We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Save Saved
You added Sharm Grand Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh,Nabq, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 hotels in Nabq Bay
sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first time to this hotel... there was 6 of us including a 4 year old and a 8 month old...

The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are very spacious.. we requested a cot and when it arrived a bar was missing so rung to get it changed but nobody came so i ended up having to tie a sheet around to stop her from getting out (the next day after another complaint) it got changed

The room had 2 very large beds which were comfy, bath and shower, mini fridge, no tea / coffee facilities though which didnt really bother us as we dont drink it and a tv which a relatively good amount of english channels....

The pools were lovely and clean and there were enough beds to go around... I think they could do with having beds around the lazy river as nobody uses it because of this...
When my mum came back in November they had chicken and chips throughout the day and when we came back they apparently can only get it from 3pm now and the chef doesnt like giving you more than 3 chicken wings (but we founf people paying him at dinner time and getting a plate full of chicken wings) which is wrong!

The bands
When we arrived we had silver bands for english but towards the end of our holiday they had changed everybody to red which i dont think helps! The bands were good as you knew who was who and the staff knew which language you spoke... As i saw down on the jetty the lifeguard was finding difficult trying to keep everyone in line not knowing what language they speak... and there were some idiots out that day!

Resturaunt
The upstairs resturaunt is no were near as nice as downstairs, upstairs in the morning you have birds flying in and sitting on the food and cutelry and the staff refuse to put two tables together if there is more than 4 of you.. downstairs is much more relaxed the staff are fantastic and the food is much better.. Figoo the waiter is fantastic that blokes runs around all night making sure everybody has a drink, fresh cutelry and whatever else you need, and is fantastic with the kids (he brought us a highchair everyday for little one) he seems to do 10x more than anyone in there

We had a couple of problems such as our air con breaking 4 times (4days) while we were there and having to complain many times and them coming to (fix it) numerous times in the end it finally got fixed.

The animanation team were great, apart from the one who ran up and down screaming in your ear trying to get you to clap etc all night lol, ryan well hes just ryan lol, fab bloke... the entertainment was good, bet than some places

Last year the resturaunt down by the beach you used to get an invite and get a lovely meal but now they have turned it into an Italian resturaunt which were not allowed in :( which is a big shame

Nuts bar is great - british only bar, which at 11pm (when the all inclusive stops) the lights go down and the disco starts...

Overall there is a few improvments this hotel could make but i enjoyed it and will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear katalia6117

We would like to thank you for choosing the hotel for your last stay in Sharm El Sheikh. It is a great pleasure for our side to know that hotel facilities, services, and staff manners could meet your expectations and could make a memorable stay for you.
We will be more than glad to welcome you again in the hotel and will do our best always to exceed your expectations. Kindly do not hesitate to contact us for any further enquiry or future requests: info@sharmgrandplaza.net

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,225
    779
    370
    134
    93
See reviews for
841
1022
48
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is our 3rd time back to the Sharm Grand Plaza Resort and we will go back AGAIN. As with our previous reviews about other great resorts in Egypt this resort is also EXCELLENT Value For Money. You really cannot fault the wonderfully friendly staff, service, entertainment, facilities, rooms or food etc for the price !!!! A Big Thank You to all, with a Special Thanks to the Resort Manager (I unfortunately cannot recall his name) who was extremely helpful in resolving an issue quickly and efficiently for us. Also Ryan and Lucy who were great fun and battled to get us to join in with the days activities. Even succeeding one afternoon with the archery !!! Well done guys !!! The food here is very good and even has theme nights !! Also the salads are even better than they were last time we came. Great range and choice for my healthy eating partner. As in previous reviews for other resorts, you still have to tolerate the 'Standard Russians' here but as they are in the main not the spoiled very young ones this is not too bad excluding the usual manic rush to get the food asap before famine strikes the planet or the serving spoon before it has landed on the drip plate !!? but once you accept they (probably not all, as possibly the polite ones just blend in like the rest of normal civilisation) appear to know no better then your holiday won't be spoilt. We will definitely come back here once again!!! Cheers and Thank You to ALL at Grand Plaza. Mike p.s. not sure we agree that the wrist bands should be the same colour for all nations now as this does not help the staff in the first few days to realise we are the friendly British and not the Russians. Especially seeing the Italians still get there own colour band. p.p.s. more Egyptian desserts would be appreciated please as we only had them on the one night and we LOVE these deserts much better than the usual nightly standard desserts which look good but are nowhere near as tasty. These last 2 comments are just very minor things though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear MJCManchesterUK

First let us thank you for choosing the hotel for your last stay in Sharm El Sheikh and for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.

