We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brenu Beach Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brenu Beach Lodge
Save Saved
You added Brenu Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Brenu Akyimin, Cape Coast, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cape Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Brenu beach resort is a peaceful paradise. The view of the beach from our balcony and the restaurant was breathtaking!!! It has one of the cleanest beaches i have seen. The friendly staff and owner herself, Agnes will make your stay a pleasant one. Be sure to try their fresh lobsters.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this haven.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    15
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

After spending a few days at the lovely Coconut Grove Beach Resort, just down the road from Brenu, we had high expectations. Brenu did not disappoint. Although it doesn't have the grounds or the grandness of Coconut, it makes up for it in down home family charm and love and the food is exceptional. It is the simplicity of the place that my son and I enjoyed the most. The beach front is all yours with fabulous hammocks just waiting for you to lie down on.

Although we had been warned about the rip tides in Ghana, we found the surf to be perfect for swimming and our favorite....body surfing!

The food is delicious, we ate lobster fresh from the sea every night. Enjoyed ice cold beer and wine and the complementary breakfast is lovely. Fresh fruit, eggs, toast, jam, and coffee.

If you go, you must say hello to the beautiful proprietress, Agnes Naana Boger. She, along with her staff (many of whom are also her family), are delightful and accommodating.

Be aware though, there is another establishment that is going to be the first hotel you will see once you enter the gates to Brenu. It too is called Brenu..but it isn't THE Brenu Beach Resort, it is Brenu "Paradise"...so please, make sure you tell your driver to keep going to the next structure...that is where you want to be! Very important! There is no comparison...you'll know if you are in the wrong place.

Don't expect The Ritz, do expect clean rooms, great HOT showers with terrific water pressure, wonderful air conditioning, and a staff that is beyond compare!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coast, Ghana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This place is the cleanest beach I have seen in Ghana, although the waves are a bit rough. Is an adventure swimming in the sea. If you like sea food, I think this the best place for you, I love their food. I didn't use their room but had the opportunity to look at it and it was perfect style and very spacious.

Room Tip: If I was to stay there, I would have chosen the room at the far end if it was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for two days in April, and it was absolutely great!

For us it was classic Africa. Just lazy days spent beneath the shadows of palm trees, a white sandy beach as far as you can see, local boys bringing fresh coco nuts and a cute small local fishing village nearby. The food was great, especially the lobster (not something you can always expect if you are not used to the Ghanaian cuisine).

Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronten
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

In this outstanding lodge I stayed with my son for 5 nights. After a few weeks traveling through Ghana, this place was a dream to come true! It is a clean place, it has clean rooms, warm water and it is situates at the most beautiful beach of Ghana.
The restaurant is the known as the best restaurant in the region and we tasted it. It was very good. The owner, Agnes, is a very nice lady and she has very friendly and well educated staff, who served and helped us with everything.
If we go back to Ghana: for sure we will stay in this lodge again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Other than the fact that it was clean, this resort really has nothing going for it. We stayed there for two nights and both nights, there was no power. After the first night, the owner apologized, saying that they had issues with their generator. But when the power went out on night two at 6:30pm and stayed out until 5:45am, well, we were done. I also have to say that there is absolutely no security. People walking to and from the village right next door, sheep (while incredibly cute) overrun the location. While I was looking for peace and quiet, I found a very disconcerting experience at Brenu. I can promise that I'll never be back to that specific resort again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

If you are looking for peace and quiet. This is it! No beach vendors, no litter, no noise. Just endless pristine beach. Massive palm trees, gentle breezes, excellent food and drinks. Well maintained guest cottages, each with a spectacular view. All at more than reasonable prices. I absolutely must come back...i just hope it never changes.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brenu Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenu Beach Lodge

Address: Brenu Akyimin, Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Cape Coast
Also Known As:
Brenu Beach Hotel Cape Coast
Brenu Beach Lodge Ghana/Cape Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brenu Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.