We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it has seen better days” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Han's Cottage Botel

Save Saved
You added Han's Cottage Botel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Han's Cottage Botel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 1240, Cape Coast, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Cape Coast
Lome
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“it has seen better days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This place was very nice. I used to go there, but standards were dropping. The restaurant is bad, the crocodile pond is now dirty and stinking. Service is slow. Beware of the receptionists, they might add some 30% to the bill.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    23
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
10
17
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited Kakum National Park on 2 separate days and each time, we went to Hans Botel for a meal afterwards. Its a great venue, very relaxed, sitting in the restaurant with the lake immediately beneath you. Apart from the "tame" crocodile which allows people to pose beside it (under supervision), the views over the small lake are great. You can see at least 3 species of weaver bird as well as 2 types of kingfisher on the nearby island. Definitely recommend it for a meal. However if you are going birdwatching there is a new hotel much nearer to the Park and another,due to open in the next fewmonths which is actually on the edge of the park. If you want to go birdwatching at first light, proximity to the Parh is important

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is quite difficult to rate this place fairly as standards are so different to what you are used. We went there as a group of eight and overall we had a great time when we stayed at the hotel. My wife and I stayed in one of the A/C rooms but it was relatively cool so could have done without. The rooms are very basic by European standards but it was clean and the staff was in general quite friendly. We also ate in the restaurant, food was OK but service was very slow, we waited at least an hour for our food even though we were pretty much the only customers. We got taxi arranged to go to Kakum national forest and the monkey sanctuary next day, as we were waiting to depart, a fight almost broke out between the taxi drivers as to who was going to take us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I want to warn EVERYONE to stay away from this place. The owners of the hotel offer the opportunity to touch 'trained' African Crocodiles. I took advantage of this opportunity and was bit in the face & clawed in the back of the head, I was very lucky to walk away with my life. Since then they have done NOTHING to prevent this from happening again. I am no longer living in Ghana, but hope to reach those of you that are currently residing there or planning on visiting.

Please stay away from this place and, if you have children, do not allow them any where near the crocodiles.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our room was newly refurbished and had the best beds and linen we encountered during three weeks in Ghana. Good shower and bathroom too.
The restaurant had the ordinary food but is very special in that it is built on a pond full of crocodiles! Interesting at first to see them so close. Weird, though, that you can touch one of them for 2 cedis ... Also a wonderful birdlife around the pond, so bring a binoculars.
We stayed 3 nights at Hans cottage in january 2013. It was at least one night too much for us, since there was not much to do around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night at the dorm which was clean, spacious, fanned and with an alright bathroom. And at less than 10 USD it's affordable given the following amenities:
There is a nice pool (right outside the dorm...), free WiFi (internet cafe has to be paid for), a restaurant / bar and a large pond with crocodiles. The beer is cold!

Room Tip: I liked the dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at Han's Cottage will a group of 8 people from the US in May 2012. We loved the birds and the setting, but the water in the shower smelled like sulfur. I am surprised that no one else has mentioned this. Some in my group said that they felt dirtier after showering than before. In my room, you received a small electrical shock when you touched the handles in the shower. Several of the rooms had ants. It is too bad that this place can't fix these issues, because the setting is fabulous. When we were there, small golden birds wove nests that hung from the trees. We enjoyed the food, so stopping for lunch on your way back from Kakum is highly recommended. If you need to pay by credit card, the exchange rate is very low.

Room Tip: Check-out the chalets. They looked fabulous.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Han's Cottage Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han's Cottage Botel

Address: P.O. Box 1240, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Cape Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Han's Cottage Botel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Han's Cottage Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Han`s Cottage Botel Hotel Cape Coast
Han's Cottage Botel Ghana/Cape Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Han's Cottage Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.