We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kaveka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kaveka to your Saves list
Hotel Kaveka
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 373, Maharepa, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Have just got back from Tahiti. Stayed for 7 nights at hotel Kaveka. Can't say enough about the fantastic time we had, the staff were awesome, restuarant relaxing and comfortable and the pier great to wander along while waiting for your meal to arrive. Yes the staff made suggestions about what to do and where to go and this greatly enhanced our time in Moorea. We at no time felt pressured into doing anything we didn't want to do, but appreciated the well meaning advice. Stayed in bungalow by the lagoon and we just had to step out the door and could dive into the lagoon. Brilliant!! Sure we had to pay to use the bikes and snorkels etc but this is not a 5 star resort, and the price to stay here reflects this. Highly recommend staying here. It is clean, tidy, friendly and great value for money.

Room Tip: Lagoon bungalow awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    44
    13
    9
See reviews for
33
108
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Whilst we did not have the best location of a bungalow, like a previous review, it was the one across from the bike stands, and by the entrance of the hotel, but we also did not mind. At night, (as in bedtime) no one is there to take bikes and the restaurant is closed and during the day, we are out anyway, noise was never a problem when there were people ..its not like they were shouting etc. It does mean that there is less privacy however. But again, its never much of a problem

The room, the hotel was brilliant, the staff were good too, as is the owner and there were some lovely guests that were staying there too! The experience was brilliant, and its not a 5star resort, and that is what we loved about the place. it was relaxed, the rooms were clean and just a polynesian bungalow with basic amenities. Of course things like the shower is not going to be modern like the resorts.

If you need aircon, I am pretty sure that they state which rooms have aircon and which dont on their website - so just be sure to choose the right one if you need aircon!

Food wise . We spent one evening in the Kaveka restaurant and it was tasty. The atmosphere was nice and there was a singer that sang some nice songs. The restaurant sits on the edge of the water.

In general it was just a really really really lovely stay. we would definately be returning here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to check on their website which bungalows have aircons included in the price before you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had 2 nites on Moorea (30 min ferry from main island). Lots of day trippers out there, but I'd suggest you stay over, as the price on the mainland will be same as Moorea and Moreea is 10 times better. Hotel Kaveka is owned and managed by a New Zealand bloke , Greg, and is one of the best bungalow hotels I've stayed at. Greg and his staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed at the beach front bungalow and it was amazing , as was the dinner beside the lagoon, feeding fish while waiting for the food. The bungalows are nothing special , but they are clean and modern enough, with King beds , flat screen tv, fan and AC (toilet sink and shower of course).
Highlight of our visit was the day trip to feed and swim with the Sting rays and sharks - if you're there do this trip - amazing. If we had more time, I'd have played golf at the Jack Nicolas course, gone fishing outside the reef, and done the 4wd trip up into the volcanoes - next time.

I will definietly go back one day and I highly recommend Moorea and Hotel Kaveka to you all.


Scott and Gill (Kiwis abroad)

Room Tip: Beach Front Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

While not a 4 star property by any means,it certainly does an ALL STAR job of providing a clean ,safe,very quiet, truly Tahitian holiday,the staff is the nicest bunch you will ever meet! I spent the month of May enjoying this property!Great location,less than a kilometer to the Super March'e Pao Pao(10 minute walk),and a mile from the largest shopping area on Moorea!The Kaveka has the absolute best views of Cook's bay! Snorkeling is great,some of the best spaghetti I've ever had in the restaurant ! I believe it is the best value in Tahiti,you can tailor your experience to your desires,from economy to coddled. I am a frequent visitor to Moorea and don't know how I overlooked this Jem!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wonderful hospitality, people are very friendly at reception and also on the grounds. It feels like a home away from home experience plus you can go snorkelling outside your room, eat great food and entertainment is fantastic. You can pick your tours from the hotel and transport is provided to and from each tour. I recommend staying at the Kaveka Hotel. I will be again.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

