We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Someone's gotta do it"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bahia Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandy Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Bahia Resort
Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay 95959, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sandy Bay
Olive Branch, Mississippi
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"Someone's gotta do it"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

"Someone's gotta do it".... and I'm glad it was us! As bi-annual divers and snorkelers, we have been all over the Caribbean. From the Virgin Islands to Bonaire and Cozumel, the experience is always magical with unparalleled beauty.
As all divers know, each dive is different and very special in it's own way. However, the accommodations will vary, but rarely will they be "special". This was not the case with Blue Bahia Resort on the island of Roatan, Honduras, our latest adventure.
Arriving at the beginning of the "rainy season" did not dampen the charm and character of this small but extremely indigenous resort. The moment you walk through the private entry you are greeted by a welcoming staff of warm smiles and genuine acknowledgement for your comfort.
Add this personal greeting to the immaculate grounds and exclusive, but quaint architecture and you have just been introduced to your host of hosts, Kent Burnes. Kent's vision has encompassed all the needs of his guests into a special all inclusive paradise. We were treated to three meals a day, because the food was outstanding and we had no desire to leave, plus entertainment for a week. A very special part of that entertainment was provided daily by maitre d'/waiter extraordinaire, Randy; a delightful personality surrounded by equally delightful kitchen and housekeeping personnel.
Kent has managed to envelop himself with outstanding assistants, but none more charming than his lovely wife Nanci and her delightful two children Liban and Sophie. Awaking to the morning song of tiny Sophie greeting the "rescued" Toucan was absolutely enchanting.
When you take all of these amenities and add a first class restaurant, fully equipped Octopus Dive Shop, and a beach overlooking the breakers of one of the world's largest reef, you have truly created "Paradise". This paradise is equaled only at 60 feet below the surface of the crystal clear waters of the Western Caribbean.
I realize this all sounds a bit rough, but... "Someone's gotta do it"!
Craig & Lisa Britt- Olive Branch, MS.

Room Tip: Penthouse is best for party of two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    20
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
50
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Blue Bahia is a wonderful resort that feels like home! From the moment you are greeted by Kent and his staff, you feel welcome and relaxed. Each cabana is individually decorated in beautiful island style, with AC and a front porch with hammock for reading and enjoying the view.
Sunsets from the beach or the pier are amazing! A short walk down the beach takes you to Anthony's Key, where you can swim with the dolphins. Snorkeling off-shore is great, with a living coral reef within 200 yards. The Octopus Dive Shop located at the resort will take care of all your dive and certification needs with a friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Kent has brought his gourmet-Memphis touch to Roatan. The food at the Blue Bahia restaurant is incredibly delicious, fresh and lovingly prepared. They smoke their own meat and use local produce and fish to provide their guests with healthy and delectable meals.
Don't forget to bring donations for Clinica Esperanza! Miss Peggy will come by Blue Bahia and pick them up to help the local non-profit clinic for the islanders.
We highly recommend this resort on the lovely island of Roatan.

Room Tip: Any room is great. You may be awakened early by the resident Toucans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I was told this place had the best food on the island, and they did not lie to me. It was very comfortable and I enjoyed every moment I was there. The staff made every effort to help whenever they could, a lot of good reccomendations. It was the off season, but you would have not known. I will be back with my family and friends, and I am counting down the days. Thank you Blue Bahia for making my week great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We are a thirty year old couple that loves the island life, and one day hope to be living somewhere in the caribbean. Each trip that we take has a purpose to see what the island we're going to is like, and it serves as a potential candidate for a future home. Our stay on Roatan at Blue Bahia definitely made us fall in love with Roatan. The facilities, staff and food were all great. The location was perfect for anywhere you wanted to go. The on-site dive shop "Octopus Dive School" was great - it's staff were very excited to take you diving and you could simply tell that they loved diving and were just as excited as we were to see the reef every time. The only thing that we didn't prepare for was the right insect repellant. We knew that deet would do the trick, but since our natural lifestyle we did not use any and as a result we got some bites - nothing too bad. We have now learned that eating some B12's before going, and packing some oregano oil would have done the trick, so we know for next time.

The island is small, and can easily be seen (for the most part) in a day trip with a jeep rental. We rented from West End, near the cigar bar.

Our stay was 6 nights, and the staff at Blue Bahia were always there to accomodate us with any requests. If we could do it again, we simply wouldn't come back home. No time is enough in Roatan :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty equal. They all surround an infinity pool in a relatively shaded part of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Perfect place to refresh and unwind. This is a small friendly resort, island style, right on some of my favorite reef in the Caribbean. It's a short swim to encounters with curious turtles, massive groupers and amazing coral architecture. Dolphins live at Anthony's Key a stone's throw away. There's a dive shop on site, the Octopus Dive Center, a friendly operation run by Nuria. I spent hours with her, exploring canyons and caves, wrecks and coral gardens.

There are nine unique units. I stayed in Starry Skies and the Loft. Both are lovely and immediately felt like home. All units have full kitchens so you have the option of catering your own stay. But the resort also has a reasonably priced restaurant with excellent food. From a quick post dive burger to a fine dining evening, there's something for everyone. It has a life of it's own, with live music a couple of nights a week (but nothing that will keep you up if you opt out) and Randy makes a mean Margarita.

Kent, the owner is a sweetheart, and his staff is like an extended family, friendly and open hearted. They're there when you need them (just yell 'Philippe' off your balcony, and he'll come running with a smile), but will leave you alone if you prefer. There's a pool and a fine dock for sunset. And if you still need help relaxing a good spa two minutes down the beach.

You also get a couple of dogs and a menagerie of birds (gorgeous toucans and parrots) as part of the package. Say hello to Abby, the grey parrot for me. I miss her.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for my husband's son's wedding and we were provided with excellent service from beginning to end. The meals were excellent and fresh, the cabana's were clean and cozy and the entire complex safe and fun! This beach front property provided everything needed for a relaxed enjoyable vacation! We can't wait to go back for to blue Bahia another vacation. We had on site diving, music at night, dolphin viewing in the ocean and excellent service. The owner Ken was very attentive to all of the guests (30 total) and made the bride and groom's destination wedding a wonderful memorable event.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Another great two weeks. Kent & staff did their usual great job. Some new items on the menu since April & they were outstanding. They've also added live music 4 nites a week. While live music ain't my deal, my wife & our friends really liked it.
At Blue Bahia you can interact with the other guest if you wish. We met some more great people this 2 weeks & will stay in touch with them. We spent several days doing "nothing" but sitting around on the porches visiting.
HIGHLY recommend Blue Bahia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bahia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bahia Resort

Address: Carretera Pavimentada Principal, Sandy Bay 95959, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small boutique resort located directly ON the beach in Sandy Bay, Roatan. Great restaurant, diving, and 5 star comfort and service. Swimming pool, ac in all units, some full kitchens, wireless internet, AP shuttle, and free breakfast each morning. All sea views! On site owners work to handle all of your vacation needs. Ask about our "monthly" specials! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Bahia Hotel Sandy Bay
Blue Bahia Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bahia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Bahia Resort to your Saves list