We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 3410, Tamae, Maharepa 98713, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

What a great place! Best location on the island - supermarket, bank, restaurants, rental car hire (directly across the road) etc. all within 5 minutes' walk. The staff were friendly and helpful (we arrived before the official check-in and only waited about 10 minutes before our room was ready). We stayed in a Premium Beach Bungalow - really nice. Weather was fantastic. I guess we were just lucky all round! We dropped by the InterContinental and Hilton and were so pleased we had chosen the Moorea Pearl - more relaxed atmosphere, the pool area was nicer, better location and just a more pleasant feel.

Great restaurant across the road - the Mania Grill. Open seven nights (dinner only). Very reasonable, lovely food and it's where the locals eat so that's about the best endorsement you can get. Down the road is the Moz Café which is only open until 2 pm I think it was - they offer free internet. Again, good quality food and very reasonable.

We'd been told how expensive Tahiti is. Well, yes the accommodation is expensive but we didn't find the food all that pricey - mind you, coming from New Zealand we're used to paying megabucks for food (and to think we produce it .... but that's another looooong story). I'd definitely opt for having breakfast included - sets you up for the day and the daily price is ridiculously high. That way you can pick and choose what and where you have lunch and dinner.

I wanted to buy a Tahitian pearl and we tried the pearl shop in the hotel first. Very nice, helpful lady served us. Because of Trip Advisor reviews we made our way to Eva's. Again, really helpful service but I didn't find what I wanted and headed back to "Have a Nice Pearl" at the Moorea Pearl and purchased a necklace (designed by the owner) and earrings. It's amazing how many people have commented on my purchases. Obviously a good choice!

Anyway, if you want to stay somewhere very relaxing and really nice, I'd definitely opt for the Moorea Pearl Resort. I'm sure my friends and I will get back there some day!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    364
    95
    40
    20
See reviews for
163
765
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in September 2013 for 4 nights, with Moorea the first stop on our honeymoon before going to Bora Bora. We chose to stay in a Garden Pool Bungalow, as advised by our travel agent, that the Moorea Pearl Overwater Bungalows weren't the best on the Island, and we instead booked an overwater bungalow in Bora Bora. However, our stay in the Garden Pool Bungalow was very enjoyable.

Arrival: We arrived early in the morning as per our flight schedule, and we were asked to be seated while they prepared our bungalow for us. They gave us some nicely scented cloths, and a refreshing drink while we waited. It took about 1 hour before our room was ready, so by that time we were very tired, but they were pretty fast preparing our bungalow considering we arrived much earlier than check in time. The lobby is very pretty, I enjoyed the open concept. Staff were very approachable.

Bungalow: The bungalow was delightful. A very nice spacious room, it really felt like Island living! Our garden was very nice with some sun chairs, and a tiny pool - it's more for dipping your feet in than anything else! Our room was cleaned daily, and they seemed to refresh our room every evening too.

Food: The choice of food was buffet, with 2 nights being A La Carte. My husband and I were very happy with the choices, and the desserts were delicious! The breakfast each morning was also very nice, and the servers couldn't do enough for us. We did end up buying lunch one of the days, but we found it expensive, so we ended up either eating outside the hotel during lunch, or we bought food in a local store instead.
We also had some delicious cocktails at the bar, expensive, but actually worth it! We aren't huge drinking people, so the bar didn't bother us much.

General activity: We were able to kayak which was nice, the pool is OK, I found it a bit dirty. We used some sun loungers during the day, but we were mostly exploring so didn't sit too much by the pool. We also had a couples back massage, which was AMAZING!!

In general this is a nice place, though we probably wouldn't go back and stay there again. I give 4 stars, because it was a pleasant stay, but they need to improve the grounds more, and update the pool. Given the amount it costs to stay here, it would be worth maintaining it better. Also, the cost of Wi-Fi was too high - but hey, we are on our honeymoon and shouldn't need to worry about going online anyway I guess!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in March 2014 and would certainly return. Staff were very nice and the breakfast was great. I stayed in a Garden Pool Bungalow which I'd really recommend, they were really private (more-so than the overwater ones looked). All over a great stay!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a pool bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived at 9 am at the hotel because of our flight schedule. We are aware that the check-in time is 2:00 pm. When we checked in we were told that we will be informed once the room is ready. Around eleven AM, some people who came after us were brought in to their rooms. I asked front desk again and was told that they are preparing our room. At 1:00 pm I checked again at the reception desk and was told rudely that check in is at 2:00 pm. A few minutes after two we checked at the reception desk again and they all acted surprised that we had not been checked in to our room yet. Finally we were brought to our room which happens to be right beside the public beach. It was a week-end so it is noisy and we can't get rest. There is also no privacy because people can see you in your balcony. We called front desk to ask if we can change room and was told that the manager will come in at 6 pm. Around 6:30 pm we were able to contact the manager but all he can offer us is a DOWNGRADE to a garden bungalow. I booked and paid for an over water premium bungalow so it would be foolish to downgrade. Luckily we have activities most of the days so we don't have to stay in our room because it is noisy and has no privacy. When we were planning the trip I wanted to book a room at Sofitel but my travel agent convinced me to stay at Moorea Pearl. She will hear from me about this and I will consider changing travel agency. If you are going to Moorea better get your over water bungalow room at Sofitel or Hilton. Moorea Pearl is beside a public beach , so if you get a room on the left side of the property you will have to deal with the noise and lack of privacy. The beaches in Moorea are amazing but Moorea Pearl has one of the poorest location.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel or if you have to stay here do not accept rooms 401 and 402, they are right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Moorea Pearl prior to our cruise in a premium over-water bungalo. It was our first experience over-water, and we are glad we did it. We loved being out on the water and the snorkeling was good right off our deck. The rooms were very nice. The water wasn't as good as other spots on Moorea, and the beach is undersized with the view being blocked by the over-water bungalos that are a bit more obtrusive than some other resorts on Tahiti. The pool was pretty nice. We got breakfast included for our room and this worked out great for us. With a large breakfast, we waited until afternoon to eat lunch each day and then snacked late evening to keep our costs down. We ate off-site for these meals, but there were not a lot of options within walking distance with the exception of the Moorea Beach Cafe, which was excellent if a little expensive. There is a small grocery along the way as well that you can use to get some food/drink - go right out of the resort for both of these as well as a couple of other options.

