We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of friendly groupers on this wreck” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Aquila Wreck Dive

El Aquila Wreck Dive
Sandy Bay, Honduras
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 11 Attractions in Sandy Bay
Type: Reefs
Attraction Details
South Carolina
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Lots of friendly groupers on this wreck”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I made one dive on this wreck and the deepest I went during the dive was 113 feet. The visibility was good and there were some very friendly groupers around the wreck, too. I was surprised at how large the wreck was as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    11
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge Groupers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fun dive! The groupers are like dogs! actually have to push them away. And keep them from being to harassing to smaller people. They got a little too interested in our youngest diver.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Going deep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

A must do, to see this wreck.
Besides that there is a lot groupers hanging out at the wall, which is close by

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun dive with Tranquilseas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We dove the Aquila with Ava from Tranquilseas, about 109 feet. Many large groupers and wonderful scenery. All-around great dive and highly recommend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing wreck dive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This dive was less than a half mile from our cabana! At 100 feet down,the water and wreck were beautiful, and Kent, our dive master from Tranquilseas, was wonderful!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Aquila Wreck Dive also viewed

 

Been to El Aquila Wreck Dive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Aquila Wreck Dive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.