We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Grove Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Grove Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coconut Grove Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mbofra Akyinim Street, Elmina, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York and London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I feel really mixed about the Coconut Grove hotel. My room - all the way at the back - was super basic and not at all like the rooms towards the front of the complex. The food was good; although choices at breakfast were limited, the fresh omelettes were delicious. I wasn't able to use all the amenities - the gym was closed as the equipment was broken.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    82
    32
    7
    6
See reviews for
54
40
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco, Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here and it was quite positive. The beach is beautiful, and the restaurant is in a great location to look the water. The grounds are impeccable and very pleasant. The rooms are clean, comfortable... but basic. I had a great time.

You are walking distance from the elemina castle, and the town itself is very friendly and worth a visit. NOTE: Watch for the guys asking you for your name. They are going to write it in marker on a shell or bracelet and ask 15 cedis. However, as most ghanians are kind, honest, and polite they will not try to hustle you if you say no. If you like it, a fair price is 5 cedis. A fair price for a taxi from the castle to the hotel is 3-4 cedis. Arrange that price in advance and don't get in the car until you have shaken on it. They will be honest.

The restaurant staff are a little funny sometimes. Most of the dishes on the menu are not available, but the staff will pretend to ask the chef for you. You can watch them they walk to the side and walk back to tell you the chef said no.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The resort is a very relaxing place where you can sit by the beach and enjoy some peace and quiet. The new villas are quite lovely and are ideal for a family.The golf course requires a lot of maintenance and management though.

Room Tip: The newly constructed villas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed in this resort for three days during the rainy season (July). Rooms are clean and spacious. Restaurant by the beach offers a good selection and has a great view. Hotel employees are very friendly and helpful. The pool area is well-kept and clean. I don't know what one of the reviewers are talking about when they say there is no beach access! (I think they're talking about Elmina Bay Resort which is right next door) There is very easy access to a very long and clean beach here. My daughter and two dogs enjoyed our long walks on that beach. That brings us to the matter of pets... This is the ONLY pet-friendly hotel I have found in Ghana so far. The hotel even has its own dog named Pebble. I am thrilled to be able to take my dogs with me during a vacation. Of course, I kept them on a leash and made sure that they were restrained while we were in public areas and did not take them to the pool area. The resort offers horseback riding as well and my daughter enjoyed riding along the beach. I work in Accra and definitely intend to come back with my dogs many times. I recommend it to everyone who hates leaving their dogs home when they vacation. Just make sure to mention your intention to bring your dogs when making your reservation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We ended up here after a month long trip through West Africa. The grounds are very peaceful and clean. There are some lovely rooms and the property is right on the beach. The staff is also very friendly and I would love to return with my husband and have a romantic stay there. I plan on returning eventually. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, General Manager at Coconut Grove Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Megan E,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments for the benefit of other travelers.

The Great Memories you experienced falls within our adage of offering "memories worth repeating", for all our Guests.

I am elated that you wish to spend some more time with us in the near future.

Romance, Rest and Relaxation is always on offer in our peaceful and tranquil oasis.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,

Victor O.
Ag. General Manager
Coconut Grove Beach Resort, Elmina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork Ireland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great location, right on the beach. Very helpful and friendly staff. We didn't like the first room offered us but it was no problem they offered a number of rooms and we found a lovely quiet room overlooking the sea. Not the most stylish of rooms but good nevertheless. The food was good and very enjoyable. The waiting staff were very helpful and gave recommendations about which local dishes to try. A very pleasant relaxing stay. We walked along the beautiful beach and watched the villagers hauling in the fishing nets, fascinating. One word of caution pay in local currency as the dollar/euro/sterling rates were very poor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, General Manager at Coconut Grove Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear West Cork Travelers,

We are grateful to you for taking time to post your review after your visit to Coconut Grove beach Resort.

We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and that you had a great stay.

Our location and facility makes for experiences like watching fishermen haul in their catch, which create "memories worth repeating".

We look forward to your next visit to our Beach Resort and assure you always of a relaxing stay.

Warm Regards,

Victor O.
Ag. General Manager
Coconut Grove Beach Resort, Elmina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We spent three nights. After two nights in one of their new large rooms, particularly one night when the power went out and we were without air conditioning, we switched to one of the older, smaller rooms and liked it much more. The air in the smaller room dented the intense humidity much better and the ceiling fan (which the newer room did not have) also helped a lot. We actually got cool that night which was wonderful as the intense heat and humidity were very uncomfortable to us. If I were to go again, I would insist on one of the smaller rooms with both an air conditioner and a ceiling fan. The meals were decent, but it took an hour or an hour and a half for them to prepare them. Go with a book or good company to talk to while you wait. The pool is nice and the beach is nice for swimming in the ocean.

It does not look like there are a lot of other good options in the area. This place is many steps above the other local accommodations.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor O, General Manager at Coconut Grove Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Robert C,

Thank you very much for posting your comments after your visit to our Beach Resort.

We have noted and will do well to address all of the issues raised in your review and apologize for any inconveniences caused.

We do assure you of a more comfortable stay on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Victor O.
Ag. General Manager
Coconut Grove Beach Resort, Elmina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Grove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Beach Resort

Address: Mbofra Akyinim Street, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coconut Grove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Grove Beach Resort and Conference Center is located on a sandy beach in the Historic Town of Elmina. Guests have access to an 18 hole Golf Course, Horse back riding and can swim in the Pool and on the Beach. Also available are Board games, table and lawn tennis, beach volley and soccer as well as a fully equipped gymnasium. We have an animal sanctuary with crocodiles, peacocks, rabbits, parrots and other wild life. We have a variety of rooms to suit honeymooners, families or groups as well as kids play areas and swimming pool. Our Conference Halls can host from 15 Guests to 300 for a meeting or event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Coconut Grove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Beach Hotel Elmina
Coconut Grove Beach Elmina
Coconut Grove Beach Resort Ghana/Elmina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Grove Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.