We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the nicest places we have stayed - Stunning view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ohrid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ohrid to your Saves list
Villa Ohrid
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Braka miladinovi 11, Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Ohrid
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of the nicest places we have stayed - Stunning view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Villa Ohrid for two nights paying £19 a night for double bedroom with private bathroom, the apartment is beautiful and a bargain for the price!

We stayed in the lilac room which is a good sized room; spotlessly clean with comfortable beds, air-con/heating, fridge, access to shared kitchen and reliable free Wi-Fi but the best feature is definitely the balcony which has a stunning view of the lake. The owners’ parents who live next to the apartment were friendly and welcoming (our taxi driver had no problem finding the apartment, just ask for the old ampitheatre)

The location suited us (due to the fantastic views!) around a five minute walk to the main town (bars/restaurants/shops) and the fortress and ten minutes’ walk through beautiful scenery to Church of St. John Kaneo built overlooking the lake (there’s also a small shop close by), it’s really peaceful and we slept well. However, the location will not be suitable for everyone as it’s a walk up a steep hill coming back from town.

Overall, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this apartment to anyone; I can honestly say it’s one of best maintained and well-presented places I have stayed during my travels.

**FYI, don't listen to some of the taxi drivers who congregate around the bus station - they will persistently tell you that you've missed your bus or that it’s been cancelled, check details with the ticket office or tourist information they are really helpful and speak good English (they will also give you detailed information and times of buses to Albania)**

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We went to Villa Ohrid for our holidays in June 2011. It was really lovely - warm welcome from the owner and an amazing view. 100 meters from it you can find an ancient ampitheatre. Ohrid itself is a beautiful, old city. It was our first time in Macedonia and we really enjoyed it - the food, the views, the people. I hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Take the room with the bay view - definately worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Okay, so I have to start out by saying that when we travel we like to stay at different places each time we visit a city. HOWEVER, we will definitely be returning to Villa Ohrid. The view is out breathtaking. I mean, it makes you just want to sit on the balcony all day and take it all in. We loved it here!

We arrived in Lake Ohrid and we were not able to find the villa very easily. We called the number they gave us and Sveta, the mom of the owner (Alesander), met us at the Upper Gate and she hopped in the car and showed us how to get to the villa. She was very nice and told us where to eat, things to do, that sorda thing. We walked in the house and we had no idea what to expect. We thought we were in someone's house! She showed us the (public) kitchen on the left and then took us to our room on the right. We opened the door and we loved it! It's roughly a 16*16 room with a t.v., free wifi, bathroom, bed and dresser. The balcony was my favorite. If you LOVE beautiful views like I do, then you will love this place. All this for only 29 euro per night. It was perfect.

Keep in mind that this sort of place may not be for everyone. We live in the city now and we were looking for something that had a great view of the lake and was out of the city. Although it is only about a 5 minute walk to the main city center (Ohrid Port, Statues, McDonald's, etc.) it might not be for someone who is going to be coming home real tipsy or tired because the walk back can be unfavorable; only because it's up a hill. Also, we are from Florida which you all know is flat so we love the view of mountains and being able to see the city. There are many other places that we checked out before we booked this one. Many had great views of the water but we get that all the time in Florida. We wanted a view of everything.

The street signs are not very legible or easy to spot in Ohrid. Also, if you don't speak the language, it can be quite difficult to find your way around. So, here is how to get there: Take Blvd. Turisticka into Ohrid. Take a right on АБас Емин (Abbas Emin) and follow it down until you see a sharp left (this is only about 3/4-1/2 mile). You will pass a sign for Villa Bella. Follow the steep road up to the Upper Gate. The Upper Gate looks like a huge fort. Go through it. Keep going straight. You will pass a small store on the right. Take the first right. Unfortunately there is not a street sign for this road. However, you will immediately see the Ancient Theatre on your right. Follow the steep hill up and take a right and park. You are in the right spot if the nose of your vehicle is parked facing the Ancient Theater and a beautiful view of Ohrid is on your right. Take your personal belongings and follow the road toward the lake. Villa Ohrid is a white building; it's the 5th or 6th building on the left. TA-DA! You've made it!

Some recommendations: Do not eat at Stobi Winery. This place is next to Hotel Alexander and Pizza Nemo near Ohrid Port. It's right on the water. (Check out the picture of the place that I posted.) They overcharged us for our breakfast and it rubbed us the wrong way. You see, we are Americans living in Skopje, Macedonia so we are very familiar with prices and with what things should cost. Breakfast should be no more than 500 denar. We ordered water, orange juice, omelet and a fruit salad. The fruit salad was canned mixed fruit with whipped cream and chocolate syrup on top. YUCK! Very disappointed considering Macedonia serves everything fresh. Oh well, no biggie; told the waiter that I would like to order an omelet instead. He said he should have told us it was not fresh. So afterwards, we get the bill and its 900 denar. My boyfriend and I both look at each other as we know this bill is extremely miscalculated. However, this is our one day to spend together on a mini vaca and we are not going to start it off wrong. So we pay and vow to never come back. It's a shame that people take advantage of tourists. There are SO MANY delicious low priced places to eat with excellent service. Don't waste your $20 here.

Hope this helps! Email me if you have any questions!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the right on the bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed at this villa in November last year and it was very nice and pleasant stay, and the prices were very good.

Rooms were clean, it was on a short distance from the center and from the Lake.

Would recommend this hotel to other trevelers and would stay in the same one again.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ohrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ohrid

Address: Braka miladinovi 11, Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Ohrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ohrid 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ohrid is located in the centre of Ohrid old part with spectacular view over tha Ohrid lake, near ancient theatre and plenty of churches. If you want to enjoy a comfortable and peaceful stay at the old UNESCO Ohrid city just visited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Ohrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ohrid Hotel Ohrid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ohrid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.