We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumble Inn is the best place to stay in Ghana. Official.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stumble Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stumble Inn to your Saves list
Stumble Inn
Mbofra Akyinim, Elmina, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Elmina B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stumble Inn is the best place to stay in Ghana. Official.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

From 22nd July to 17th August Stumble Inn provided me with the best time I've ever had on a trip abroad. The staff are phenomenally kind and caring, in particular the wonderful Aeron and Sietske, the managers of the Inn, who have the mammoth task of keeping the Inn running smoothly with business booming.
The facilities are of a very high standard, the showers, the toilets and clothes washing service. The views are spectacular of the coast and the beach is the perfect hot-spot for a good tan on a hot sunny day in the idyllic setting of palm trees and warm sand beneath your feet. Meals are exceptional and deliciously appetising and are presented formally on menu boards well in advance of lunch and dinner. Snacks are attainable at any point when your feeling peckish (a firm favourite is the cheese and tomato toastie with basil - absolutely divine!!!!). Drinks and beverages are available at any time from the bar and are all totally delicious. A stretch of tables stretches out under a thatched roof where you can have your meal, on a warm evening, with the moonlight shining in, this can be an unforgettable experience when sitting round the table with your good friends and a nice warm meal in front of you, perhaps with a game of UNO going on in the background.
A selection of books is available for light reading on a lazy day on the beach or sitting on the bamboo benches around Stumble Inn. Bunkbeds in the main thatched-roof building are all very comfortable in each of the rooms, and all have a mosquito net, as well as mosquito netting around the windows. The huts however are unmissable in terms of quality, and each have a superb ensuite shower, toilet and basin facilities.
Information about various tourist destinations are available at the bar, along with free calls to the best local taxi drivers, who charge very agreeable rates.
In short, my experience at Stumble Inn has been amazing and completely unforgettable. I vow to return here in the near future, and one thing I can guarantee to anyone who ever visits here is that they will leave feeling exactly the same way too.

Room Tip: Try out the huts, they're awesome!!!! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    29
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
22
19
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Right by the beach with incredible views and a peaceful and tranquil setting. For the price you get more than need. You are welcomed by all staff and after a day or less you feel right at home. My time was highly enjoyable and I am planning on coming back to Ghana next year and will be straight back to Stumble Inn. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else! If you want paradise and a home away from home feel this is the place to be!

Room Tip: Dorm rooms are great as all you need is a bed to sleep. The Huts are great too and are worthwhiled s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We love Stumble Inn. The huts are first rate, very comfortable and nicely decorated. But the best part about staying at Stumble Inn is the atmosphere. Amazingly friendly and helpful. Indeed the Dutch couple who manage Stumble Inn would go miles out of their way to help guests out!!!

Food was excellent, plus the service was really top notch.

Beach was clean and there was toys/ swings for kids, so great for families.

We plan to stay again, this time for longer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Hut 3 was sheer luxury after living in a damp tent for a couple of weeks. Wonderfully warm and friendly welcome and plenty of cold beers on offer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed here briefly but met many more people staying longer. The food was excellent, Mr. Kofi and the cook were so nice, and the dutch couple who run it were awesome. The coast is beautiful and very close to coconut grove who has a pool you can use for a small fee. It was great and would stay again any time!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

I went to Ghana for 2 weeks and we stayed at Stumble Inn. We had the most amazing time. I can't recommend it enough to all you out there who are looking for accommodation in Ghana. Stumble inn is set along the coastline of Elmina with a wonderful view of the ocean. At night time we just sat out with a cold beer under coconut trees.The buildings themselves are unique and unlike the nearby hotels which are very westernised. But as well as its beauty and location it is the staff who make it even more special. I hope we get to go back one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

I can honestly say that this is one of the best places I have every stayed at . The Dutch couple managing this small and intimate beach location are very pleasant and supported by Mr Kofi and other staff who are all very freindly. The menue changes each day and is limited to a couple of main courses and lite lites but the quality is very good and wholesome.I would recommend the banana pancakes for breakfast or afternoon tea. It is used by groups and indivuduals who also do voluntary work in the community which gives it added value . The sea frountage offers great views and close by is the Coconut Grove Hotel if you want to try something different by way of food and its got a pool. We stayed in a hut which was very nice and comfortable and dormotory accommodation is also available . One not to be missed and worth the effort to get to it . Cliff . Linda and Sophie James

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stumble Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stumble Inn

Address: Mbofra Akyinim, Elmina, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Elmina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Elmina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stumble Inn is a beach lodge just outside Elmina in the Central Region, Ghana. Nestled between 2 resorts, Stumble Inn is a perfect retreat and relaxing eco-friendly lodge. We have 3 en-suite beach huts, family rooms, and dormitories and are totally focused on providing a welcoming environment where anyone can come and stay, eat and join us with a few drinks. The beach front location is perfect for relaxation, but just 5 minutes from Elmina, which is a must see for any visitors. Transport links are good and there are a range of attractions such as Kakum and Cape Coast which are in close proximity. We look forward to welcoming you at Stumble inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Stumble Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stumble Inn Ghana/Elmina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stumble Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.