We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beach Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny's Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monte Rico
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnny's Place
Save
You added Johnny's Place to your Saves list
Calle de Los Hoteles, Playa Este, Monte Rico 06024, Guatemala   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Monte Rico
Michigan
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good Beach Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a well located, well established property with a selection of price range offerings, from budget travel, dorm accommodations to more private, moderately priced ensuite rooms. The hotel features a restaurant on the beach, serving a breakfast and dinner menu as well as sandwiches and snacks and a full bar. The staff is friendly and helpful. The manager speaks English. Wifi is available at most hours in the restaurant/bar area. It is a short walk into the center of town where other comedors abound. The various room offerings are situated around comfortable, small fresh water pools. The management at Johnny's will help arrange for the interested traveler morning tours of the Mangroves or afternoon fishing excursions.

Room Tip: I would select a private ensuite room with balcony overlooking the beach. Travelers seeking relative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    34
    15
    13
    6
See reviews for
24
38
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgehampton, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Twenty-somethings, come on the weekend when you can party or plan to stay longer, it's a great place to drop out. Families and solos, this place is really nice on the weekdays. There is a laid-back friendly hippie vibe in the open-air restaurant (great fish tacos, sophisticated tape mix). Staff members are very nice. Both children and dogs are welcome (don't bring aggressive dogs, there are other dogs on the property...check current rules before bringing Fido). Just down the beach they release the baby turtles at Q10 apiece, the race to the water is fun to see. The rooms are nothing special (loud AC, noise) but you won't be paying very much either...the idea here is not to spend time in the room. There are small swimming pools dotting the property, and a small walk will bring you to the center of town. Come before Monte Rico is ruined by too many tourists and overbuilding...I'd estimate 3 years away. Note, it is hot and there are some mosquitos at night (the small annoying brief-bite kind not the huge US ones that itch for a week). Nobody dresses in much but bathing suits, shorts and t-shirts. The sand is chocolate brown and gets into everything...bring flip flops, it's hot in the daytime..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Seriously the nicest place to stay in monterico guatemala, the sunsets will take your breath away. The food is fantastic, with a great antigua chef, that will prepare the best ceviches, pizza's, everything on the menu is delicious. The master suites are so beautiful, and the the bungalows are great if you are a family or with friends! Everything is clean, and provides all the amenities you need. If you visit monterico, this is the only place to stay!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great place in Monterico, suites are very clean and the site is perfect...food is fresh and so affordable....the owner is so nice with his customers, you can ask everything and employees are really nice..weather is warm, I was during christmas and NYE....Rooms are simple but very pleasant to live in....it's roomy and not expensive....I highly recommend this place if you want to go to Guatemala and if you hate the resort concept....I'm sure I will return there....

Room Tip: Bungalow at the entrance are quieter of course...it depends exactly what you're expecting from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked 2 "deluxe" rooms for 3 nights. After the first night we asked to switch because the rooms were so bad. Very loud A/C & terrible beds. We moved to the (very expensive) "master suite" which was much better. Nice balcony with small private bathtub. Food & service are good, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the music is very, very loud all the time. No chance to hear the waves untill 2 or 3 AM ! Also dont understand why nobody cares about cleaning up the (otherwise nice) beach (all of Monterrico is pretty dirty & lot of times it smells like burning trash).

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnnysplacehotel, Owner at Johnny's Place, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Galeazzi,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our master suite and food & service at our beachfront restaurant.
However, we are disappointed you didn't got what you were looking for; calm and clean beach.
Thank you also for let me know about the a/c and the beds, i will make sure to repair the a/c and change the beds. Now about the party and dirty beach… Their is 2 periods of the year where the beach get very crowded, 1.New year eve and 2. Easter. Lots of guatemalan people come from the city to party and unfortunately, they throw lots of garbage on the beach. We do clean in front of our hotel everyday but it gets difficult in those very busy periods. Sorry you haven't see it clean, because most of the year it is. About the noise and music. Almost everybody who come at the beach for NYE and Easter expect party and music. Their is party all around monterrico for these time of the year so we have decide to be part of it, you know what they say… if you can beat them join them! It is impossible to get quite time at the beach for these periods. Sorry you did not enjoy it.
I prefer calm too and this is what you get here all the rest of the year. I really hope you come again some day to enjoy clean, peace and quiet Monterrico.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Guatemala was most enjoyable.
The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a great time here. The food, drinks, and views are great! I had a nice time relaxing on the beach, in the nice pools, and in hammocks. It is one of the few places with wifi connection in town. The rooms are comfortable and we didn't have any mosquitoes in our room. Everything is very affordable. There is a lot of loud music and a bit of party culture here, which can be a good or bad thing depending on what you like.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watauga
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location in Monterrico - on the beach between the "city center" and the sea turtle reserve. We stayed in one of the few air-conditioned rooms, but unfortunately, it didn't get that cool. It was obvious that the room had been updated with new paint and bathroom fixtures but it was still somewhat drab and dingy. The service at the restaurant/bar was very slow, even though it was mid-week with relatively few guests. Maybe it was just us but we didn't much enjoy our time at Johnny's Place.

Room Tip: The air-conditioned room with 2 beds that we stayed in was in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnny's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnny's Place

Address: Calle de Los Hoteles, Playa Este, Monte Rico 06024, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Santa Rosa Department > Monte Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Monte Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On one of the nicest beach in Guatemala, between the Chiquimulila lagoon and the Pacific ocean, you'll find Johnny's Place. The charm and laid back atmosphere is what made Johnny's Place the most popular spot on the beach. Ideal for family retreats or partys with friends! We have diverse housing choices for all tastes and budgets. All our rooms and suites has been recently renovated (2014) with new beds, a/c and new furniture. An excellent choice for backpackers ($6 with breakfast included!), for couples (rooms with a/c, suites, master suites with outside baths and sea views and also for families or groups (private bungalows with swimming pool). the hotel has a large brand new pool and 3 smaller pools for the bungalows. Our restaurant and sports bar is on the beach facing the ocean. You will find hammocks, ping pong table, pool table and cable tv. In the afternoon, you can play beach volleyball or beach soccer or simply watch the sunset over the Pacific Ocean; fabulous! Our menu is varied with choices of appetizers, pastas, pizzas, seafoods, tacos, burgers, paninis, salads, streaks, grilled fish and desserts. Quality of food, cocktails and atmosphere make Johnny's Place the most popular spot on the Pacific coast in Guatemala. Happy Sunset Hour every day from 3pm to 6pm (Q10 beer, Q5 tequila and Q10 Cuba libre!). First and foremost, we want to offer a personalized quality service and create a perticularly relaxing atmosphere which makes you feel home by the ocean. We speak spanish, english and french. It is with great pleasure that we will guide you for your holidays in Monterrico and Guatemala.  Our goal: an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Johnny's Place Guatemala/Monte Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnny's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.