We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, out of the mainstream, vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anthony's Key Resort to your Saves list
Anthony's Key Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Anthony's Key, Sandy Bay IB3100, Honduras   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 1 Get 1 FREE!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun, out of the mainstream, vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Second time winter vacation there. Last year we did the Maldives but this year we decided to forego a 27 hour trip. The resort is idyllic location wise. The mountain rooms are nice but you really need to book an island bungalow. It doesn't get any better than this! Fabulous sunsets, quiet and comfortable. Plus, the shuttle boat from the island to the mainland resort make it a special experience. It is only about 200 yards away.
We did snorkeling twice a day and the locations and boats were first rate. Plus, all the help were very accommodating.
I only give it 4 stars because of the food. It's just OK. They call it island food but those of us from France find it only so-so. That might change though. They have a new chef who did some cooking in France. The last few meals under his supervision were far better. And, the lobster every Friday night is really fresh and tasty. In fact, on special order, we had the chef cook us a lobster on another night and it was an inexpensive and enjoyable experience.
So, if you're mostly into diving and snorkeling and not into gourmet eating, this is a 5 star experience ( for the price!! ). If you're into good eating, hopefully the new chef will make a difference.
The woman who runs the resort is on the ball. Any complaints and she's on top of them. Well, that's about all I can think of for now. I'll try to include a few photos.

Room Tip: Rooms( actually bungalows on stilts ) on the left side of the island get the sunsets and the ones on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    147
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
129
244
40
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I went to Roatan with my friend for a week, and we stayed at Anthony's Key. Its a very nice resort. It was clean and the employees were all so very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the hillside rooms, and I really enjoyed the scenery and the private feeling. It was also nice because we didn't have the sand fleas like they did on the Key. Our Divemasters for the week were Jeramie and Calderon. They were awesome, taking us to some of the best dive sites and just being very fun and friendly. I liked that we had lockers to keep our dive equipment in when we weren't diving. I would recommend this place!

Room Tip: The rooms on the hillside don't have the sandflea problem like on the Key.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We booked a dolphin Dive at Antony's key resort. We did not stay at the resort.

The staff, the rental gear, the boats, the concept are all fabulous!

The experience was well worth it!

I had an HD Camera built-in to my diving googles so we have lots of great pictures to look at.

You learn alot from the trainer about the dolphins.

Even though seeing the dolphin is not garanteed, I guess we were lucky because they played with us almost the whole dive time (about 40 min at 60 feet deep).

Just AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was my third time at Anthonys Key. They gave me a free upgrade from the cheapest room to the most expensive. I rent my scuba gear and it was all brand new. First time I did the dolphin snorkel and it was great! My captain Kenly and dive master Frank where the best ever. I only did 15 dives including 1 night dive and the shark dive. The food was once again excellent and it is not a buffett. I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just came back from a week of diving at Anthony's Key Resort. The place is fabulous. The diving is unbelievable and the food is spectacular. We had Calderon as our divemaster. He knows exactly where to go to see the most underwater life there is. The resort is extremely organized and well run. All the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to help out.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a great place to enjoy the so many things. Great bungalows overlooking the water, dolphins, fabulous scuba diving opportunities, snorkeling, etc. Dolphins are in a pen but can leave.
I have an ear problem after diving and was quickly taken to the health care center.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I booked this tour through the cruise ship for my daughter & I and it didn't disappoint. Maury, our dolphin is just such a beautiful lady. She let us touch her, she performed beautifully, and even brought seagrass to my daughter. After her show, we were given about 30 min to actually snorkel with 20 dolphins! What an experience when a dolphin is swimming directly at you with their smiley face, or you look off to your side and see 5 dolphins swimming alongside you! A truly magical, thrilling experience! A MUST DO!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Key Resort

Address: Anthony's Key, Sandy Bay IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anthony's Key Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the island of Roatan, Anthony's Key Resort is a legendary tropical wonderland where lush greenery rustles in breezy sea air. Pristine beaches rim turquoise waters. And wooden bungalows perched above a tranquil lagoon offer guests incredibly scenic views and a sense of perfect disconnection from everyday life back at home. For over 40 years, this family-run paradise has been home to divers in search of unspoiled waters, and lovers of natural adventure in all its forms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Anthony's Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthony`s Key Hotel Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Hotel Roatan
Anthonys Key Resort
Anthony's Key Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.