We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nabq Bay | Nabq Bay Sharm El Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 57, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Holiday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not long returned from this hotel and I will most definitely NOT be returning!! A cheap bed and breakfast in Blackpool has better qualities than this place. Staff were rude. Food was rubbish and cold!! The drinks were in small little cups which is basically one swig and all the mixers are warm and they never have ice. And the Russians are extremely rude! If your British and want a good holiday stay away from the amwaj!!!!

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    344
    170
    83
    96
See reviews for
249
368
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

after a poor start to the holiday where the hotel had no record of our booking we eventually got a room which was lovely and roomy.
the staff were mostly friendly but a few very sour faced and no matter what was said they didn't seem to want to smle!!
the food and drinks were basic and mainly aimed towards Russian tastes....
the waterpark was 3 slides that were on for 90 mins in morning and 60 mins in afternoon.
yes it was very clean but wouldn't go again due to being English!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having been to the Amwaj a number of times before, we were neither surprised by nor disappointed by what we found.

The Hotel Manager has some great plans for the future and these will only enhance what is already available. There is a renovation programme in hand and I am sure that this will be carried out with the minimum of fuss of disturbance to the guests. The hotel is in a great location, massive beach, good dining facilities and good rooms. The gardens are kept immaculate and all the staff are brilliant.

Egypt is renowned for its hospitality and the staff all believe that you are their personal guest. Other reviewers have complained about location, food and staff. Not too sure why really. Treat the staff as you would expect to be treated and you will have no problems. Nabq has a faIr amount of shops restaurants and the ubiquitous "english pubs". Unlike some hotels around Sharm where there is nothing, take a walk outside the resort up and down the strip - its safe and can be quite entertaining.

Please bear in mind that the catering is for all nationalities - if you are looking for a full english breakfast or pie and mash - don't go!. From our perspective we have used all the facilities and have always found something to eat regardless of the time or location. The main restaurant does get busy at the start but this does quieten down as the evening developes and the catering staff are always freshening the dishes.

Whilst it would be easy to compliment some staff more than others, the list would be enormous so I will leave it as a big thank you to everyone involved in making our holiday a great one.

Needless to say, we are fans of the Amwaj and will be returning in October for what we know will be another great time.

Room Tip: Make the effort to get out of the resort and go to Naama Bay and Old Market. Use the hotel cars - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We found the Amwaj good value for money. Staff were on the whole very,very good. Hamed in the main restaurant was the nicest man you will ever meet and the Amwaj should recognise this,he is extremely hard working and always had a smile for everyone,a credit to the Hotel. Abo the Executive Chef was also a lovely friendly man who despite his heavy work schedule always had time for a chat and even arranged to cook us a special meal one evening,it was delicious,again a credit to the Hotel. Our room was in block 1 overlooking the pool,the ampitheatre was to the side of us but the noise did not bother us,infact we were able to stand at our door and watch the shows! No real entertainment to speak of in the evening so if your looking to party every night this may not be the hotel for you, it suited us as we were up and about early in the morning and a couple of quiet drinks before bed. We ate in all the restaurants apart from the fish. The main restaurant was a bit of a circus at times,the Russians and Eastern EU people act as if they haven't been fed for weeks so you will quickly learn to get your elbows out and fight to get to the serving spoon first,lol. The food was plentiful if you didn't go in at opening times (give the boys time to replace the food trays after initial Russian rush) there is always a variety of meat and fish dishes,plenty of vegs and salad,rice,soup etc. The bread and rolls are fantastic. Lots of cakes and desserts and of course drinks. No need for anyone to say they are hungry!! You book the other restaurants on the the morning that you want to eat you evening meal,you do not need to book breakfast in the Terrace Bar,calmer atmosphere,visually nicer but not as big a spread. Rooms are big,bathroom a bit tired but how long do you spend in the bathroom? Beds and towels changed daily,free water,coffee etc daily. Safe and fridge and free very effective aircon,whats not to like? Rooms and wristband can be extended on last day for a small fee,Thank you Claire for helping us with this. Free WiFi in various locations around the Hotel,pool and BEACH! My daughter just kept trying,lol. We will be returning to this hotel in the future because our holiday was FAB.

