We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some pluses, mostly minuses!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BEST PRICE GUARANTEE
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Some pluses, mostly minuses!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Pluses: beach and snorkelling (go to the far left of Sofitel) is fantastic, beachfront villa was great and literally on the beach - nice to sit on the verandah gazing out over the beautiful lagoon with a cocktail. Room furnished to a good standard - large bed with quality bedding. Well thought out placing of plants/shrubs made the whole villa feel private. Resort grounds are manicured and well-maintained and there are some genuine friendly staff here. The breakfast is ok, plenty of choices including good french pastries and good strong coffee. Minuses: Reception area is tired, shabby & unwelcoming. Generally service level is poor, you can be waiting a long time to speak to someone at Reception and when it's finally your turn don't be surprised if mid-conversation they ignore you to answer the phone! Receptionists appear not interested or overwhelmed and we were barked at by one of their very rude & snooty tour desk people who told us she wouldn't help us hire a scooter. Most meals were poor quality and eye-wateringly expensive! We ate at the sand-floor K restaurant one evening and this was one of the better meals we had but NZ$270 for 2 mains, 2 glasses of wine and one bottle of water was not worthy of the price. If you're happy to spend a lot for an average bottle of wine do that rather than buying by the glass I had a least three glasses of wine gone bad where they are not maintaining open bottles well or keeping open bottles too long. We were happy drinking tap water on Moorea with no problem but the restaurant makes a big deal about giving you carafes of iced tap water and instead makes it easier for you to buy $10 bottles of Evian - great conservation Sofitel all that plastic! Expect to pay 5-star prices but don't expect 5-star quality!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    513
    155
    61
    27
See reviews for
141
1,484
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

after a quite intensive tour of Japan, we ended our honeymoon in Sofitel Moorea.
The hotel is wonderful, and it has the best beach in the whole island (we rented a scooter to have a look around, so we know).
The rooms are very comfortable and clean (housekeeping comes twice a day to clean).
The food is very good and having breakfast and dinner included we really did not need to have lunch in between (to pay every night for a dinner is a bit expensive in my opinion).
All extras (beverages are never included) are not cheap, but we were not surprised.
The only regret is that the beach faces east, so the sun sets behind the mountains very early.
Otherwise it is really a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: the beach view rooms are the best rooms. If you go for garden view then ask for rooms on the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, US.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just got back from staying at the Sofitel in Moorea. We stayed there for 4 days at the Luxury Over the water bungalow. Have not been to the French Polynesian islands before and not doing our own homeowork, we listened to our travel agent and stayed at the Sofitel in Moorea. We should of gone to the Four Seasons or St Regis in Bora Bora. We used to live in Paris and have stayed at the Sofitel hotel throughout Europe (Rome, etc.) We loved Sofitel hotel but for some reasons this particular Sofitel in Moorea did not live up to our expectations. The landscaping throughtout the resort are not kept up, it looks quite run down especially near the lobby where you are checking in. (First impression is very important). I am a fitness fanatic so when I travel I always use the fitness center at the hotel. This particular hotel have no fitness center, they have a perfect view of the ocean that they can create an awsome fitness center for guests to enjoy...(but this was overlooked and did not have this accommodation.)

The pool area is small and boring not much to brag about. Basic pool with some local kids swimming in it, not very serene. There is no one working at the pool area, you wait for ten minutes to have some staff from the bar area come out to give you 2 towels. Patio furniture cushion is quite worn down. There is no wow factor at the pool area in a nice resort like this.

Food at the restaurant is very average. We have stayed at so many hotels and enjoyed the daily breakfasts. At this hotel they serve EXACTLY the same food at breakfast EVERYDAY !!!! They have these young kids doing internship at the hotel, these kids are making eggs for you.
I asked for a basic ham & cheese omelet and they told me there is no ham, only cheese. Quite strange as I expected a chef to provide a lavish breakfast buffet. There are not much selections to choose from, they give you a basket of 1 croissant, 1 small pain au chocolat, 1 small pain au raisin .... you don't have a luxury of choosing your own pastries and not much variety of anything... This is the worst hotel for breakfast selections. As a guest of the hotel, not having your own transportation you are stuck and pretty much dine in at the hotel. For dinner, you dine in the same restaurant, the lunch/dinner menu is EXACLY the same each day. There are no specials of the day to choose from. It gets to be so boring eating there day after day.... Quite disappointing in the food as we have lived in Paris and tasted real French food.

Wish I did not listen to my travel agent and should of book at the Four Seasons or St Regis in Bora Bora. If you are going to spend your money, spend it in Bora Bora at a real five star hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend the money, consider Four Seasons in Bora Bora over this one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sofitel Moorea on our honeymoon. We arrived early in the morning and the staff greeted us with leis and pineapple juice. They were very helpful in explaining the property to us. All of the staff at the resort were very accomodating and happy to help us with anything we asked.

We stayed in a superior lagoon view bungalow and loved it. Two things that stick out related to the room:1)the view of the lagoon from our private deck was great and we were able to see many different kinds of fish and crabs roaming about. very cool. 2) the shower setup in the room was the best I have seen with a glass door facing outside toward flowers and other vegatation (dont worry there is a privacy fence).

The grounds were well kept and pool area was comfortable. We also enjoyed the spa service. We were surprised that there were some little kids at the resort, but I guess this confirms that people bring their kids EVERYWHERE in the world.

The food at the K restaurant within the resort was well prepared and the tamara buffet on Thursday exceeded my expectations. I was surprised by the quality as I had read negative reviews of the food in general in French Polynesia before going there. Another note I would make is that French Polynesia is very EXPENSIVE so do your research before you go and know what you are gettin into. If you're prepared for the prices you will have the time of your life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel. The service was impecible. I am so happy we spent two days. We did a beach villa to save the over the water bungalo for Bora Bora. The beach villa was perfect! The boating and snorkling was unreal. They had the water sports right on the beach near our villa and the locals were so helpful. They sent us to a private island to boat and picnic so we did it two days in a row. It was so much fun. We spent the 4th of July at this hotel and had a blast. The landscaping was great and again, service was top notch. I loved our room. It was so romantic!

Room Tip: Go Beach Villa on this one, they do a great job and it's nice to mix it up. Do over the water in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel Moorea. We originally intended to stay 4 days and then go to Bora Bora but it was so beautiful and relaxing we spent the whole time in Moorea. We stayed in an overwater bungalow which was most definitely worth the extra cost. The bungalow allowed you to swim and snorkel straight off the balcony, also the pylons of the bungalows provide an ecosystem for the sea life meaning that beautiful, amazingly coloured fish hung around the pylons and were clearly visible from the balcony.
We tried both restaurants and were happy with the food in both. The signature restaurant is probably better value as the dishes are more interesting and the service is better for only a slightly higher price.
The only complaint we had was that the general restaurant was seriously understaffed which led to poor service at busy times.

Room Tip: Over water bungalows are well worth the extra as they allow for amazing snorkelling straight off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed in a beach bungalow. The hotel was full. The staff was very accommodating. The only reason I did not give 5 stars are little nits, the room smelled a bit moldy, a couple of plugs did not work, outside chairs were greasy. I found some trash in the reef. Picked up a pair of shorts off a piece of coral and took it back and threw them away. I do think they should hire someone to pick up the little bits of trash and "debris" that are starting to liter the coral around the overwater bungalows. But our time was wonderful! This location is the very best. The water and reef are wonderful. Nothing like it! I already miss it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
2.9 mi away
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
9.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#3 of 3 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.