We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly better than average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mighty Victory Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mighty Victory Hotel
Save
You added Mighty Victory Hotel to your Saves list
| E.30 A/3 Aboom Road, Cape Coast, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cape Coast
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Slightly better than average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in mighty victory for one night during a quick trip to cape coast. It was abit of a strange place... 52cidi was not a bad price to pay for a clean place with hot and cold running water. Im not normally one to comment on the decor, in Ghana anyway, but this place made us feel a little like we were in a psychiatric hospital...right down to the sheets on the bed. The staff were very friendly and helpfull, the food was okay. I was amazed that there wifi was working, even if you did have to pay 5cidi perperson.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
23
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I booked a room via telephone approx. 5 days before arriving. When I went to check in, they did not have my reservation, but did have a room available. The rooms are neat and clean, but somewhat awkward. Their are windows that face the hotel's hallway which made me feel I had little privacy. I had a room with a fan and it was more than enough to cool off for the night. Staff were helpful and kind. Location is great- set back from the hustle and bustle of the coastal streets but only a 5 minute walk to town. I was upset however, because the wifi that they so highly advertise is not free (still cheap- 5 cedi for 24 hrs) but it does not work in the rooms- only in the lobby area (and it is kind of slow). Overall, an average hotel with decent rooms and a good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our trip to the Cape Coast will always be a positive and memorable experience. The owners Richard and Joyce were very helpful and accommodating, making sure that our stay was a great one.The hotel is very close to the Cape Coast Castle , which was an added bonus. The rooms were neat, clean, and very reasonably priced! The food was delicious! If you are looking for a great place to stay in Cape Coast, this is the ideal place. We will most definitely return. Thanks, Richard and Joyce!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Mighty Victory Hotel is one of the best out of our trip in Ghana; the rooms are spacious, clean and well-maintained, situated on a green compound with several sitting areas. The restaurant is somewhat uninspiring but what it lacks in atmosphere is made up with very tasty food. Moreover the hotel has wifi, running (hot) water, fans, AC and comfy beds. The staff is friendly and helpful; a clear reflection of the American owners, who clearly care about their guests' comfort. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Mighty Victory is only a short walking distance from the Cape Coast Castle. The hotel has wifi, water, fan, TVs and big beds. Richard and Joyce the staff originally from Oklahoma really made the trip for me. They will do everything to make sure your stay is enjoyable and if something isnt going right dont be afraid to just tell them and they will get their hard working staff right on it. Take advantage of the cheap laundry service and the great food. Make sure to order the lobster but earlier in the day, it is freshly caught and served with a butter garlic dipping sauce.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have AC make sure to get one with it even though its a little more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We made reservations a month in advance for the cheapest possible room. We get there and the only room available is a bit more expensive. The desk clerk assures us that we will get the rate of the room we booked. Come check out time we get charged for the upgraded room and the original desk clerk is unreachable. We even got charged for air conditioning that was broken. The owner went so far as to threaten to have us arrested. Maybe one of my least favorite people of all time. Room was adequate at best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Mighty Victory is a wonderful option for any traveller new to the golden coast. The rooms are spacious, clean, and accommodating. 52cedi (~26$USD) room has air con, hot water, fan, TV, and the biggest bed I have seen in Africa. The food is really really good and the staff is very pleasant. The hotel is located in what feels to be a very safe and well kept compound. Wifi Internet and a computer in the lobby are available for travelers who need to stay connected. I have stayed in many ghanian hotels in the past 2 years and the mighty victory might be my favorite for the value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mighty Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mighty Victory Hotel

Address: | E.30 A/3 Aboom Road, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cape Coast
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Mighty Victory Hotel Ghana/Cape Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mighty Victory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.