We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sanaa Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Coast
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sanaa Lodge
Cape Coast, Ghana   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cape Coast
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Sanaa Lodge is in serious need of upgrade. In the first room that I was assigned the air conditioning was not working. In the next room, the refigerator and the toilet were not working. The toilet was eventually fixed but I still didnt have a working refigerator during my stay there. The air conditioner was on an automatic 20 minute timer. So one has to reset the a/c ever 20 minutes which I assume was set up that way to save electricity- but it was definitely annoying. The bed was not the most comfortable but it was ok for my short stay. And there was a 12-13 inch television in the room with only 2 channels. There is a business centre downstairs near the lobby area but it was not working during my stay. The room was ok for one night, but if I was staying in Cape Coast any longer than that I would have changed hotels. On a more positive note- The room was clean and the hotel was in walking distance to the beach!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

The location is not completely ideal, it provides a beautiful view of ocean depending on your room location, but on a hill partly isolated from the coast itself.

The hotel itself was under slight renovations when we arrived, but what was finalized was more than adequate for our needs. The pool looked pristine, which was bounded by a cozy bar. The food from the restaurant was nothing short of delicious. The staff was extremely friendly and very easy to engage in conversation.

During the time of our arrival, there did not appear to be many guest at the hotel, so I can’t address if it is a good place to meet people, but this did allow us to cultivate a more intimate and personal relationship with the people that did reside at the hotel.

The rooms were relatively plain: contained a bed, desk, and air conditioner. The rooms seemed very clean. The bathroom was a bit small, but contained hot water. The internet connection in the hotel lobby was pretty slow.

There appears to be high potential for this location in the future, currently it is a very fine place to spend an evening after touring the Elimina Castle, or the Kakum. Not full of frills, but the Sanaa Lodge provided for a comfortable night stay.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaud
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

I cannot understand this hotel's top rating in the Lonely Planet guide. It overlooks the beach, yes, but over a kilometer of hangar rooftops and dug up empty lots. The hotel is clean, but our door to the balcony did not open, half of the lights did not work, the internet connection was iffy at best. At breakfast time the staff had the radio on ultra loud, and when we requested it be turned down, it was by the merest bit. At other times young men who seem to be locals working or not in the hotel were unceremoniously draped over the sofas in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex,UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Such a sad little hotel just outside city but in nice open position, well placed for excursions to local important castles/forts and to reach famous Kakum National Park. Rooms adequate and clean but facilities generally had obviously seen better days
( pool water not inviting ) Poor range of food on offer in the restaurant despite the impressive menu; but quite well cooked and tasty enough. Charming, helpful staff. Near beach

  • Liked — Clean, well-placed and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Physically run-down buildings. Needs serious money invested on it.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sanaa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanaa Lodge

Address: Cape Coast, Ghana
Location: Ghana > Central Region > Cape Coast
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Cape Coast
Also Known As:
Sanaa Lodge Ghana/Cape Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sanaa Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sanaa Lodge to your Saves list