We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience a Tropical Rain Forest!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails

Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
across from Anthony's Key Resort, Sandy Bay, Honduras
504 24453117
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 things to do in Sandy Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 100% natural 40 acres of the Carambola Botanical Gardens and their many jungle trails offer a perfect place for hiking, wildlife and scenic photography, eco tours, bird watching, nature studies, and of course, relaxation. So, "take a walk on the wild side" and watch the playful Monkey La La scurry along jungle trails as you enjoy flowering plants, orchids, medicinal plants, exotic spices, fruit and nut trees, including the very popular "Chocolate Tree" and the world famous Honduran mahogany tree.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Experience a Tropical Rain Forest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

What could be better than walking through breathtaking jungle gardens and having hummingbirds flitting around everywhere! We were guided by the owner of the gardens and you could just feel how passionate he was about the work he was doing there. From the US he fell in love with Roatan while working there while in the peace corp and couldn't wait to return. We learned about spices, vegetation, and fruits grown there, we were able to smell and taste samples. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend there.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    48
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We visited Carambola Gardens in October so not a lot of flowers in bloom, but the rain forest experience was fabulous. We did a self guided tour...there are a lot of markers to identify the trees and plants, paths all around to choose which areas to explore. We hiked to the top....rather strenuous, but well worth it to see the view over the ocean and Anthony's Key with the dolphins. Would recommend this to anyone wanting to see more of Roatan than the sealife!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teulada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Rain forest experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visit Carambola Gardens for the most fantastic jungle experience, so many plants , all in one area. It rained on our return walk from the end of the wild part of the gardens, which only enhanced the experience of walking thru a rain forest and not really geting very wet. The tropical gardens are fantastic with so many beautiful plants. Bill and his wife have worked so hard on the gardens and deserve more publicity.
A must for all nature lovers.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have been to Roatan several times, but never took the time to see the Gardens. It was well worth the time. We had a tour by the owner, who was very friendly and informative, tellling us about each of the different species. The garden was beautiful and the tour was kept interesting..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We took a taxi from the cruise port and went to the garden. Ask for Lincoln for taxi driver he is great! The garden was self guided tour of a beautiful tropical rain forest. Not much of a flower expert, so I can't name the plants but did see coco, coffee and banana plants. The tropical flowers were so beautiful and the park was laid out so you can stroll threw the garden with ease. Was a terrific way to get out of the sun and heat, seemed to be 20* degrees cooler because of the canopy of trees.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails also viewed

 

Been to Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.