We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a weekend getaway ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Aurora Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Berovo Lake, Berovo 2330, Republic of Macedonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berovo
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place for a weekend getaway ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stated in Aurora for a weekend and really enjoyed my time there: nicely designed and large rooms , good food, helpful stuff. Due to an incredibly beautiful location it is a place to have long walks and enjoy the surroundings. Would definitely recommend the resort if you want to relax and clear your mind.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    10
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
30
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Unique, unforgettable experience in a beautiful state of the art resort. Exceptional service and delicious food served by friendly staff. Quiet and relaxing, with a perfect location granted with beautiful nature and fresh mountain air. Clean rooms with specific interior design that makes you feel like home. This place is a small paradise! It snowed the last day of our stay, and it was magnificent. We advise you to dress warm in winter, (temperatures can get very low), and take a walking tour to the lake.
Definitely exceeded our expectations. It's absolutely perfect and we strongly recommend it at least for a get-away weekend.
Thanks for the warm welcome and pleasant stay! We will visit again during summer time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

A perfect place for weekend, especially on summer or automn. Luxury and elegand with a very good restaurant and a rich cellar. Clean and spacious rooms, too mutch green all around. Very helpfull staff, good English and the best capuccino i ever taste!
Nice walks by tha lake, or a visit to Berovo, or nothing, only relax... I 'll be there again...

Room Tip: All of them have view, but on summer, avoid pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

When all country was covered by fog that place look like in story where service was excellent and they was acting like we know itshader all live. Girl from reception give me some information about the nature and advice me to go on walk cross the wood and it was unsabskribe wonderfull beauty.
Food was excellent, they make traditional Macedonian food with local taste and in restaurant they have big fireplace who give special ambient during the meals.
So I was looking for peace and finally I found it, that is Aurora Resort & Spa in Berovo.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at this wonderful resort for 5 days. The hotel is located in such a position that no other position I can think of could have offered such astounding views of the lake, the dam, the canyon…everything. Nature is really something there. The resort is very big, the territory it owns makes it great for walks, but it is also very nice to take longer walks outside the hotel during daytime. It gets very dark outside hotel property at night…

The rooms are amazing, such comfort they offer, almost home-like environment. Quite big as well. We were in a junior suite with a huge and very comfortable bed, a separate living area with flat tv, which was very accommodating. Our room had astonishing views of the mountains and the lake, which unfortunately was not full with water and looked somewhat sad. The room style and deco is very nice – minimalistic and natural, yet contemporary. Whilst other parts of the country were enveloped in fog and clouds, in this mountain paradise we enjoyed crisp sunshine. Staying on the room balcony or on restaurant outdoor terrace during those clear sunny days was a true bless.

The night before Christmas we heard loud music outside and were surprised to see that stuff prepared a big fire on restaurants terrace with traditional live music and complimentary hot local brandy. It was a nice touch by management.

Breakfast is very diverse and tasty. Some of the menu meals we tried were also very tasty, and to be honest fairly priced considering the category of the hotel. Wine selection in the restaurant is very good, most of the top class Macedonian wines are sold.

The hotel has a spa centre which we visited almost every day. It’s not a huge one but I really enjoyed it because of the privacy. Indoor spa swimming pool is not very big, about 10m long so you cannot really use it for extensive swimming, but its warm and great for unwinding after the long walks.

Surely I will visit again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraMK, Manager at Aurora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Aurora Resort & Spa as your retreat during the post New Year festive period. Your kind comments on Trip Advisor are highly appreciated.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay here and that you had an enjoyable holiday. I am happy to note that our location and environmental surroundings, the room, the cuisine and the staff left you with a positive impression.
Indeed, we’ve had wonderfully sunny and clear weather lately, whilst most of the region has been foggy and dull.
It is of great importance to us that you found our spa centre to be enjoyable and unwinding. We strive to provide personalised spa experience with peace and privacy being amongst the indigenous factors for guests’ satisfaction.

We are definitely looking forward to your upcoming visit with us and we assure you that you will again be mesmerized.
With our best regards,
Aurora management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skopje
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

ROOM AVERAGE , STAFF RUDE, UNPROFESIONAL, SPA TERIBLE, FOOD VERY GOOD.
Expectations are everything, Aurora Spa and Resort was suppose to be the newest and one of the best accommodations in Macedonia, but unfortunately it was very disappointing. The location is beautiful, and the layout of the cabins is very pleasant, and the exterior is charming. The staff , with one or two exceptions is rude and unprofessional . The room was spacious and nice, but the first good impression quickly gave way to the second and permanent one, a disappointing one. The lack of attention to detail, and the cheap materials make up a sad ending to a promising potential. It seams as the management had run out of funds and patients, and gave up, giving way to mediocrity and poor quality. The doors were so terrible, even when closed they had a 3cm gap. We had an incident with our front door, it was malfunctioning and we got stuck for hours, and couldn’t get inside the room, and the staff reactions to the problem were more than terrible, they were unhelpful, unprofessional and rude. The breakfast buffet was very good, plenty of delicious traditional Macedonian dishes. And finally, the spa, the name is Aurora Spa and Resort, but that is not the case, the spa is awful. Small and not organized well, dirty, almost nonfunctioning. The reception is nonexistent therefore embarrassing, No showers near the sauna, pool area. The pool was cold and extremely dirty, the sauna to cool as well, the steam bath was not well maintained and made of “cardboard”. You had to make a reservation for the spa , and had only an hour and a half to use it. The spa was the most disappointing segment of the resort. All in all we had a nice stay, but no thanks to the staff and spa of the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraMK, Manager at Aurora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your stay which took place almost a year ago.
We are truly disappointed that we fell short in the expectations that you had at all levels, except for the food. Although, I can assure you that this is not indicative of who we are and is not the service we wish to be known for. Despite for being the newest and one of the very few, if not the only mountain resort of such type in the country, we are also striving for best standards in all sectors and services. This dedication has already been recognised and awarded on national, regional and even international level.

