We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rudy's, it's just where everyone goes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's

Rudy's
PK 6,9 coastal road | Maharepa, Maharepa, French Polynesia
+689 40565800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Maharepa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Rancho Mirage, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rudy's, it's just where everyone goes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It's good and it's fun. The food is very good, no a/c and it rained like hell the night we went. Don't wear shoes! The whole island is flip-flop only.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    171
    44
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nanuet ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from Moorea. Had a special meal at Rudy's. Picked up on time - very friendly greeting - helpful with menu selection- all we ate was great - presentation and taste just what we expected. Parrot fish special,. prawns , mussel appetizer all excellent. Portions large. Would go again . Prices no more than would spend in Manhatten.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A lot of hype - for nothing :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I am unclear why this place gets such good reviews. They picked us up from our hotel - late. The service was really bad - basically had one guy running around like crazy and it took forever to get the check and ride back to the hotel. With all of that the food was just so-so and not worth the expense. They were the most expensive of the places we went to on Moorea.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooreaIsland, Propriétaire at Rudy's, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

You know we don't care either about any "hype": we're sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible French food with authentic island influences is our passion: we have many choices on our menu, with different prices, often cheaper than in any hotel restaurant.

For the service, it may be one of those nights when your employee is sick or has problems and can not come to work, and tell you at the last minute. Then we have to do what we possibly can for our guests already in the restaurant. We're just humans.

If you come back to our restaurant, I would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me. We hope to see you again one day in the future and wish you the very best.

Rudy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

FANTASTIC meal - very heavy French influence; super fresh seafood; wonderful flavors. Best tuna tartare I've ever had! Loved the pick-up and drop-off service too!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great steaks and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Small, comfortable restaurant with two main specialties: Parrot fish and steak. I got to try both and both were fantastic. Wine list small, but adequate. The service was excellent and all the staff was friendly. One of the best features of this restaurant and many of the restaurants on Moorea is that they picked us up and drove us back to our hotel for FREE! Overall, a great dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's also viewed

Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Rudy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.