We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely tranquil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Save
You added Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center to your Saves list
Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay 33166, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Truely tranquil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We booked this hotel specifically to avoid the cruise ship crowds that descend on West Bay Beach. It was very quiet both during the day and at night. Tapas night did have live entertainment but it wrapped up around 10pm. Hang out in the hammock on your deck or
take one out to the end of the dock. About a 10 minute swim out to the reef will get you some
great snorkeling. Don't miss Tapas Night (the duck and apple salad was yummy) and the new gourmet burger night. Chris and Monica are great hosts with tons of energy and lots of information to make your stay enjoyable. There are several restaurants within walking distance and many more only a $2 cab ride away in West End.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    35
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
66
205
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

This quaint resort is for those of you travelers that want to get away from the mainstream world and stay in an eclectic beach bungalow with great ambiance and friendly local flavor. It is located in Sandy bay, just minutes from West end. It is right on the water and has many local attractions within walking distance or short taxi ride. They have great restaurant "the sunken fish bar" on property which is open for guests by reservation and hosts two dinners a week open to the public (Tapas Tuesday with live band and Burger heaven Thursday). The chef Monica prepares breakfasts, tapas, and a freshly made to order Paella dish that were incredibly delightful. The resort was build by the owner Chris over several years with an island flare and has little quiet areas to escape to if you would like to just lie around and enjoy a good book. The pool is just the right size for a short dip or walk a few steps further and you can take a longer swim in the turquoise blue waters. The resort also has an on-site dive shop and private boat for your diving convenience. The Dive Master Kent is very well known and respected on the island- you can book the boat and Kent for local dives and safari- dive day trips. He is very personable and will enhance your dive experience with his exceptional knowledge of the local reefs as well as his knowledge of the island itself. We did 17 dives with them and could not fathom diving with any other dive shops. The dives were all arranged based on what "WE" wanted to see and experience as well smaller more intimate dive groups to ensure the quality of dives. My overall rating of the resort is a 5/5- it was the perfect get away with friendly and helpful staff to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay. Someone once told me it takes a great foundation to make business successful and Tranquilseas resort has proven this to be fact. A place where you go on vacation and leave feeling like its a second home.
Thank you to Chris, Monica, Kent, Juvinne, and Feo for making it a very memorable stay. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Call in Advance and talk to Chris (owner)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time here. Monica's cooking is just great and we could see the sun set each evening. There is lots of outdoor deck space to enjoy being outside. There was live music several nights and Chris and Monica were helpful and pleasant. It is truly a unique setting with many beautiful trees and plants. The reef is out quite a ways but we snorkeled it a couple times each day. There is also some snorkeling closer to the shore but we enjoy being on the reef. You can easily walk to the little pizza place at the main road or just walk a few steps down the beach to the Blue Bahia for lunch. It was quiet, and even when it is totally full you have plenty of privacy. It was a soothing vacation for us and we would go back again. It was our second trip to Roatan.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC and environs
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed one week - taking two rooms (one for adults, one for the 20 year old) - both were comfortable, quiet, creatively decorated - but who would want to stay inside with those great decks and stunning views? Chris and Monika are wonderful hosts who designed, built, and operate this slice of heaven. They succeeded in creating a relaxing, playful, and comfortable lodge with a common deck and bar area that allows you to hang by yourself and read (in sun or shade) or socialize with other guests. And they did all this while minimizing its impact to the nearby reef. They've planted the grounds with plenty of native plants - a horticulturalist's dream. We saw plenty of birds from the property (kingfishers, hummingbirds, white crowned doves, sandpipers, great grackles, parrots, night heron, frigatebirds, warblers, and a buteo complete with fish in its claws.) The point being there's something for everyone. We watched the Dive Master, Kent, teach new divers (he was thorough, careful, patient, and had great advice). He also briefed all divers/snorklers to ensure protection of the marine park and ensure they had safe diving experiences. Both he and Chris really know the reef creatures and ecology. As SCUBA trained environmental scientists, we were impressed. The Lodge has two boats and will arrange trips to accommodate the desires and skills of its guests. We only snorkeled and had a great time.

Room Tip: TreeFrog is upstairs w stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

My husband and I have traveled to many places in the Caribbean but Tranquil Seas was our favourite place ever. We absolutely loved our stay at Tranquil Seas.

There was something about the place that created a friendly atmosphere between you and the other guests and it was really hard to leave.

I especially loved snorkelling off the dock in front of the Lodge.

Room Tip: The Hummingbird was a great place to stay
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We were lucky enough to come across Tranquil Seas as we explored options for a couple of nights at the end of our week long visit to Roatan. From the moment we walked through the gates and into the tropical greenery we felt a sense of relaxation. Chris the owner was fantastic, very welcoming with a wonderful staff. It was clear after chatting to Chris that the 'ECO' aspect of this resort is not just a trendy title. He talked to us about his deep commitment to the island and specifically to the Roatan Marine Park ( we were delighted that he includes a small contribution to the Park in your bill). This would be the place to stay if you care about being informed about reef preservation & supporting the local community and environment. It is also the place to stay if you want to sit on your porch or at the Sunken Fish Bar with a great G&T and look out over the beautiful blues of the Caribbean. These two nights were a real highlight of out trip to Roatan.

Room Tip: Hummingbird was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens Park
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

I went there for dinner (for their tapas night) & was very impressed at the high quality cooking, the stunning location & beautifully decorated resort. Diving school is also highly regarded and they have some great dive sites just off their strip. Given free rein with budget, I’d stay in a flash.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center

Address: Cahoon Ridge, Sandy Bay 33166, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge, Dive Center, Restaurant & Bar, Roatan - Unique island accommodation & Padi Dive Resort set amongst beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, secluded from the hustle and bustle and yet easily accessible to some of the great adventures to be had on Roatan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Hotel Sandy Bay
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.