It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one. We are glad also to know that our services and staff were up to your expectations.

It is our aim at Sharm Grand Plaza is to have the highest standard of service in order to exceed our guest expectations.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at your home away from home!

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We had read all the reviews on this hotel and decided that we'd choose it because we got a good deal!

When we got to the airport it was all very efficient, someone from our transfer company was waiting, got us through visa and then took us to the bus. We were three and had a bus to ourselves to the hotel. When we got there the reception staff was lovely, they gave us red wristbands (apparently for Russians but in the end almost everyone had red) and took our suitcases to lead us to the room.

The room was great, considering we were only allowed the "cheapest" option, we had a lovely pool and sea view and two double beds. Only drawback was the fridge which was in no working order, and the safe which wouldn't work. We had a suitcase with locks though so we left the money and passports in there. We got a free water bottle every day and used it for tooth brushing.

Staff were always friendly and polite, giving us an extra chair or getting us drinks while we got food. Unfortunately the food was not exactly to my liking and I've had digestive problems but my two friends were relatively fine.

The animation team was really great especially Al Pacino who was always in a good mood and Luca who was always smiling. Also Ryan who can shake it like no other!! We did Aquagym and dancing at the pool and loved the oriental and fire show.

We had a Cleopatra programme at the SPA which was really nice, and we went on a snorkelling/diving trip organised by our tour rep via youtravel. That was the best thing we did, the staff on the boat were so amazing and the food was nice and we saw so many beautiful fish and my friends did their diving intro.

Do not go to the Cleopark aqua park though, it's empty and they only have five slides which are old and scrapy, I ruined my bathing suit and hurt my legs quite a few times, also the included lunch was only an uncooked beef burger. My friends did horse riding in the desert and that was apparently great, but do bring hats as they don't give any!

Yes some of the reps on the beach and at the pool are very annoying always asking you if you want to do something, but just deal with it! Tell them you've got it all booked and that's it.

I'd recommend it as it was nice. But if you get bitten by mosquitoes generally do take some repellent as they're quite nasty (especially at the beach and in the evening).

Room Tip: Tiran block is the best. We were in 1126 and had a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Lololollipop

We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one and we are glad to know that our services and staff manners were up to your expectations.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations always

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Easy check in max 10 min
Nice pools,
Food needs upgrade, would not recommend for all inclusive,
Mini fridge was not working replace after a number time complaining to the reception.
Avoid hotel taxi they charge they charge 2 times as much,bedroom/bathroom was clean on a daily basis nice and big room with a hair dryer. But no tea/ coffee in rooms Ac rooms wonderful. Staff at the resturant where very helpful and very polite over all the staff where in the hotel complex willing to go that extra mile for you. Nice beech clean. Plenty of sun lounger around no need to wake up a hr early.i love my food too be spice, the food at the hotel is too bland for my taste buds.there is plenty of fast food outlet a 2 minute taxi journey for 15 Egyptian pound to mac"d or kfc or Chinese or the local food

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear immy73

Firstly we would like to thank you for your time to post your feedback regarding your stay in the hotel. Your positive comments makes us more than happy that you find our hospitality satisfying and our services could make a memorable stay for you.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in our sunny resort and we promise to make our best again to exceed your expectations.

