We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the idyllic place to watch the sunset, bring mosquito repellant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fatnis Island (Fantasy Island)

Fatnis Island (Fantasy Island)
Birket Siwa, Siwa, Egypt
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Siwa
Type: Islands, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Covered in lush palm trees with a secluded freshwater pool in its center, this island is a popular spot for swimming and sunbathing.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“the idyllic place to watch the sunset, bring mosquito repellant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

we were stunned by how beautiful fatnis island is! hidden behind a "forrest" of palm trees, the island is revealed to you in the most beautiful way. it's stunning.

a makeshift cafe is set up with chairs to serve drinks as you watch the sunset. but get there early enough to catch the views during daylight. the lake is salty and worth a nice dip.

just be careful with the mosquitos. we took a donkey cart ride back, and in the 15 min ride back to the center of town, i literally got stung 27 times! through clothing, even my bathing suit! each sting hurt like hell, and the bites were about the size of 1 LE coins!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st augustine, fl
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“This was a secret dream in 1987....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Now it's commercialized a bit, but why not? Omran, the owner, has become one of my best friends in Siwa over the years and he, like others, has a family to feed. In the old days there was no paved road/bus parking and I caught a ride with Omran and his father on their donkey cart. His father played music in the British Army in WWII, and remembered some of the tunes which he would humm for me. Magic!

My secret....Go skinny dipping at 2AM in the morning with your girlfriend/wife, when nobody is around to bother you. It's a long walk in the dark, but worth it.

Omran has many brothers and maybe he can arrange for a special family visit during Eid, or a trip to the salt quarry where they harvest salt, or you can film him making a 'gumar'.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fatnas Island of Siwa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a magic lake if you will be there at its sunset. all the trip to it is unbelievable as if you are still in the ancient time. It begins from the centre of Siwa, getting a cart with a lovely little doneky. the cart may take more than 4 persons at one time driving for at least 2 hours. you will enjoy this driving so muchmuch. I call it siwa's Mercedes. Believe me it is better than the most fabulous Mercedes. It is Dubbed "Fantasy Island," it is a popular outing on the shimmering salt lake of Birket Siwa. The lush island is an ideal picnic spot and best visited at sunset when the colors of the distant hills are most striking. There's a deep, circular spring-fed pool of cool water for swimming, and a small kiosk in the grove that offers tea and soft drinks as well as dates; sweet dates;. the owner also fires up a grill when there are enough people around. the people are so nice and be happy to see you there.Let;s us go together.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful yet Commercialised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Fatnas Island is the perfect place to watch the sunset, which means that it is always packed with tourists.

A few years back the water was drained from the llake surrounding it, and yet nnow I was pleased to see that it had been restored to the way I first remember it being.

Unfortunately the people there seemed less interested in absorbing the peace and tranquility of the place, instead shouting and screaming at one another; so it was a lot less enjoyable and serene than it should have been.

The backdrop of the dunes against the lake, and palm trees on the shore makes it the perfect place for photography, but honestly - there are plenty of other less-crowded places to get those sunset shots of Siwa.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant and Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Brilliant and peaceful. We rode bikes out to the Fatnis Island. When we arrived we were the only people there and it was very tranquil. We sat in the chairs on the waters edge and enjoyed the peace and quiet and observed our surroundings. Worth the ride as it is very scenic along the way. You are bound to pass a few donkey carts loaded with dates and happy locals.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatnis Island (Fantasy Island) also viewed

Siwa, Matrouh Governorate
Siwa, Matrouh Governorate
 
Siwa, Matrouh Governorate
 

Been to Fatnis Island (Fantasy Island)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fatnis Island (Fantasy Island), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.