We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving with dolphins.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort

Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort
Sandy Bay, Honduras
+504 2445-3003
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Sandy Bay
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Roatan Institute for Marine Science (RIMS) is ideally located for marine study on the northwest coast of Roatan where over 30 miles of fringing and barrier reefs, seagrass beds, mangroves and shoreline are home to an astonishing profusion of life. Founded in 1989, the primary objective of this facility is the preservation of Roatan's natural resources through education and research. In the past decade RIMS has established itself as a dedicated teaching institution. Our facility is visited year-round by colleges, universities and high schools from abroad to study tropical marine ecosystems and the bottlenose dolphins we house at our facility. Many programs are for academic credit, some are in conjunction with other field research stations, and others are simply introductory courses to the ecology of coral reefs in the Caribbean.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Diving with dolphins.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Once I got over the whole "I don't like dolphins in captivity, even if they can leave" thing, I really enjoyed it. We were given a good orientation before actually going out on the dive. The two dolphins with us were reluctant at first but became quite friendly. A remarkable experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    28
    10
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, CA 90069
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Informative museum and great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Dolphin encounter was not open yet because our cruise ship docked so early, but we did get to see the museum and learned a lot about the history and culture of all the people that have lived in Roatan since pre columbian times. Great selection of artifacts, low admission price and great views of the bay, wildlife and plant life.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The only true dolphin adventure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The best dolphin encounter ever. Not only to you get the typical kiss and lesson about dolphins, you also get over 30 minutes of free swim with over 20 dolphins. There are some babies with their mothers as well as teenage and adult dolphins. They are playful and interactive. Pictures are encouraged with your own camera. There are some pics they take to buy which are pricey but it is only once in a lifetime. The pics are great quality and you get quite a few on a zip drive to print as many as you need. The snorkel equipment was great quality and condition. You can see dolphins anywhere but nothing beats having your head in the water and hearing them communicate and know that they are getting closer and then seeing them rub up against you for attention. It was truly a once in a lifetime experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Dolphin programs at AKR are simply amazing. I have done the encounter, snorkel and the action swim and they were all fantastic! In the action swim, you get to really interact with the dolphins and the experience is truly unforgettable. Easily on of my favorite days on the island. I would highly recommend any of the dolphin programs here. You will not be disappointed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have always wanted to swim with the dolphins....and I finally got to do it!! It was so much fun!! Got some great pictures and had a blast!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort also viewed

 

Been to Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roatan Institute for Marine Sciences - Anthony's Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.