you feel like you are home.
The food is amazing ,the staff is super nice,the place is beautiful and the cabins also .
Everything make the place unforgettable....
I recommend it to anyone visiting the beautiful Island!
Can't wait to visit again!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We absolutely loved this place. It provides privacy, breath-taking views, comfort, relaxed environment (and fun at the same time). We felt connected to nature, since it completely surrounded us. We also slept like we had never slept before. The best part was the staff, Chris and Monica, who were so sweet and attentive. They made us feel like royalty.
This hotel is the perfect place to rest, disconnect from everyday life and reconnect with your partner, and gain conscienceness on being more eco-friendly individuals. My husband and I came in stressed, and came out rested, grounded, new!
I totally recommend TranquilSeas Ecolodge!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We held our wedding ceremony at Tranquilseas and it was absolutely perfect! Chris and Monica made us feel right at home immediately and we almost felt like part of their family. In these days of corporate stamped out resort hotels, Tranquilseas is a unique gem that also has a very environmentally friendly mission. We stayed for 8 days and didn't want to leave at the end. All of our friends and family agreed that the setting was amazing.

Monica's cooking is delicious, but if you want to leave the resort there are several restaurants within walking distance. Make sure you stay for tapas night on Tuesday nights. Every dish was fantastic so come hungry. West End is a short cab ride away to get to the nightlife bars and restaurants, but the hotel is like a secluded paradise to get away from it all. Snorkelling is easy right off the dock and Chris runs a well equipped dive shop with a great dive boat.

I'd recommend Tranquilseas both for groups of families/friends or for a couple looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Hummingbird and Tree Frog have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Thanks to Chris (Host) & Monica (Cook) and the staff ,our week at Tranquillseas was PHENOMENAL! They organized our wedding perfectly up to the last detail.(Flowers, food, drinks ) All We had to do is show up and enjoy . The location is magical and romantic.The cabanas are amazing.(love the Bathrooms)
The food was Amazing. (Tapas nights on Tuesday's are yummy and fun.)
We booked the entire resort for us,family and friends and we all LOVED it. This resort is perfect for couples or friends get away.
It's a MUST if you go in Roatan :) We didn't want to leave .

Room Tip: Hummingbird , Tree Frog , Octopus for families and groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed at Tranquilseas in June of 2011. Our stay here was the last leg of our honeymoon. We spent 3 days in Copan then zipped over to Tranquilseas and spent the last 8 days of our honeymoon there. We had an absolute blast! Chris and Monica were wonderful hosts! We loved the laid back and relaxed atmosphere! We also finished our open water scuba certification with Tranquilseas. Kent Ebanks was our instructor and he was awesome! He was a great instructor and I would recommend anyone who is looking to finish their scuba certification in the caribbean to look up Kent at Tranquilseas! He will take care of you and teach you all you need to know in a relaxed environment! Chris was also great at giving us some tips about exploring the island. And Monica was a wonderful cook. All the meals she made for us were wonderful! Our accommodations were also very nice, the beds were very comfortable and the rooms felt very homey. I personally liked the personal touch each shower had to go with the theme of the room! If you are looking for a laid back relaxing place to go on your honeymoon, vacation, or just looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life I would recommend Tranquilseas hands down!. We didn't want to leave! You won't be disappointed. Happy Trails! :)

Room Tip: Hummingbird Cabana had a decent view of the ocean while still laying in the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay 33166, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.