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

just came back from Egypt :((( hotel was great, 5*****, there was lovely beach, few swimming pools, very good food, big rooms with nice bathrooms, every morning had a flowers on my bed, close to our room was bar and best barman ever Wael, we were jokking, he advised us where to go, what to see, top man, managment very helpfull and friendly, they helped us when we got stuck on balcony (lol), im sure i ll be back to this hotel, great location, close to the airport, and people working there making this hotel on the top of my list!! i had a best holiday ever..
Parisssss x

Room Tip: try to get a room starts from 1000-5000, because 6000 is far away from the swimming pools, restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Parisssss2013

On behalf of the entire Sharm Grand Plaza management and staff we would like to thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read your comments and more than happy to understand that our team members did well to make your vacation a memorable one, we do appreciate your kind recommendation for our hotel
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our sunny resort

Thank You
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hi i dont often write reviews but felt i could add some points that reflect this hotel for good and not so good points. Returned after 10 days at this hotel on the 10th may13 GOOD POINTS
realy nice hotel and the gardens are bueatyful but NOT 5 star although i was not expecting a real 5 star at the price we paid although its listed as 5 star (please read all recent reviews)
the rivera resturant has a waiter called ibrahim they all work for tips we tiped every other day about £4 and he was so attentive before our drinks ran out there would be another placed on the table for us this included every siting breakfast lunch and dinner the same table was kept for us the drinks were wating when we arrived cant praise him enough a big thank you to him sorry if the names not spelt right
pools are great and the entertainment staff were great especially lucy,ryan, and alpachino ?service was good at the bars, again if you tip they will look after you the reception staff were also plesant and most of the tryed to help bell boys took our cases to our room whic was nice not to have to carry them (tips again) they also collected them promptly when we left. the safety deposit box is free. go to soho square no hassel great place local bars and shops not up to much
not so good points pool food always chips fish salad thats it apart from cake
our room 1039 tiran block net curtain had a squashed fly in it looked like it had been there for a long while and the nets were dirty we decide to leave it there to see if it had just been missed by the cleaner NO it was still there when we left we had to phone reception for towels and toilet paper where they had not been left, curtains dont meet in the middle this room was a so called delux sea view delux it was not , chiped wash basin dirty mirrors floor ect. the beach is just broken sharp coral not sand and you cant walk into the sea awful you will need beach shoes
the food was only warm most of the time and after 3 days allways looked the same boring the area where it was served is far too small to cope with the ammount of people that were there, god knows what it will be like when it gets busy only one chip fryer in the resturant the cheff only cooked 4 small portions of chips at one time and then cooked chicken in the same fryer by the time the chicken was ready the chips were all gone or only warm waited 10 min and the cycle started again what a farse NO childrens food like nuggets ect could go on but no more space

Room Tip: tiran block is realy close to the pools if you want a sea view ask for a top floor as the bottom fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear tony p
First, we would like to thank you for choosing the hotel for your last stay in Sharm El Sheikh. We regret that during your stay you did not report us of any of the problems you had in order to make sure that you leave the hotel satisfied. We do apologize for any inconvenience happened during the stay and assure you of our action. We are running a ken-fix-it program all over the hotel rooms and make like a snap shot maintenance for each room in order to have it qualified for our guest check- in. Also we have a hygiene team whom make sure every day and every meal of the buffet items temperature plus internal and outside certified audits.
We like to thank you again and hope to welcome you soon shall you give Sharm Grand Plaza Resort a second chance.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Overall stay was good animation team were good but very repetitive only really there to entertain Russian and Italian felt quite left out to be honest. People who do the excursions such as diving or sokar safari were always approaching you everyday especially moze from sokar safari give me some space for gods sake felt like I couldn't relax for sure this aspect of the holiday has put me off coming to this place all together. Wish I had a big sign saying Do Not Disturb all they want is for u to buy buy buy I mean if I want to do an excursion I can approach them myself!!!!. Al Pacino, Luca, and Dali were brilliant so funny and considerate. I found Lucy and Ryan quite reserved and distant could have made more of an effort seemed a bit fake at times. (Mohammed said) at reception very nice man and caring also our cleaner was very good not impressed that I found cockroaches on resort and in my room deffo not 5 star jus about 3 if that.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Gangst

We like to thank you for your time conveying your comments about your last stay in Sharm Grand Plaza. We regret that you did not use the D.N.D sign which is available at each towel kiosk and hanged above a sign explaining how it is used. All sales people at the hotel know that sign and they must respect guest privacy as part of our contract policy with them.
Rest assure that we briefed the sales people again to stress on that value and we like to confirm to you , that we take all your comments and advices into our action plan with immediate follow-up.

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Address: P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh,Nabq, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharm Grand Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.