We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, restful stay at the Biriwa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biriwa Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Biriwa Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Wineba/Cape Coast Road, Cape Coast, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 Cape Coast B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful, restful stay at the Biriwa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Biriwa Beach Hotel for 5 nights while visiting Cape Coast for work. It was such a relaxing place to stay... Beautiful pool overlooking the ocean, large and very clean rooms, and a lovely little area to sit outside your room, under the shade of some lovely trees.

The hotel arranged for a driver (Kofi) to meet me at Accra airport when I arrived and take me back again at the end of my stay. My flight was delayed on the way there, so I didn't end up getting out of the airport until 23h00 or so... but the driver was right there waiting for me, and got me safe and sound to the hotel. Much appreciated!

The restaurant is also good - I stuck with the basics, but they were all very tasty and the servings were plentiful. It does take some time to be served, but service was certainly no more slow than it was at other restaurants I ate at in Cape Coast. The restaurant staff are very nice and friendly.

The only con I would say are that there were some students from a local school that came and sat by the pool every day, listened to their music loudly, and were quite obnoxious. It is difficult for a hotel to control this, but I felt like they should have said something since the kids were not hotel guests (they would just order drinks from the restaurant).

Will definitely stay at Biriwa on my next trip to Ghana!

Room Tip: I had room 107 for $60 per night - it was listed as one of the rooms that didn't have a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A pearl on the Ghanian west coast, fantastic for calm days and recreation. We had a fantastic week there, really enjoing the place.

The staff is like night and day. Some very good, some useless and in sad mood all the time. This should be sorted out at such a proud place with long traditions! I wish good luck to Claudia, the owner - she is excellent!

The resort needs some renovation within some years, and hopefully this will be done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Biriwa Beach in December, 2012. The hotel is absolutely beautiful with manicured gardens, lovely rooms and a stunning pool overlooking the beach on two sides. The accommodation is comfortable, clean and well cared-for and the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is lovely and everything we ordered exceeded expectations.

Thank you, Claudia!

Room Tip: 101 has beach views on 3 sides, but they're all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is located on a hilltop with beautiful views over the sea and surrounding vegetation. The place is well maintained and the terraces next to the room are shed by big trees and are excellent for reading a book and relaxing. There is a new big, round pool which was clean and cool.
The room we were offered had windows on only one side and was rather dark. Inside it looked a little bit dated, but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The shower had high water pressure!
A good place to go to the beach is the close by Anomabo beach hotel. You will need to pay for the use of their services, but the sea is very calm and shallow and it is excellent for swimming and body boarding.

Room Tip: ask for rooms 105 or 106, these have windows on 2 or 3 sides. 103 and 104 have windows one side only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I with her brother stayed for four nights in late November. The hotel situation is delightful with great views of the beach and ocean in a very peaceful setting. If you want the best room ask for 101 with views on three sides. The accommodation was very good with excellent air conditioning and a good shower. Swimming in the pool early morning and in the evening was delightful.
The food was good though it did take some time to arrive. The owner was very friendly but we did think that at times the boundary between family and staff was a little blurred.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited for a week in October 2012 and enjoyed a very relaxing and wonderful holiday. The hotel occupies a beautiful part of the world with stunning views of the unspoilt beach and ocean which is just a few minutes walk from the hotel. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the owner, Claudia, and some of her staff who continued to really look after us throughout the week - nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in room 101 with all the mod cons you would expect and with views to the beach and ocean that were simply stunning. We also spent many relaxing hours in the hotel pool whilst spending most nights either sitting in the hotel restaurant and bar (the ocean terrace) enjoying the food and drinks or walking along the beach and making the most of the beautiful and very peaceful surroundings. This was one of the best holidays we have been on and we will definately be returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

As a culmination to our two week holiday in Ghana, my friends and I had booked 4 nights at the Biriwa. Well, congratulations Claudia, you must feel so proud of your hotel and its staff. As we had experienced several hotels in Ghana during our holiday, we were ready to accept that standards were not as expected at home. The Biriwa was brilliant! Spacious, spotlessly clean rooms and magnificent food. The location of the hotel is idyllic and it is reasonably priced. Should I ever have the chance to visit Cape Coast in the future, this is the only place I would stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Biriwa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biriwa Beach Hotel

Address: Wineba/Cape Coast Road, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Coast
Hotel Class:3 star — Biriwa Beach Hotel 3*
Also Known As:
Biriwa Beach Hotel Ghana/Cape Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biriwa Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Biriwa Beach Hotel to your Saves list