We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place - best in area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Almendros De San Lorenzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Los Almendros De San Lorenzo to your Saves list
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Calle Poniente no. 2-B | Contigo a la PNC, Suchitoto, El Salvador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Suchitoto
New York, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“lovely place - best in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

This is really a great hotel. We stayed in the two level suite which was huge and spotless with nice jacuzzi bathtub. Only downside was the pool was being retiled which we were there, however management made arrangements to use at nearby pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    16
    4
    0
    5
See reviews for
29
84
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I had my wedding in Suchitoto and Los Almendros hosted our dinner and received me and my family with open arms. The food was very traditional El Salvadorian, it was beautifully presented and Delicious. The Rooms were very rustic and gave you a feeling of going back into history without missing any of your modern necessities. They were very clean and very comfortable, spacious and the service was perfect!!! The Owners, Joaquin, Pascal and Lorenzo were always available to help if anything came up with the wedding and made sure that our stay was stress free and relaxing with no room to be bored, with all the beautiful things to see in this little town of Suchitoto. You can hang out by the beautiful pool or enjoy some drinks in the court yard under the lemon tree and there are tons of tours all around to satisfy that hunger for adventure. We will be returning as often as we can to come and enjoy the beautiful weather and people who make this such a unique treasure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, a little gem in el Salvador we had a water feature in our room! Our very own lion fountain! Great location. Huge rooms and great facilities and lots of beautiful public places to chill out.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Los Almendros (The valley of the Almond Trees) hotel for five days in February 2012 as we visited our daughter and her husband who live in Suchitoto. The hotel has 11 rooms and is located in Suchitoto about two hours NE of San Salvador. As we traveled the local area and were asked where we were staying – locals and business people would refer to the Los Almendros as one of the best hotels in Central America and while we haven’t traveled broadly enough to make that comparison, we certainly can see how that could be true.

The hotel is beautiful, clean, well maintained and a comfortable place with a European flavor in the setting of early colonial and historical Suchitoto. The hotel is a remodeled and expanded hacienda. Our room was as large as any two hotel rooms in other locations. The pool was refreshing and the air conditioning worked well when needed.

The staff was great. They were polite and attentive to detail. The service was excellent and the food was good at every meal – we enjoyed our meals in a central patio though there was also an enclosed dining room.

A bonus for us was that the owners are often on site and offered advice on local art and activities. And then there was Lorenzo … a particularly cute little dog who was friendly but knew his place so was not a bother but would allow for some playful interaction.

Cost was reasonable and appropriate and we would highly recommend this very nice home away form home while you are traveling. It is central to anything you would want to do while visiting Suchitoto and worth the drive if you are anywhere nearby on vacation or business.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here as part of a small tour group (6 people) and loved the location and incredible restoration of this former hacienda. The staff and owners were very friendly and helpful and I loved staying in a smaller hotel with an engaging home with lots of artwork and delicious food. It was next door to the tourist police office. There are two courtyards with a pool in the more open of the two courtyards. There is a view of the lake and mango and avocado trees around the property.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying in Los Almendros' newest creation, "El Nido" ("The Nest"). El Nido is a separate free-standing house located one block (more like two blocks walking distance) behind the main hotel, with an incredible view of the Lake. El Nido also has its own private small plunge pool. The house has a nice sitting room and bedroom which enjoys the same great view, which as others have noted, the hotel itself lacks.

We greatly enjoyed the privacy afforded by El Nido, while also having the opportunity to dine at and otherwise enjoy the hotel. We also appreciated the fact that, despite arriving around 10 AM on our first day without prior notice, the staff was very accomodating in allowing us to check in early.

My only notes of caution regarding El Nido would be that it is located on a separate residential street from the hotel that may not necessarily be easy for older guests to navigate, especially at night. There is also some local street noise that may be less noticeable in the main hotel, but this was not a major concern.

We also loved the hotel, including the wonderful food in the restaurant, and the incredibly attentive staff.

All in all, this was a great stay, and we hope to return to Suchitoto and El Nido very soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This little gem is wonderful. The beautiful courtyard, nicely decorated outside hallways with comfortable chairs, refreshing pool, great food, kind and friendly staff all add up to a wonderful place to stay.

The staff are so friendly and helpful, especially June. She is a fountain of information and a great ambassador for Suchitito.

If this hotel had the lake view, like La Posada de Suchitlan, it would be in a category all to itself. But still, it is a feast for the eye and the soul.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Almendros De San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Almendros De San Lorenzo

Address: 4 Calle Poniente no. 2-B | Contigo a la PNC, Suchitoto, El Salvador
Location: El Salvador > Cuscatlan Department > Suchitoto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Suchitoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Los Almendros De San Lorenzo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique hotel in a 200 years old colonial house entirely restored and exquisitely decorated by its French owner. 6 rooms and suites very comfortable with A/C and big bathrooms, a French restaurant with A/C in the tops of El Salvador, bar, big pool in a beautiful tropical garden. Suchitoto is a gem in El Salvador: the only colonial city totally preserved overlooking the biggest lake of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Los Almendros De San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros De San Lorenzo Hotel Suchitoto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Almendros De San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.