We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkeys are almost on the loose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Forest Resort

Monkey Forest Resort
Kakum National Park Road, Cape Coast, Ghana
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Attractions in Cape Coast
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Copenhagen Danmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Monkeys are almost on the loose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was by accident we met the couple from the Netherlands who runs this place, when they were visiting in town.
We promised to step by and meet the monkeys, and it was sure an experience. Besides the monkey being chained to it couldn't attack girls (it was very..fond of women) there were some other monkeys around, and some exotic animals kept on the compound, where we took a guided tour with the owners.. They explained that it was going to be renovated and it was easy to tell that they cared for the animals.. the intentions were good enough, but some of the animals were in old cages, and they truely needed that renovation to come soon.
The most exhiting thing about visiting this place, was the owner, Dennis' stories about their way to Ghana and how they helped the locals (and almost got killed by some of them)
My advise is, that you should bring a few beers, some snacks for you to enjoy with the owners, and then remember to leave a contribution... but most importantly... remember to bring some stuffed animals, so the monkeys have something to play with :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    6
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Agree with most of the previous comments, an interesting place but it's difficult what to make out of it but overall an enjoyable visit and we saw all sorts of animals.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“No sure what to make of this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We came upon this place on our way back from Kakum. As we hadnt seen any animals in Kakum, we decided to stop and see what this place had to offer. Not sure if it is an animal zoo or an animal rescue sanctuary. I still cant make up my mind on this. The Dutch couple were interesting and knowledgeable which made the chaining of some monkeys disturbing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“An odd place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

A rather odd place that purposts to be rescuing animals, but seems to be more of an impromptu zoo. The animals are in small enclosures often unsuitable for them, but the Dutch owners seemed lovely and intelligent. Baffling.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I'd agree with the previous post, which describes the visit to Monkey Forest Resort as a "very unique experience". The Dutch couple who run this place are as much of an attraction as the animals and its worth sitting and have a chat with them at the end of the tour to hear about their trials and tribulations in getting the place off the ground. They seemed knowledgeable about the animals and clearly cared a lot for them - so much so that monkeys seem to have taken over their house, sleeping in their bed, living in their kitchen ...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkey Forest Resort also viewed

Cape Coast, Central Region
Cape Coast, Central Region
 

Been to Monkey Forest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Forest Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.