We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aleksandar Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aleksandar Villa to your Saves list
Aleksandar Villa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   N. Raca b.b., Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Ohrid
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We spent four nights at this lovely place close to Ohrid. The staff went out their way to help with all details and the food was excellent. And yes it is a spa place, our two rooms had their own spa inside and the rooms were quiet spacious and nice.
It's a nice ½ hour walk to Ohrid by the waterfront.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have their own little patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
15
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohrid, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

For the price you pay the only thing you get is a nice view (only on third floor) and a large room. These same things can be found at a number of other more modestly priced hotels.
Its advertised as a spa villa yet the spa is not heated and costs 10 euro per day to use which Is laughable considering it's 90 euro per night for the room. There is a small outdoor unheated spa also, this only turns on fo 4 minutes and an employee has to activate the jets for you so you can imagine how irritating it is if you want to sit in the spa with jets on for 20 minutes.
The restaurants are very overpriced and there is no room service available and outside food is not allowed in the hotel rooms. The hotel is only 4 years old yet the bed is awefull and you roll into the middle of the bed. The towels smell like they havnt been dried properly and are very rough and old.
It's family run and the family are always around, grandparents, parents and small children, this might sound quaint but honestly it's as if we are living in these people's back yard. Awful rude service and nosy owners. I will never recommended this place to anyone ever! Very disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerAleksandarVilla, General Manager at Aleksandar Villa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Veronica A,
May I take this opportunity to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay at Aleksandar Villa & Spa. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I would have greatly appreciated if only you contacted myself or any of my staff concerning your discomfort during you stay. Regardless, we truly value your feedback, and hope you will give us another chance to show you the true level of service our hotel is capable of.
Do not hesitate to call me directly to discuss at your earliest convenience.
I have had a constructive meeting with all my employees and have carefully looked over each and every aspect of your concerns in order better our overall quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was one of the best relaxation holiday i have had so far. It is an amazing property secluded form all the hustle and bustle. You feel like you are in your own palace. It is a good property as there are only 12 apartments and you get to know everyone really well. There is an amazing outdoor and indoor pool with a relaxation center. All the food is home made and the owners are absolutely lovely. We actually got to know them through our stay. This villa will suit anyone. The jacuzzi in the rooms are also fabulous. words cant describe how good this place was.!!!! a definite stay when i go back to Macedonia

Room Tip: All rooms are good rooms.!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

After touring for two weeks with a Canadian orchestra thru Albania and Macedonia I decided I needed to find a 2 day getaway for some pampering. I picked the perfect spot! The room was glorious. The bed was like heaven and the bathroom was the most luxurious I had seen since arriving in the Balkins.
I used all of the services...pedicure, manicure, massage, steam and of course the pool. The owners of the hotel treated me like a special guest and made me feel so comfortable. As a woman, arriving on my own it was nice to be acknowledged and treated so special.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that doesn't want a cookie cutter chain hotel and is looking for a fabulous escape. I will definately go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I guess it depends what one is used to, but for the price I paid I could have stayed in the most expensive hotel in Vancouver. The interior is not much better than a motel. It is not clean. The shower flooded, the soaps in the room are so cheap even a motel would have better soaps. Also, this hotel advertises itself as a spa, I did no expect to be kept awake all night, by the children upstairs and across. Very badly insulated. The toilet bowl has still the big stickers on from the place they bought them from. The owner is running around with no shirt on and big golden chain around his neck. The guest were tattooed and I would have expected them more in a motorcycle gang than in a spa hotel. I had booked the hotel for two days. When checking out because of the noise, the hotel had not even the courtesy to only charge me for one night, instead they did something shifty with the bills. Instead of giving me one bill, they gave me two. There was something not ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Aleksandar Villa, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
It is really unethical and unfair to write such a review ONLY because the guest was charged for their late cancellation in accordance to our hotels cancellation policy. Even in Vancouver hotel cancellation policies purposely do exist and are respectfully obeyed. Hotels in Macedonia are no exception to these industry standard hotel reservation/cancellation policies.
This review is totally untrue.
We carefully look into each and every review in effort to constantly better our service and the guests overall experience in Aleksandar Villa Boutique hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

You feel observed all the time by the owners, You will be observed by them when you eat, when you use their swimming pool, the food is not good and you have to wait 1 hour for it.
The only positive things are that you can sleep peacefully without noises and everything is clean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were here during 6 days/5 nights. The family of owners is so kind and really makes sure that every client has everything he/she needs.
The garden is perfect for relaxing and the pool offers enough seating for all guests. The choice of food in the restaurant is not too big, but everything is home-made and of really good quality. The girls working at the hotel are friendly and speak good english.
The rooms are very spacious and clean.
At the moment of our stay, there were a lot of dutch clients. During the weekend, some Croatians arrived: not the kind of people you want to meet during your holidays... Very rude and selfish and they think the hotel is their own property.
Anyway, the service made this a perfect holiday!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aleksandar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aleksandar Villa

Address: N. Raca b.b., Ohrid 6000, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Southwestern Region > Ohrid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Ohrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aleksandar Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aleksandar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleksandar Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.