We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza, Good Service, Reasonable Prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Luciano's

Chez Luciano's
Maharepa, French Polynesia
561520
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 8 restaurants in Maharepa
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, Good Service, Reasonable Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Our first night on Moorea, we did not want to eat at our hotel (The Hilton...which is a great hotel!) but also wanted something very casual. We talked to the lady at the front desk who said that since we had a car, she recommended we go to Lucianos....casual dining, good food. She and her children eat there. She did warn us that he is a bit odd, but has great food. The only part that was odd was the owners signature loud Meow of a cat...funny if you expect it!

Upon arrival we were greated by a small location (five or six tables) and a staff who primarially speaks French and a French menu. (Not a problem....we don't speak French, but with a little looking, you can figure the menu out!)

My wife can not eat cheese, so we said "san Fromagge" and he happily repeated back "no cheese" The pizzas were great, the deserts were yummy, and this casual location met all our needs. We would not have hesitated to go back...just never had the time. Actually, I would like to have a pizza from there right now.

Cash only...make sure you have XPF.

The staff was very friendly, asked several times if the food was good....and it was! The waitress even tried to help me figure out how to turn off the crazy dashboard lights on our rental car!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    15
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome cat pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Owner is a hilarious strange guy who kept telling us (in french) that La Chat is on the pizza and saying 'meeeeooooowwww' very loudly. The moorea pizza we ordered was fantastic, favorite food item we ate on the trip. Great think crust with tasty fresh pineapple and ham.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best value in Moorea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We ate here three times while in Moorea. I guess that says something!

The food here was always well prepared, tasty and in generous portions. I ordered the steak au poivre with french fries and nearly made myself sick because I couldn't stop myself from finishing the steak and almost all of the fries. Be careful. It's good, and it only costs $15.... The owner is usually behind the counter ready to take your order. He was extremely nice and accomodating. He caught up with us once down the road after I left my camera in the restaurant. He also gave us a ride to the hotel when he found out we were going to walk back with the food.This place is a 12 minute walk down the road from the Moorea Pearl (don't be scared of the dark), but they will deliver to the lobby for an extra 200 XPF.

There are only two drawbacks to this place: they speak almost no English so know what you want and bone up on your French and although they have fish options on the menu they didn't have them 2 out of the 3 nights we ordered from there.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Mad Cat with Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Luciano runs an informal yet great Pizzeria. All food is cooked as you watch, is served by one of the members of his family and accompanied by his cat screech that has become his trade mark.

Locals pile in for their takeaways as you sit at one of the 6 tables inside. The food is good, the prices incredible with offers on drinks and larger orders. All the desserts are home made and IF you have room after the enormous Pizzas well worth tasting.

I ended up going back again and again to eat here!

Informal, local and good, what more do you need.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“try the grilled tuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

great fish!! had the grilled tuna - it was unlike anything ive had before!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Luciano's also viewed

 
Maharepa, Moorea
Moorea, Society Islands
 

Been to Chez Luciano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Luciano's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.