Room Tip: BLOCK 1 sunshine from morning til late afternoon,pool view,close to main reception building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I dont normaly wright reviews but felt this trip deserved a mention as we had a great time. Upon arrival we were greeted with a friendly smile and promptly booked in and shown to our room. We decided to upgrade to sea view room and this was a very good choice as view was fantastic. We enjoyed the different food options that were on offer and made good use of the bar facilities. My 2 sons had a great time and enjoyed the activities that were were put on and a big thank you to all the staff there, especially in the bars and the animation team. Alfie was very funny and always made my 2 sons feel involved in the days activities for the youngsters.
A very pleasent trip and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amwajoyoun, General Manager at Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Brian ,

Greetings from Amwaj to you and your Family and thank you for taking the time to write your review
and expressing your experience during your stay with us .

We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable and that the children have enjoyed it , however we are developing the hotel, rooms renovation started and we have development plan for the beach and other facilities of the hotel .
We look forward to your next trip to Sharm and stay at Amwaj .

Thank you again and kind regards

Sincerely

Hisham Nammari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I chose this as a last minute deal, so were not sure of what to expect. However, the location was fantastic , right on the beach with a pier going out to the coral reef for excellent snorkelling- we upgraded to a spacious superior room with sea view and balcony, which was lovely. On the first two days, fresh bath towels were placed on the bed, one beautifully fashioned as a swan, the next day as hearts with a flower in the middle. Unfortunately, things went slightly downhill from there in that we had to ask for clean towels and the in-room coffee and creamer ran out and we had to ask for replacements. Otherwise service was excellent.
There were a lot of people at the hotel but because everything was so spacious it did not feel crowded and there were always plenty of sunbeds with umbrella right on the sandy beach. You need to wear some sort of shoe to walk in the sea as the sand has sharp stones.

Food was plentiful and fresh. The specialist restaurants were excellent. We twice had fresh lobster in the Fisherman's restaurant at a modest surcharge. We established that the water was all bottled mineral water and the ice was also made from this. We suffered no tummy upsets during our week's stay.
The complimentary house wine - from a bag!- was awful so we paid extra for some excellent Egyptian wine. The Omar Khayam red ($9/bottle) was similar to a sangiovese and the Grand Marquise white ($10/bottle) was very similar to an oaky New World Chardonnay. The only other criticism was that the Atrium and Pool bars were often short of ice - sometimes none at all- so gin and tonics, etc were often disappointing as a result. I'm not a beer drinker but the local draft Sakari beer was good.

The Amwaj Oyoun restaurant is best avoided where possible (Terrace restaurant serves a civilised breakfast) because although the food is good the buffet style can mean long queues and difficulty in getting a table. it is also noisy.However, I disagree with the comment about Russians queue barging. There were many of them there but I witnessed no queue barging.You can book the Italian, Terrace or Fisherman's restaurants in the morning for dinner which is well worth doing.

We pre-booked a taxi with the hotel to be met at the airport and to take us there on departure at £15 each way, which worked very well.

We would certainly go back

Room Tip: Pay extra for a seaview superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amwajoyoun, General Manager at Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear David ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to put your review and express your experience at Amwaj and we are pleased that the overall experience and expectations were very satisfactory.
I am was concerned that the room attendant did not refill properly the coffee tray with sufficient amenities and surely I will look into this and brief the Housekeeper regarding this .

We will develop the main restaurant Oyoun and mainly the Buffet layout to reduce to the minimum the pressure from guests crowed beside the buffets .

Thank you again for the review and for choosing Amwaj again for your next vacation ,

Best regards

Sincerely

Hisham Nammari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the other restaurants are good, beach restaurant great for lunch. Pool restaurant Good BBQ
And nice atmosphere, Italian had a good selection and freshly cooked pasta. The terrace restaurant was good for breakfast as only European customers were allowed in. Evening meal good but have to order your food at least a day ahead.

Room Tip: 1st floor are a bit more private Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort

Address: Nabq Bay | Nabq Bay Sharm El Sheikh, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 57, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 465
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amwaj Resort & SPA – is a 5 star luxurious Hotel & Resort, located on a sprawling 400 meters long private sandy beach that is, offering comfortable accommodation and leisure facilities with fascinating rooms and suites, all boasting magnificent sea views. Our Resort features a selection of fine Restaurants and Bars, Swimming Pools, Beach, Shopping arcade, and well equipped Health Club & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay
Amwaj Oyoun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amwaj Oyoun Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.