We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is foreign to this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mighty Victory Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mighty Victory Hotel
Save
You added Mighty Victory Hotel to your Saves list
| E.30 A/3 Aboom Road, Cape Coast, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cape Coast
Gaziantep, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Service is foreign to this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The room we stayed in was clean, the furniture was weirdly placed (the bed was pulled away from the wall, and behind it was a small side table), which made it hard to reach the windows, since we had to push two single beds together to have a big bed. Room was not comfortable, but ok to spend only one night. The toilet barely flushed and it was impossible to regulate the temperature of the shower water i.e. whatever the water temperature was in the tank on the roof, you got in your shower).
The staff seemed to be dozing off all the time, almost lying on the bar, watching tv, checking up Facebook, with their shoes off, unable to say hello, or good morning or even responding whenever we did (all this in the common area). Employee was cranky when we asked to use the computer (meant for guests, paid for by the hour) as he had to interrupt his online video game. We encountered long faces, frowns and a receptionist who couldn't speak in complete sentences. Worst service ever!
Only positive things were the front of the hotel and the closeness to Fort Victoria. Ok for one night, food was ok. Don't expect any service at all. Terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for a big bed when traveling as a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
22
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Budget hotel Cape Coast
Thankfully only Stayed 1 night. Hotel Charmless and sterile,
Room basic but clean.
The shower was poor a trickle and the stench of the toilets not nice. We left promptly in the morning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is what it says on the tin! Clean, restful no noise, good breakfast. Not amazing just good for a nights stay. I prefer the oasis hotel in cape coast as it by the sea and u can for the same money stay on the coast but it is a perfect second choice. Also the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: We choose an air con room but the light in the bathroom didn't work and the shower wasn't gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This inconspicuous but really nice hotel is worth a visit! The staff is very helpful, very friendly and the rooms are simple but really okay for the price! They have powerful vens in the rooms! The restaurant kitchen is fabulous and they are pleased to serve you the authentic Ghana menues.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Given the local standards in Ghana, Might Victory is a fantastic choice. Richard, the owner, is so nice - he even took my brother and I to a soccer game and filled us in on the local sports scene. The food at the restaurant is solid, and the rooms are clean with good ventilation. If I end up back in Cape Coast, I will call the Might Victory first.

Room Tip: The "family room" (sleeps 4) worked pretty well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hotel was ok for one night. Service is fine. Breakfast is not included but worth the price. Good location on top of a small hill with a nice view.

Unfortunately in our room there was a strong smell of mildew and the pillows were stinky as well.
The shower head was broken, so I had to unscrew it to get some water off the hose. Light in the bathroom was flickering. Furniture is old and partially falling apart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the first time I have been sorely disappointed in a Tripadvisor recommended hotel and to see it is proudly displaying a 2012 Tripadvisor award is very sad. The hotel is cheap and it should be. According to the tile signed on our bathroom it was built in 1995 and that is the last time it was decorated. The AC did work in room but the water pressure and temperature were low and lukewarm.
Others have said the staff was good, but we must have had the replacement crew. We ordered a sausage kebab as appetizer and my husband ordered the shredded beef and I had a chicken kebab for dinner entrees. It took 50 minutes to get the sausage kebab, 1hour and 20 minutes to get the chicken kebab and 2 hours to get the shredded beef. There were two other couples in the restaurant and their meals took just as long. We might have been able to have a drink while waiting but the BAR had 1bottle of wine (we drank it so don't count on getting one if you happen to go there). They had a few bottles of sprite, the other travelers drank them out of beer and there was not a drop of ice, whiskey,gin, vodka or schnapps. If you even think of staying BYOB you'll need it to get through.

The service at the extra charge breakfast the next morning was almost as bad. Only 45 minutes for eggs, sausage, toast and coffee.

They also charge for internet.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mighty Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mighty Victory Hotel

Address: | E.30 A/3 Aboom Road, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cape Coast
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Mighty Victory Hotel Ghana/Cape Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mighty Victory Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.