We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful nature and facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Aurora Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Berovo Lake, Berovo 2330, Republic of Macedonia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berovo
Skopje, Macedonia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful nature and facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Room 512 has a perfect view of the surrounding nature and the hotel property. I wouldn't recommend that guests book full board, since the lunch and dinner service is repetitive and VERY slow, but breakfast was lovely every morning. Also, the spa facilities are a bit of an afterthought, though the staff there are accommodating and professional.

Most of all, it's a wonderful place to take peaceful walks and enjoy the mountain sunshine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraMK, Manager at Aurora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Michelle O,

Warm greetings from sunny Aurora Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and it is delightful to hear that you had a great Aurora experience on your recent visit at the same time I will celebrate it with our teams. They’d be surely happy to hear that you find them accommodating and professional.

It is of great concern that your overall impression has been partially deteriorated by our restaurant service. The high season festive period during which you stayed in cannot be an excuse for slow service. It certainly does not represent our brand values and therefore, please rest assured that your comment has been followed and communicated with relevant departments for their review and improvement. Through constructive feedback of this nature we are able to isolate the finer details in guest satisfaction in order for us to focus our attention on constantly striving to exceed guest expectations.

We hope to welcome you back for a chance to create a more positive, memorable experience in the future. The natural mountain surroundings make for very pleasant and relaxing walks when covered under a blanket of snow, but also during the green nature bloom in summer time.

With our best regards,
Aurora management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    9
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
30
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Everything was absolutely perfect.The best weekend i had in years.All i can say this place is AMAZING.The staff is very kind and pleasant,they will help you with everything you need.The rooms are perfect, always clean,new towels every day hot water all the time.The restaurant staff is very polite and the food is very good.Everything you need is to pack your bags and the staff from Aurora will make your stay PERFECT.The nature around the resort is beautiful.If you want to take long walks,relax or ride a bike,then this is the place for you!You can also rent a bike at the reception desk for a reasonable price(you don't need to carry your own).Cant wait for my next trip to Aurora Resort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraMK, Manager at Aurora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear LjupcoW

Warm greetings from Aurora Resort & Spa.

We are very grateful for you took the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our resort, by posting your kind review on Trip Advisor page.

We are so happy to read your wonderful reviews about the resort and we greatly appreciate on your compliments upon our personnel, room, food and facilities.

Certainly we look forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards
Aurora management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Karpos, Macedonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I just got back from Aurora,I was on a vacation/weekend there with my boyfriend.We had aGREAT time,first impression you get when you enter the hotel =is like you are in Switzerland or Austria.The surroundings are perfect,the staff is well-behaved,they respect your privacy,always smiling and always complimenting..The food is just OMG-and the rooms...ohh the Junior suite room 313 that I stayed in was awesome!!! Probably the best weekend ever, I am glad to have such a great hotel in Macedonia, and I will visit this place again of course !!! Everything was just so clean, and the rooms warm at night.have no complains at all

Room Tip: lake view junior suites are large, clean, sunny and with best view In junior suites you have privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraMK, Manager at Aurora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Loso D,

We are glad to read your favourable review regarding your stay at our Resort. Your compliments about the room, restaurants services, food and nature surroundings are of immense importance to us.
We are delighted that you found our staff to be polite and well behaved. We will certainly pass this compliment and celebrate it with our teams. Your positive feedback is in line with the surrounding reviews and we are really proud that we have contributed in some small way to making your experience with us a flawless one.

With our best regards,
Aurora management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I (wife and 4 kids - aged 17, 14, 3, and 1, as well as mother-in-law), spent a week in this wonderful place. It was a perfect getaway, great for relaxing by the pool, or just reading a book by the trees. At night the stars and the silence were an experience unto themselves. The food was very good, and the serving staff were very friendly. Our favorite server was Borce, he was always very prompt and with a smile for the kids.

We stayed in the villa apartment, which was great value for our money, and I would recommend anyone who is going with more than 5 people to take this option. We had space and privacy galore. We would definitely go back again. Five days was the right amount time.

With regards to the full/half board, we went with half board, and noted that the prices would have been the same if we had done al a cart.

Room Tip: For families take the villa apartment. Well worth it, plus the view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel, located in an amazing place. I had the pleasure to stay in one of the appartments with a great view towards the forrest. Food was more than fabulous - first time in my life to have such a delicious homemade breakfast and everything tested amazingly good! Swimming pool has a very nice view - congrats for the great idea. Stuff was nice and for me it is all I need! Thanks for everytging we will come back again for sure ;)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SKOPJE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

located near Berovo in beautiful environment and excellent service and accommodation. very comfortable rooms, extra clean, the pool is amazing and the view of the sky from the near forest is amazing. rent a bike available and many other mountaineering activities

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Me and my Fiancé (at the time) decided to make our wedding in this truly magnificent resort in the mountains in eastern Macedonia. It was a 2 days event filled with different arrangements. We stayed in the place for 4 days together with most of the guests and we were enjoying the food, the nature, the mountains and the view over the lake nearby. If I have to put a rating on the place and the location I would give 100 starts * the owners were very fair and allowed us to enjoy great freedom in their resort 100 stars *, from fantastic parties to enjoying one of the best traditional cuisines you can find in Macedonia 100*. Everything would have been great if the chief of staff in the restaurant/bar had the same attitude with my guests and especially my wife like he had with me. I could not believe the stories I heard from my guests after the whole event. He was rude, arrogant, uncooperative and incompetent towards almost all of my guests. He is definitely not wordy of running a restaurant in a resort of this level. He managed to push many people over the limit by treating them badly and acting as he is the emperor of the world. Him and 2 of the guest (I must say), were the cause of 2 incidents that accrued in the place for the 4 days we were there.

Anyhow I am not going to rate this place for the actions of a single person that will hopefully be replaced in good time for the sake of the resort and this beautiful relaxing place.

I can assure you in these things:

The place is absolutely magnificent,
The food is as good as it gets in Macedonia (big thanks to the chef :)),
The wedding was absolutely fantastic and unforgettable,
The owners are great honest and helpful people,
The staff is great (excluding the chief of staff in the restaurant)
You should definitely come to this place if you are in Macedonia. It will blow your mind.

PS. Please disregard the comment with 1* from some of our guests who most probably got so upset with one person (the chief of staff) and degraded the whole place as a consequence.

Once again thanks to Aurora and owners for the great event we had at your resort.

BR
Nikola

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Resort & Spa

Address: Berovo Lake, Berovo 2330, Republic of Macedonia
Location: Republic of Macedonia > Eastern Region > Berovo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Berovo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aurora Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At an altitude of 1100m, the resort is located in the mountainous Eastern part of Macedonia near the town of Berovo, overlooking a Lake nestled in a breathtakingly picturesque canyon.Surrounded by the grace and serenity of its 5 hectares of own natural landscape guarantying remarkable views throughout the whole year, Aurora Resort & Spa has been effortlessly incorporated into the charm and elegance of a modern day “Eco Hotel” – completely built with local volcanic rocks and rich wood accents.Its world-class Spa (opening soon), state-of-the-art restaurant, exceptional accommodations, tranquil pools, renowned hospitality and service, and a rich variety of amenities unrivaled anywhere in the country makes this luxurious yet intimate resort a perfect getaway from the daily routines.From relaxing retreats to invigorating outdoor adventures, Aurora Resort & Spa celebrates the environmental magnificence and the essence of life and longevity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aurora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Berovo
Aurora Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.