We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic tropical vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Maharepa
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic tropical vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Custom Tahiti Travel booked our entire vacation and did an outstanding job. They listened to us and what we were looking for and made suggestions in line with our desires to put together a dream vacation. Their service was accuarte to every detail. In addition their travel details and advice were perfect, resulting in effortless travel and no unpleasant surprises. We highly recommend Custom Tahiti Travel to plan that perfect vacation!

Room Tip: Luxury overwater bungalow the best value. Bungalow 117-121 the best, request one of these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Bonjour "Bob G"

We are glad to read to your were so satisfied of the vacation set up by your travel agency.
We only hope that your stay at the Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort was just as good as your travel plan.

Looking forward to have you staying with us once more in one of our luxury location worldwide.

Best regards

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    802
    365
    112
    38
    18
See reviews for
89
1043
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We just came back from our honeymoon in Moorea and Bora Bora. I must say our stay was the best here. We stayed 3 nights in a garden bungalow which was private and beautiful. This hotel is on the best part of the island. The beach is just stunning. The service and food was just amazing. We really just stayed on property and took it easy. We did however rent a car one day which was super fun. The staff was super friendly and very attentative.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Bonjour "cmoc"

I wanted to take a few minutes to thank you for your reviewand to have posted your appreciation.
We are so happy when we read how satisfied our guest are.
Moorea can be a very romantic and unique destination for a newly married couple.
And to have selected us for a such trip make us feel special, and we only hope you have been feeling just as special as us.

Congratulations on your honeymoon

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you stay here you have to stay in one of those above the water bunglows. It is the perfect place to stay. They come w/ decks, chairs, platform for sunning or lounging, and your own private stairs into the water. The water is clear blue and you can see to the bottom of the blue waters and see all sorts of exotic fish. Each room has a glass panel on the floor and a spotlight so you can see the fish in the night. sometimes the water is waist high so it's fun to walk around in the water and check out all the fish. Snorkel equipment is free. Each room has an expresso coffee maker and they give you 4 pods a day so you can make your own coffee and enjoy it out on the deck. Room service comes twice a day. The breakfast at the hotel is fabulous, love the coissants and brie! Food is also good at the restaurants. Only downer: there are only 2 restaurants in the hotel; however, if you want to try other restaurants, most are willing to come pick you up for free. There also is an infinity pool at this hotel and it looks right into the ocean so that also is a great place to relax. We went in October and that's a great time to go - not crowded and weather was in the 80s. No bus service at the hotel so you do need to rent a car if you want to shop the island. One of the pearl places came and picked us up as I think most of them do.

Room Tip: Always take an "above the water bungalow". The views are spectacular from the bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour "Rosielikestotravel",

Thank you so much for your great review and feedbacks.
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay among us and that you were satisfied with the amenities offered by the facility.

Hoping to see you again in one of our hotels worldwide.

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to the Sofitel Moorea as part of my Honeymoon and my overall impression was that it was very nice but average at the same time. The beach was exceptional as well as the view of the neighborhing island of Tahiti, the clarity of the water, beautiful corals and fishes were all great. They fell short with activities, after swimming before and after lunch I often found myself looking for something to do. Besides the spa and two shops I found myself in the room watching French TV (which looked good but I didn't understand them). The staff is very friendly, the breakfast and dinner buffets were both nice but your options are limited. I did not stay in an over the water bungalow but I didn't think I was missing much because no one was swimming outside of it. Everyone went over to the main beach which we loved. I would say that it is definately worth a say but maybe for about 3 days, not much more than that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour "NDSankar"

Thank you for your comments and feedbacks.

We feel very sorry to read that you did not find more activities to enjoy during your stay.

But while sun bathing is the principal "sport" on the island, the hotel, through our Public Relation office can organize several different activities for our guests, on land or over sea : boat tour around the island, ATV tour in the island, jetski in the lagoons, scubba diving, whale and dolphins watch, safari tour ...
Our nautic center also offer several water activities such as snorkeling, ping-pong, kayak, pedal boat ...
And this just to name a few of the most popular activities suggested by the hotel.

Wishing you'll have the chance to come back to visit us and discover the many sights and exclusive activities that Moorea has to offer.

