We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elmina Ghana” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Elmina Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Elmina Beach Resort to your Saves list
Elmina Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 JJ Rawlings St., Elmina 00000, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elmina Ghana”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The resort is fairly run down but saying this the resort is fairly good by Ghana standards. The food is safe and the staff are pleasant..This hotel is in a reasonable beach front area and caters for expatriates... The overall standard needs to be taken in the context of the lack of good alternatives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    13
    16
    13
See reviews for
9
7
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed one night, outdated, old, the bed was really uncomfortable, sheets and bedding really old, cockroaches crawling on the desk- though they do provide you with bug spray. It was just one of those places you can't relax because your skin is crawling. The breakfast was terrible, not many options and not really fresh and country western music playing the whole time. The pool doesnt look as nice as what it does in the photo. One good thing was the shower was good, and staff reception were friendly. Instead, its definitely worth staying 10 minutes further past Elmina, at Elmina Bay Resort, it's a million times better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I cannot recommend Elmina Beach Resort. It appears to have been a grand place once upon a time and its location on the beach is ideal. Today however, there are too many inconsistencies and gaps in service and atmosphere here. Next time, I will surely try one of the other/newer area resorts in this class. I stayed just two nights and could not wait to leave.

1) ROOMS – My room seemed comfortable enough at first. But there were too many details amiss: Clean-looking but musty bedding due to high humidity in the room. Also, because there was little or no padding between the vinyl-covered mattress and the sheets, the sleep was uncomfortably sweaty. The blanket between sheet and comforter needed a washing as there were visible stains there. In my bathroom, the plumbing was awkwardly placed: a very low sink that rocked back and forth, and faucet fixtures placed too low in the shower stall. Another room belonging to a member of my group had a serious cockroach infestation and even found one in her bed! Obviously, this hotel’s insect problems will not be resolved by the individual cans of Raid insecticide that are provided in each room. Also, beware of proximity to the hotel’s night club and its booming music throughout the night.

2) CORRIDORS – Constant sea mist throughout and mysterious greasy spots on steps make all passageways slippery and dangerous. I slipped and fell down the lower portion of a stairway near my room (200s) and a colleague slipped near the bar. Watch out!

3) RESTAURANT/BAR – Painfully slow restaurant service unless one chooses the buffet of course. In general, the selections were uninspiring except for the local dishes which are good. At the bar, simple peanuts or crisps were never available with drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have always stayed in this hotel while travelling from Abidjan to Accra and found this place very good as compared to other hotels in this area. Love the beach. Yes hotel is old and needs some renovation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I wanted to sit and watch the ocean and chose to come to Elmina Beach Resort, thinking I would get a table on their outside verandah! A farcical chronicle ensued. It was mid afternoon, and I had to ask for a table and chairs. After several minutes I had to look for a staff for menu. I ordered iced tea, which came cold, but without ice or lemon, and the waiter did not ask if I wanted any. The snack I ordered included ice cream but the waiter asked if I wanted the ice cream - several minutes afterwards. I did not get the service expected for the amount I paid, but the view of the ocean was nice. The bill did come quickly however.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

A shame, this, because it must once have been a great property, right on a lovely palm-shaded beach with a beautiful view of Elmina Castle in the distance. The food was dreadful, nothing in the rooms worked (only one of the three lamps in my room, for example), and staff attitudes ranged from unconcerned to embarrassed. For what it offers, it is wildly over-priced. On departing we refused to pay for more than half of the room rate, which was meekly accepted. One reason was an all-night wedding which deafened any residents attempting to sleep nearby. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I've stayed here twice on someone else's suggestion and will now look for alternatives in the area. It may be one of the best-known hotels in the area, but it is poorly managed and poorly maintained. Price negotiations and billing are an ordeal. There is always something in the room that is broken, breaking or old (e.g. showers, airconditioners, TVs). Internet access is not available throughout and is erratic. All of this is especially disappointing in the light of their high-end rates.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Elmina Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmina Beach Resort

Address: 1 JJ Rawlings St., Elmina 00000, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmina Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Elmina Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmina Beach Hotel Cape Coast
Elmina Beach Resort Ghana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmina Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.