We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a place to meet and greet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hungry Kiwi Cafe & Bar

The Hungry Kiwi Cafe & Bar
Off main road @ Lawson Rock, Sandy Bay 100, Honduras
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Sandy Bay
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This is one of the best restaurants on Roatan! They do the best Prime Rib every Friday night. It's a rare thing to find a place with GOOD meats on Roatan
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Always a place to meet and greet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Going to the Hungry Kiwi is like going to the old Que Tal...we always meet someone we know or somone we get to know. We like the Hungry Kiwi Cafe and Adriian the owner...we're there almost everyday for breakfast or lunch. Lately I've enjoyed their omelets but all the choices are delicious. It isn't on the West End road but at Lawson Rock in Sandy Bay, on the first floor of the condominiums. Try anything South African as Adriian adds his home's specials at times. See you there!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    11
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast on the island . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

After a while, you need a break from open air seating and Honduran humidity. The Hungry Kiwi is air conditioned, and right on the main road, and very nicely appointed. Art on the walls, a reading corner, and, especially, a wonderful breakfast menu. You can order a traditional American breakfast, a variety of European style choices, Eggs Benedict, or one of the specials. Ask Adriaan what he's recommending and you can't go wrong. We really loved the atmosphere and the food. Notwithstanding the luxury setting (Lawson Rock), the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This Kiwi is a Springbok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Good service, good attention by the south-afrikan owner. Excellent place, excellent food. If tired from the sandfleas and want some fresh restaurant this is the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Didn't even stay to eat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

If I wanted to eat grilled cheese sandwiches and chicken tenders, I could have stayed in Texas. The prices were high, and the menu was limited to ordinary American food. Boo!!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best dinner on Roatan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a great meal at Hungry Kiwi, the best we've enjoyed in a week on Roatan. We both had the catch of the day - sea bass, with mashed potatoes (my husband), rice (me), and veggies. The meal was exquisite, very fresh and light and just a little tangy. Also enjoyed a lovely salad (included with meal) with the home made tangy Italian dressing. Adrian the owner was very very nice. We each had a glass of Chilean Chardonnay and my husband had the great coconut creme pie. Meal was wonderful and relaxing.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Kiwi Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Hungry Kiwi Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hungry Kiwi Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.