Best Regards

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in an o/w bungalow - these were the best I saw anywhere in FP as far as snorkelling straight from your deck goes, you pretty much have to push the fish out of the water to get in!
The bungalows were really nice, well decked out and what I would consider great value for a number of reasons.

1. The sofitel is big enough to have the facilities you want but small enough to feel secluded and private. We felt like we were completely away from the worlf whilst in the o/w bungalows as well as out on the deck.
2. The fish, as mentioned, crazy! we also had an eel living in the coral at the bottom of our stairs, not something we saw a lot in FP
3. The rooms were in great condition, felt new, well designed and spacious.
4. The food & drinks, a good range and well priced

We hired a car for the length of our stay to tour the island (4days/3nights) and it was worth it, the cars are a touch more than you would rent for anywhere else but that is to be expected. We visited a few other hotels to see what they were like and check out some of the touristy stuff they had, the dolphins and turtles at the intercontinental were cool to see, but the hotel was super busy and loud.
Would certainly recommend this over the intercontinental and the hilton.

Lastly, Le Spa was great, I was lucky enough to have my birthday on my honeymoon and we went to the spa to start the morning with a massage - a top notch facility.

Room Tip: Go for the overwater bungalows, the rooms are great and well spaced out from each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour "EIDarkhorse"

We are so happy when we have the chance to read such great review from our guests.
Thank you to have taken the time to post your comments and feedbacks.
To see that you completely enjoyed your stay here make us feel proud to be hotelier.

Thanks again, and congratulation on your honeymoon

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as a couple for 8 day's at this beautiful resort. We must admit that probably 8 day's is to long.
The food was good but could be better, maybe more choices with potatoes, a bit less stews . And for the salads we think they good do better, everyday the tomatoes,beetroot,carrots etc they could have done more than that . And maybe some more bread rolls or petit baquettes . Enough complains now over to the positives.
Very very very friendly staff, in the restaurant, bar, beach bar , however at the reception it really depends who you get ,and they are just not doing what you ask them to do ( if you get the wrong one) we asked if they could confirm all of our transfers but she said we don't do that ??? We said that's funny , that doesn't make me happy we will cheque tomorrow morning, we were back early in the morning and suddenly everything was arranged, by a very friendly lady at the same reception therefor it really depends who you get!
Overall the stay was very pleasant we had a great time , nice and relaxing a beautiful lagoon bungalow, very well setup so certainly a place where we want to go back to, thanks everybody who made this a memorable trip which we will never forget.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour "Ger D"

Thank you for your great feedbacks, such complete and detailled review is the best way for us to improve our service and therefore to improve on guest expectations.

It is true the hotel offer a diner buffet everynight at the main restaurant "Pure", and after several day, the perception of the buffet can be disappointing.
We also offer different alternative to the buffet : the hotel as also a second restaurant "K" with a la carte fine dining on the beach; restaurant "Pure" has a complete a la carte service as well as the "Vue" bar. We also suggest a couple of very special diner such as "Over Lagoon" and "Feet in the water" for more exclusive, private and romantic evening.

Hoping to have the chance to host you again in one of our property worldwide.

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Absolutely incredible, Couldn't have had a better evening, you will not be disappointed!! It is definitely worth the extra money to have an overwater bungalow! We had room 115, and it was perfect! Thank you so much Sofitel!

Room Tip: Room 115, 117, or 119 would be my recommendation for a unforgettable experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier D, General Manager at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour "Jake3377"

Thank you so very much for such expressive and great comment as the one you have posted about your stay among us.
We are so happy to see that you have the greatest stay.

Looking forward to have you again in one of our worldwide address

Best regards from Moorea

Olivier De Ronseray
General Manager
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
Quiet, Beach, P...
Show More
2.9 mi away
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
3.6 mi away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#3 of 3 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
8.1 mi away
Hotel Les Tipaniers
Hotel Les Tipaniers
#8 of 13 in Moorea
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Haapiti
3.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
5.4 mi away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is settled on the edge of a magnificent lagoon, with views over the island of Tahiti. The resort, renovated in the late 2000's, features 114 luxurious bungalows built over the water, on the beachfront or surrounded by landscapedgardens. Facilities include two excellent restaurants, a bar, a fabulous outdoor swimming pool and day spa. Moorea has one of the worlds most beautiful beaches and a variety of motorized and non-motorized water activities can be arranged for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.