As part of our ongoing efforts to enhance our resort and to keep the theme truthful to the natural ambiance, we have emphasised the use of natural elements in the construction and furnishing of the hotel. I’d like to point out that the materials used are, on the contrary to the impression it might have left you with, much more expensive and appreciated then the regular shiny industrial elements commonly used elsewhere. Hand made furnishings constructed of pure wood and other natural and environment-friendly elements are rarely considered as mediocrity.
We are aware that there have been some problems with the doors in some of the rooms, and truly apologise for the inconvenience it had created for you. All doors are completely made of local natural wood. Considering the structure of the hotel, most doors are exposed to outside environmental influences (temperature fluctuation, etc.) and therefore there have been a few doors that have misshaped slightly (a few mm) due to the organic nature of their construction. However, claiming a 3cm gap is out of order. We have so far changed all of the problematic doors, yet again in line with the natural ambience and ideology – same/similar natural wooden doors.
More so, in the past 4 months we have started a process of refreshing and upgrading all of the rooms, despite them being only less then 3 years old. All rooms have been repainted, refreshed and enriched with other details for guests’ convenience. However, your feedback will certainly be taken into consideration when future major refurbishment will be planned.

We are also surprised and disappointed that we did not manage to meet Your expectations in our dedicated Spa Centre. Namely, our 250sqm Wellness & Spa Centre is an amenity that we have great pride in and is one of the utmost prioritised facilities. The Spa grounds are not very large, but Aurora Resort & Spa is a boutique-style hotel with 31rooms. The spa centre is only and exclusively opened for guests accommodated at the hotel, and no one other can use its facilities, which include a heated swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Bath, Relaxation area, massage rooms, and fully equipped toilets, dressing rooms and separate showers. Our ideology is to provide the guests a unique, relaxing, and personalised SPA experience in cosy and calm atmosphere. In order to achieve that, it is advised that all guests check with the SPA reception and make an appointment of use. The spa reception is certainly there at all times during working hours to assist the guests.
It concerns us greatly to read your comments regarding the hygiene which you experienced to be inappropriate, and rest assured that all necessary measures have been and will continue to be taken in order to eliminate any such impressions. Pinpointing a comment regarding the steam bath, I’d like to inform you that the construction is not “cardboard”; on the contrary it maintains all standards and has been built by certified constructors. As for the spa ceiling above the swimming pool that you’ve provided a picture of, we were also sad to see humidity causing some damage, and therefore had it completely reconstructed a couple of months ago and no such problems occur any longer.

Goran m m, please allow me to take your comments with all its points and use it as training and learning exercise for us to ensure fine tuning is made in the future. We have well noted all your concerns and will follow up accordingly with related departments for further improvement to ensure that we maintain a high quality of service to all of our guests.
However, please note that most of the inconveniences you mentioned happened nearly a year ago and most of them have already been rectified.

I hope despite your less than perfect stay last year, you will allow us to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Room 512 has a perfect view of the surrounding nature and the hotel property. I wouldn't recommend that guests book full board, since the lunch and dinner service is repetitive and VERY slow, but breakfast was lovely every morning. Also, the spa facilities are a bit of an afterthought, though the staff there are accommodating and professional.

Most of all, it's a wonderful place to take peaceful walks and enjoy the mountain sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraMK, Manager at Aurora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Michelle O,

Warm greetings from sunny Aurora Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and it is delightful to hear that you had a great Aurora experience on your recent visit at the same time I will celebrate it with our teams. They’d be surely happy to hear that you find them accommodating and professional.

It is of great concern that your overall impression has been partially deteriorated by our restaurant service. The high season festive period during which you stayed in cannot be an excuse for slow service. It certainly does not represent our brand values and therefore, please rest assured that your comment has been followed and communicated with relevant departments for their review and improvement. Through constructive feedback of this nature we are able to isolate the finer details in guest satisfaction in order for us to focus our attention on constantly striving to exceed guest expectations.

We hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive, memorable experience in the future. The natural mountain surroundings make for very pleasant and relaxing walks when covered under a blanket of snow, but also during the green nature bloom in summer time.

With our best regards,
Aurora management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Resort & Spa

Address: Berovo Lake, Berovo 2330, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Eastern Region > Berovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aurora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an altitude of 1100m, the resort is located in the mountainous Eastern part of Macedonia near the town of Berovo, overlooking a Lake nestled in a breathtakingly picturesque canyon.Surrounded by the grace and serenity of its 5 hectares of own natural landscape guarantying remarkable views throughout the whole year, Aurora Resort & Spa has been effortlessly incorporated into the charm and elegance of a modern day “Eco Hotel” – completely built with local volcanic rocks and rich wood accents.Its world-class Spa (opening soon), state-of-the-art restaurant, exceptional accommodations, tranquil pools, renowned hospitality and service, and a rich variety of amenities unrivaled anywhere in the country makes this luxurious yet intimate resort a perfect getaway from the daily routines.From relaxing retreats to invigorating outdoor adventures, Aurora Resort & Spa celebrates the environmental magnificence and the essence of life and longevity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aurora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Berovo
Aurora Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.