We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stumble Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stumble Inn to your Saves list
Stumble Inn
Mbofra Akyinim, Elmina, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Elmina B&B and Inns
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Stumble Inn before heading north to do voluntary work. We had an amazingly chilled and restful time and absolutely loved it. Aaron and his family were very welcoming and helped us with tips of getting around Elmina and organised our transport to Cape Castle and back. The food was the best we had in Ghana and the fresh fish BBQ on market day was delicious.

The rooms are basic but really beautifully arranged and I loved the eco-friendly toilets and shower area. The biggest footprint you leave behind is that in the sand leading up to your hut.

Room Tip: Take cash for paying for accom, food and getting around as no card facilities (unless that has chang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
22
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My friend and I spent a very happy Christmas at the Stumble Inn! The friendly staff helps to create a homey atmosphere, and although the accommodations are simple they are comfortable. The comfy lawn chairs and cozy bar set-up let you choose whether you prefer to mingle or keep your privacy... it's lovely to have both options! The cocktails and food were delicious, although we wished for a little more variety on the menu.

The beachfront location is a nice rest from Elmina, which is a LOVELY town but quite bustling--it's about a 45 minute walk to the center of town and a very short cab ride. Ideal!

Room Tip: The huts are very nice and have their own bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I literally stumbled across stumble inn!! We were staying at another resort close by and during a walk came across Stumble Inn. Despite staying elsewhere we made a daily visit to stumble Inn to either enjoy the great cocktails and atmosphere in the bar or indulge in the most succulent lobsters in Elmina bay. They have comfortable outdoor seating areas where you can relax and partake of the beautiful sea views. Africa at it's best.

Big thanks to Jennifer and Daniel who clearly enjoy their job and provide great customer service.

If you're ever in Elmina Bay I highly recommend that you check this place out.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

By far the most gorgeous place I have ever stayed anywhere, and for absolutely nothing in terms of price. Myself and 3 other volunteers have stayed here twice now in the 2 months we spent in Ghana as just once is not enough! We first came in October for 3 days and again for a whole week in November. We paid 10cedi each in a shared dorm room which is about 3pounds!!! the rooms are clean and spacious.
You are provided a sheet and pillow and a mosquito net is already in place around each bed. The toilet and shower block is 2 minutes from all rooms and the showers are powerful for Ghana and a nice temperature.
The food is absolutely amazing, we ordered the lobster twice in the week we stayed and it was 2 individual grilled lobsters cut in half (so 4 big pieces) still in the shell with salad and a choice of rice/yam chips or potato chips = subject to availability. The tuna sandwiches and the chocolate pancakes were also a favourite of mine. Drinks are standard Ghanian price which is cheap 4cedi for a large beer.
The place itself is breath taking the gardens and beach are kept spotless and its all so natural and not hotel like.
There is a table tennis and a volley ball court, hammocks as well as the really comfy outdoor seating area overlooking the beach.
It cost 5cedi in a taxi to Elmina Town and 10cedi to go to Cape Coast for one way.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the owners/managers are a lovely family with friendly dogs star in particular! You will not find a nicer place in Ghana to stay at and for 3pound you will be amazed.

Room Tip: best value for money is the dorm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa, Upper West, Ghana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Highlight of my trip to Ghana. Best vacation I've taken in a long time. Stumble Inn really does deserve all these superlatives. The local staff are super friendly and kind -- they definitely aren't the typical overworked hotel/resort staff, mostly because Stumble has such a homey, quirky vibe. We were a bit late first arriving to Stumble, so the staff texted us the dinner menu, ensuring that our meal wouldn't be delayed. The Dutch couple who manages Stumble were even more incredible -- they treated us to popcorn, and even marshmallows!; when we had a slight scare with malaria, they were caring, responsive and arranged a taxi for us to the trusted clinic; the bonfires they created at night were simply amazing. And to top all of this off, it was only 10 GHC a night for a dorm bed! Unbeatable value, really. We stayed for a week, and despite the overindulgence we exhibited in breakfast, (sometimes a second breakfast), lunch and dinner, our tab was only around 300 GHC, or $150 USD. Incredible. I'd do it all again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Dorms are such a steal for 10 GHC a night-- don't overlook them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra, Ghana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Fantastic food, really friendly and helpful staff, helped us plan our days out to Kakum National Park. felt very at home and was a nice relaxing break from all the travelling around. I found myself just sitting on the beach reading all day. Would love to stay again and would definitley reccomend it, also great value for money. X

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Stumble is is fantastic, it is very basic in what it offers but the rooms are clean and simple. The quirkiness of the stumble inn is delightful and with its setting on the beach front you can't ask for much more. It is very much value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stumble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stumble Inn

Address: Mbofra Akyinim, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stumble Inn is a beach lodge just outside Elmina in the Central Region, Ghana. Nestled between 2 resorts, Stumble Inn is a perfect retreat and relaxing eco-friendly lodge. We have 3 en-suite beach huts, family rooms, and dormitories and are totally focused on providing a welcoming environment where anyone can come and stay, eat and join us with a few drinks. The beach front location is perfect for relaxation, but just 5 minutes from Elmina, which is a must see for any visitors. Transport links are good and there are a range of attractions such as Kakum and Cape Coast which are in close proximity. We look forward to welcoming you at Stumble inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Stumble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stumble Inn Ghana/Elmina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stumble Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.