We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crappy hotel with good name” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Han's Cottage Botel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Han's Cottage Botel to your Saves list
Han's Cottage Botel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 1240, Cape Coast, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cape Coast
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crappy hotel with good name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We visited hotel and we have only one good thing to say. The room was clean. To start off the hot was not flowing and we had to get some 'electrician' to come and spend almost 30 minutes fixing it.
Then we had to endure extremely loud unpleasant music from the pool side till 6pm. Dinner was nothing interesting.
Oh, breakfast, breakfast was the worst, dry bread and butter served in someones wedding souvenir cups,some of which were cracked, but it did not end there , there was no option to have a chocolate drink for breakfast and no juice as well.
If you going there because of crocodiles, sorry we have to burst your bubble, there are almost no crocodiles there. just one 'baby' crocodile and one medium sized one.

It is not worth your time or your money. Our advice as fellow holiday makers ' DO NOT GO THERE!!!!'

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    25
    25
    9
    11
See reviews for
10
19
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
US
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

there is this saying the best way to experience life is to see for you self, i stayed in Hans cottage for a week and it was truly a place you should stay when you are in cape coast. affordable clean room, great environment and really friendly staff. there were little problems ,but it was still wealth being there, it truly a place to be.

see and feel for your self.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed there one night and I would certainly not recommend it..The staff is very poor and very unfriendly. The room was clean and that's about the only positive comment I can make. Go there to see the crocodiles then leave!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Our stay in Hans' Cottage Botel was not very good. We liked the crocodiles and one of the waiters but everything else was poor quality. We had to move rooms 3 times because there were ants. They were not able to find a room without. The pool were green, apparently they only clean it during the weekend. We had chiken for dinner, which tasted like they should have fed it to the crokodiles. Noone showed us any sort of understanding or seamed to care when we complained about their ant-problem. Don't go there except to see the crocodiles. It costs 2 Cide to have the staff feed them.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We had the unfortunate experience of staying in this Hotel for some days. A Local Agent had booked us in to this squalid "Hotel" and then told us afterwards he had experienced no end of problems with the place for months! The Hotel has its own website, don't believe what you read, neither take any notice at all of the Bradt Guide, that too is totally wrong.
The rooms were basic, and very grubby, the "bathroom" was never cleaned and disinfected. The Shower is has suspect electrics. It was very bad.
The jewel in the crown was the grubby and dirty Restaurant. The floor appears not to have seen a mop and water for years. All the tablecloths should be thrown away, and cutlery holders etc. given a jolly good clean. Thank goodness we never caught anything.
Breakfast was a joke. Dry bread cut thick, eggs every day unless you rebelled. No orange juice some days, no Pineapple or Bananas some days. What a shambles! They even had no (cold) Beans in the Store. Maximun profit for minimum cost. This is a real review written by a real traveller. This hotel might be used by people to visit the Kakum National park, but two new ones are opening up nearer the Park soon. Birding Groups visit this Hotel because it is near to the National Park. It has absolutely nothing else to commend it. Stay away!!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The Hans Botel gets good reviews in a number of Ghana guide books, yet recent on-line reviews are quite negative. These latter comments are justified.. The hotel was once quite fashionable for the area but times have moved on, there are a number of alternative places to stay nearby and this will not be the only hotel offering reasonable proximity to Kakum NP (our reason for staying here).

We stayed for three nights originally then a further night on our way from Axim to Kumasi. for the first stay we had "premium" rooms which compared poorly with other places we stayed in Ghana. Signs in the shower saying "Do not touch heater - danger of electrical shock" weren't encouraging and nor was the switch for the heater, placed underneath the shower. No bolt in any room appeared to close properly - this isn't high technology, simply incompetence. Air-con was variable and the fan ran at supersonic speed or was off. The water continually failed or ran dark brown because we were "at the top of the hill". The room was never cleaned nor the sheets changed during three nights and the towels were only changed when the room boy saw that we were in and could announce that he had changed the towels, whilst loitering for a tip that wasn't forthcoming.

During the second stay we had an "ordinary" room that was very poor: the doorlock was insecure; the aircon didn't work; no fan; the sink swung away from the wall and the plumbing was characterful.

Service in the restaurant and bar was attentive, the food was quite good and the drinks were cheap. Just beware of being ripped off by any of the young waiters when you settle your bill.

Hans Botel is in severe need of a major overhaul or it may disappear from the map entirely. Don't be attracted by the promise of dining over a crocodile pool either as this was a murky, grimy affair for which you could only feel pity for the crocs, but on which you could also hire pedaloes!! If I visit Kakum again in the future I would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Stayed for 1 night at Hans Cottage Botel as the tour operator said the ko-sa beach resort was fully booked. Very dissapointed by Hans Cottage. For 1 I expected a floating hotel (ref the botel in the title) but there is no link. Our room was in a concrete block and very basic, magnolia walls and tiled floor. The first room we were given smelt really badly of blocked drains. We moved to another room which was just as basic but didnt smell bad. The mattress / pillows looked old and dubious so we used Raid to kill anything living in it. Just a very shabby room. The pool was out of order. The internet cafe was so slow a connection (3-5 mins to get a page up) that we gave up - yet were charged for its use despite it being advertised as free for guests. The place appeared to be a building site and there was hammering going on. The food was good but drinks were overpriced. We asked for a price reduction due to the problems but were told no. I would never stay here again.

The only positive thing about this place is that they have black crocodiles and lots of birds and it is close to the Kakum National Park...however I would find a hotel further out which is better and just have a slightly longer journey to Kakume. We stayed the following night at Coconut Grove Bridge House in Elmina Old Town (about 20 mins away) and for roughly the same price the standard and location far exceeds the concrete jungle building site of Hans Cottage.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Han's Cottage Botel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Han's Cottage Botel

Address: P.O. Box 1240, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cape Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Han's Cottage Botel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Han's Cottage Botel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Han`s Cottage Botel Hotel Cape Coast
Han's Cottage Botel Ghana/Cape Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Han's Cottage Botel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.