On arriving at this location, we thought it was pretty good for what we paid. BUT we were very wrong. We found this place to have many hidden cost and everything was way over priced. e.g. we were charged to use the safe - this is an essentail for travelers and hotel kavaka takes advantage of this. Everything about this place screams "creap and budget". If this is what you are looking for than it could be for you. The lagoon had rubish flating in it, the breakfast was not very appealing, the rooms are small and cramped, the showers were dirty and out dated. The mood and atmosphere around this location was dull and depressing.
The owner was very nice but the employees were not very welcoming.
We checked out early and moved to Moorea Pearl resort and spa who looked after us very well and also gave us a good deals on there rooms. Thank you Moorea Pearl Resort

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavekaMoorea, Manager at Hotel Kaveka, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
“We are saddened in that we could not make your stay here at the HOTEL KAVEKA a memorable vacation, as we relentlessly try our very hardest to accommodate and enhance our guests to experience the real and authentic Polynesian hospitality for a reasonable price.

Your booking was a special inexpensive promotional deal offered by a reputable tour-operator, and you opted for the cheapest possible deal of approximately 73.oo $ NZ per night for a garden bungalow !!! To compare this with Moorea Pearl Resort (a four star property) is being unjust, even deceitful. (Dictum: compare apples with apples).

It is VERY obvious that you are not frequent travelers, as there are even hotels in Auckland NZ that charge for ‘extras’, that is; your telephone calls, your safety deposit as well as all miscellaneous services including internet, laundry, room service, valet parking, parking, business center and the list is long and vast.

We are constantly refurbishing the property here at the HOTEL KAVEKA, always keeping in mind a traditional authentic Polynesian atmosphere and maximizing comfort for our valued guests, and for this we recently opted for new larger (king size ++) bamboo beds measuring 2 metres, 20 cm wide and 2 meters, 20 cm in length which nonetheless do take a little more space in the bungalow, but are far more comfortable.

Indisputably there was definitely debris floating in the lagoon during your stay, as we have been having bad weather for the past week or two – this can happen in NZ also!!!!.

Furthermore upon check out, (one day early) we graciously drove you to the Moorea Pearl Resort (free of charge)!!! – and never did you mention any of the above mentioned complaints, quite the contrary your comment for your one night early check-out was ‘to splurge 450.oo $ NZ on your last night at the Moorea Pearl Resort in an overwater bungalow’ - so I can only presume that you are seeking some kind of compensation? (motto: you get what you paid for).

To summarize: we try everyday to improve our family operated hotel, by offering nice clean accommodations at reasonable rates so that our valued guests can continue to return and visit with us.

Sincerely Yours.
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

If you're looking for a quiet get-away, a life of leisure in the tropics, Kaveka is ideal. It feels like private resort. It has a small sand beach, more than adequate for its guests, which transitions into a shallow (2 feet to 5 feet deep) coral area for snorkeling along the side of the pier. If you're more adventuresome, snorkel in the deeper water from the end of the pier any time of morning or afternoon. I sampled the snorkeling at a few of the glamour resorts, and Kaveka's was as good or better. The restaurant and pier over the reef is Kaveka's heart. Here, locals and guests alike dine on very good food and share their bread with the fish in the reef below. Local musicians sometimes provide easy listening, live music on the weekend evenings. The staff are all friendly, helpful, and will recognize you after the first day. There are a variety of excursions they can arrange, according to the day, such as a motu picnic with snorkeling and sting ray feedings and sunset cruises. Staying at Kaveka is a special way to experience a simple life of leisure in Tahiti.

Room Tip: Consider requesting a bungalow overlooking the ocean bay. Mine came with an air conditioner, a wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kaveka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaveka

Address: BP 373, Maharepa, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kaveka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kaveka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaveka Hotel Maharepa
Hotel Kaveka Moorea, French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kaveka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.