Room Tip: With the resort facing north, you can watch sunrise and sunset, but depending on your room, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Having been to Moorea several times I wanted to share the whole experience of not only a fun tropical vacation but also introduce them to Tahitian culture. The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa didn't disappoint. The staff was beyond courteous and helpful with a ver special thank to Dani our tour planner and now friend for life. She went above and beyond to make sure my entire family of 8 were happy, comfortable and enjoyed every minute. We had the Over water premium bungalows and I would get these again in a minute. But if your on a budget the garden bungalows are exceptionally nice as well. I really don't have a negative thing to say. Alain the GM was always onsite and friendly, the rest of the staff treated us like family and the food was great. This is a must go on any Tahitian holiday.

Room Tip: Over Water Bungalows room 407 through 410 are the ones to grab. Spectacular sunsets and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was the second hotel we stayed at in Moorea (first was the Hilton.) I was surprised that the lagoon was so green here - not the crystal waters we hoped for, BUT, the snorkeling was better than at the Hilton, the pool was much nicer, and the overall layout/vibe more inviting. The bathrooms weren't nearly as modern/nice as our first hotel, but the room itself was more spacious. Food and drinks were not very good here (same as Hilton), but the location is better, because you can walk to the market (great for nabbing some fresh French bread and cheese, as well as a coconut you can hack into and drink from the shell). Also, from here, you can easily walk to the Moorea Beach Café (highly recommend) and Rudy's (didn't get a chance to try.) Lastly, it's closer to the ferry back to Tahiti, which is convenient.

Out of a package deal, we chose The Pearl over the Intercontinental because The Intercontinental has captive dolphins, which I find terribly sad.

Overall, although I'd say the Hilton lagoon was better for that crystal-water-of-your-dreams, I'd probably choose The Pearl for a second trip, due to it's location and snorkeling.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa

Address: BP 3410, Tamae, Maharepa 98713, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Maharepa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa nestles on the island shore, just by the village of Maharepa in an ideal location, between the majestic Cook’s Bay and the Gulf of Moorea. It’s very convenient, at just 10 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from the ferry terminal, and with boutiques, restaurants and a small shopping center close at hand. The style of the resort is a tasteful combination of the traditional and the contemporary with a powerful sense of Polynesia. There are 28 over-water bungalows built over the lagoon on piles, 8 more bungalows on the beach and 28 spread through the beautiful grounds with their own private pools and little gardens. The remaining 22 rooms and 8 duplexes of this 94-unit resort are in a small building. Whichever accommodation you choose, you will have air-conditioned comfort (the bungalows also have ceiling fans), an outside terrace, mini-bar, hairdryer, safe, flat-screen television and DVD player, I-pod dock and WiFi. From your hotel base we will be happy to arrange a full range of exciting excursions and activities and of course you can relax at the resort where you’ll enjoy one of the largest infinity pools of the island. Each bungalow has a sunny outside terrace with comfortable loungers. From the over-water ones, there is direct access to the lagoon. The premium over-water bungalows are especially well situated, close to the coral reef ledge so you can immediately swim off and discover a fascinating world of colored fish and exotic corals. Near the over-water bungalows, we have developed our own coral nursery- To’A Nui - a coral regeneration project and part of our commitment to protecting the fragile environment that surrounds us. This site encourages the proliferation of marine life whose beauty is so easily enjoyed with simple snorkeling equipment. You will find a luxurious and convivial resort on a human scale, offering a warm welcome to honeymooners,romantic couples, families, nature lovers and scuba-divers. We have two restaurants - The Mahanai - and the acclaimed gourmet restaurant - The Matiehani. The Autera’a is a perfect terrace bar for sipping your favorite beverage. Other facilities include a bar, two meeting rooms, a boutique and a full range of activities and excursions both on land and on the water. We also have a dive center, a Polynesian tattoo facility and a spa. The Manea Spa specializes in massages and treatments using traditional Polynesian methods and 100% natural products from the island’s flowers and plants, including the famous monoi oils from the coconut palm. Thespa has a hammam, Jacuzzi and the «Rumi Ãvai» where you can discover the pleasures of our unique aquatic massages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorea Pearl Resort And Spa
Moorea Pearl Hotel Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Maharepa
Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa French Polynesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorea Pearl Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.