We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on Moorea.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Hollywood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel on Moorea.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel was amazing. We took a boat trip around most of Moorea and it was clear that the Sofitel is in the absolute best spot. It has a huge and amazing beach and the property is pretty large but never felt crowded. We stayed in a garden bungalow that had a Koi pond in front and a glorious mountain view in the back. The staff was incredible and very friendly and it just felt like paradise there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    422
    131
    48
    20
See reviews for
106
1,201
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved the Sofitel. It was a bit modern but still very beachy. We got a beachfront bungalow because we were staying overwater later in the trip. I have to say that if I went back, I might PREFER the beachfront spot. You are right on the sand with a little porch of your own. It's a little stand-alone hut--in fact every room at the Sofitel is. We liked that part since we wanted privacy. They also have fabulous showers that open into a little terrarium so you can be outside and inside at the same time! The spa is great--don't miss out on a few treatments! I will say it's on the quieter side of Moorea, so to do excursions, we had to go to the north part of the island (near the Intercontinental) but most places pick you up and it's like 30 minutes away. The Sofitel is conveniently close to the ferry drop-off, but we rented a car anyway. We circled the island a number of times, trying some of the adorable restaurants in people's back yards. The Sofitel's food was pretty nice, but it got repetitive and expensive. It was nice to have access to other options!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My gorgeous bride and I stayed here for our Honeymoon last October. What an amazing and wonderful start to our trip. We stayed in two different rooms (having upgraded to an overwater bungalow for the last two nights) and can honestly say they are both fantastic. The facilities including the spa, bar and restaurant were all 5 stars and the spa in particular is definitely worth a visit. Through the activities coordinator we arranged to go Quad biking up to the top of the island, jet skiing out to swim the rays and also a romantic dinner for two on the beach for our final night.

Prior to going to Tahiti (and staying here) the only negative we had heard was that it’s very expensive. Indeed whilst it was, it was no more than your would expect to pay if you were staying at any other high quality location. The only difference was that you are in one of the most beautiful island locations and enjoying the friendly French Polynesian culture.

Everything was exactly what we were after, and we cannot recommend this resort enough.

Room Tip: Over Water bungalows are amazing but a bit more expensive. We stayed in a normal room for 5 nights a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Loved the views.
Loved the service.
Too much room service was a bit annoying though. Not sure why they always want in your room lol.
Amazing to snorkel off overwater bungalow- we stayed in 216. Best unobtrusive view of ocean and it's the last bungalow so total privacy!
Only negative view is the meal choices for vegetarians. I had three choices. Bad for vegan- as everything has some cheese.
Environmentally friendly as when u take ur key out of the room everything shuts off, when u open the doors Ac shuts off. I love that!!!

Room Tip: East is good for sun, but go over water here!!! Worth the money!!! I will post pictures soon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandia, Spain
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is an incredible hotel in a wonderful location. In all essential aspects this is a five star hotel - if not de luxe. We have just (sadly) left after five wonderful days. This place is hard to fault. For location, quality, food and above all service this has it all. One of the best hotels I have stayed in and one to which I would love to return asap! Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay here, where the staff quickly learned our names and welcomed us to the restaurant every day. Our over-the-water bungalow was superb, and the snorkeling right off of our private deck was quite good (Moorea has much better snorkeling than the Bora Bora lagoon, which is quite sandy with little coral). We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that we had included in our room rate, with great cooked to order egg white omelets. At dinner, the upscale restaurant they have was quite good and reasonable. For nights when they have a Polynesian show, we would recommend ordering a la carte rather than the rather expensive buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Out overwater bungalow was perfect! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room attendant even left a wine bottle opener and two wine glasses when she saw that we had purchased a bottle of French wine from a store. Our view was breathtaking as we could see the sun rise each morning. The bungalow was roomy, but the beds were not very comfortable. We stayed at an Intercontinental in Tahiti and another Sofitel in Bora Bora and the beds were all the same in all three locations. I slept fine, but some attention to the beds would be a huge improvement. The grounds were really nice and the entire resort had a good flow. Overall, I would recommend this resort location to friends/family (but NOT the Sofitel in Bora Bora).

Room Tip: Try to get a bungalow that faces east to see the sunrises. You will not be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.