We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sharm Grand Plaza

Save Saved
You added Sharm Grand Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sharm Grand Plaza
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh,Nabq, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 hotels in Nabq Bay
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Group of 6 of us (4 adults and 2 boys 11/12) enjoyed an excellent holiday on this large complex. There was a great deal to do on the complex and the holiday was great value. We had no problems with the food despite earlier reviews but we were sensible - there is a restaurant near the beach where wild birds repeatedly would occupy the food areas so we avoided it.

There are plenty of shops and bars just outside of the hotel if you get bored many with free wifi. Union Jack 300 yards away has very good food and disco/karaoke regularly. It is fair to say the hotel entertainment is amusing (not necessarily when they intended it) but fairly typical for overseas complexes.

In terms of trips, there are plenty of people offering them on the complex but all are polite and do not hard sell. Do not believe the hype from Reps that trips must be booked by them - they tend to be more expensive and you get less on the trip! I would HIGHLY recommend MARCO from SOKAR SAFARI. He was true to his word, gave a great deal and we had a superb trip on the Quad Bikes in the dessert.

The staff were excellent and were especially good with the boys.

Overall this was an excellent value holiday which doesn't warrant the earlier negative comments. We were there for 12 days from 23 Oct - 4 Nov 12.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Kev_Pinder
We would like to thank you for choosing the hotel for your last stay in Sharm El Sheikh. It is a great pleasure for our side to know that hotel facilities, services, and staff manners could meet your expectations and could make a memorable stay for you and your family
We will be more than glad to welcome you again in the hotel and will our best always to exceed your expectations. Kindly do not hesitate to contact us for any further enquiry or future requests.

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,228
    781
    371
    134
    93
See reviews for
843
1023
48
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was amazing value for money. After we booked I looked how much it cost per day after taking off the flight costs, and was nervous when I saw how little it actually was. When we got there we couldn’t believe how nice it was. The complex is clean, friendly, with five pools, and plenty bars! There is entertainment every evening, which is good some nights. The beer and gin are particularly nice, and the wine served in the restaurant was fine.

Our room was clean and very large, with two double beds, a huge bathroom and good sized balcony with gorgeous views of the sea (we were in the Tiran block)

The food was fine. I sometimes struggled slightly at the evenings being vegetarian, but there was always enough. Breakfasts were really good though, with fresh omelettes, pastries, pancakes plus lots more. We visited both the Italian and the seafood restaurant on the beach. Both were lovely, although the wine was very expensive.

Overall exceptional value for money for a lovely break in the sun in November.

Room Tip: Tiran block had best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Jane M M
First let us thank you for choosing the hotel for your last stay in Sharm El Sheikh and for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort.
It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one we are glad to know that our services and staff manners were up to your expectations.
The aim at Sharm Grand Plaza is to have the highest standard of service to exceed guest expectation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at your home away from home !

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just returned from the Grand Plaza, after a great holiday in the sun. Hotel is in beautiful setting with we'll maintained grounds and public areas. The bedrooms were not as good; adequate in terms of cleanliness and state of repair - they certainly didn't match up with the rest of the hotel. How much time do you actually spend in your room anyway??
Food is adequate, but not great. You would never go hungry as there is always plenty choice and we always found something to eat.

Snacks at snack time? Absolute disgrace in my opinion. Hamburger that look as if they have been run over by a steam roller, fries that tasted awful and were usually cold, and chicken wings burnt in some kind of batter after being deep fried. This is available twice a day, every day! This could be improved.

The hotel is predominantly full of Russian guests. On the whole, they were rude, arrogant, ignorant, aggressive, greedy and superior. I couldn't actually believe how they were. They are so horrid to the hardworking staff in the hotel! I am not racist in any way. There were a lot of Italians as well, and they seemed pleasant.

Staff can't do enough for you. They are wonderfully patient and accommodating, they were what made this hotel special. I have to warn you, however, to be careful if you book into the spa or hairdresser. Check the price agreed and the price they ask for; we had an awful experience although the money was paid back. Just be careful that's all.

We did get a bit fed up of being disturbed when at beach or around pool by staff from diving, spa, animation etc. a 'no thanks' was enough to send them on the way but it did get a bit annoying.

We ate at the Italian restaurant and unfortunately were left feeling disappointed; this is at extra cost.

We would return to the Grand Plaza.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear johnjammac

It is a great pleasure for our side to know that hotel facilities, services, and employee manners could meet your expectations and could make a memorable stay for you.
We will be more than glad to welcome you again in the hotel and will do our best always to exceed your expectations. Kindly do not hesitate to contact us for any further enquiry or future requests.
Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Really amazing complex. Stayed there for Christmas 2011. The gala Christmas Eve dinner was fabulous.
The food in general though was fairly average. Plenty to eat and local drinks strong and good quality.
Staff extremely helpful even in the face of bad mannered and drunk Russians.
The hotel, because of its size needs to hand out a site map on check in!
The Spa well equipped and the prices not over the top compared to all inclusives elsewhere. Try the aromatherapy massage, Noor was fantastic!
Plenty to see and do. A must is the Skygazing trip into the desert at night at a Bedouin camp. I'd gladly pay £35 again for that!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear TFStBees
We would like to thank you for sharing your positive feedback of your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. It is our pleasure to know that your stay with us had been a pleasant one and we are glad to know that our services and staff manners were up to your expectations.
Hotel map is available at the front desk and we do apologize if you did not get it at the arrival.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you again at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations always.

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Family of four with a 10 and 6 year old stayed for a week. We all agreed that this was the best holiday we've been on. So much so that we're going back in March. The staff are great and looked after us for the whole stay. Make sure you book an excursion with Marco at Sokar Safari. We did the safari on a sand buggy with a bedouin dinner and it was simply amazing. The guide who Marco promised would look after us was great and we were more than happy to give a generous tip. Chelsea from Animation made the holiday for our kids and was more than happy to look after them for a couple of hours whilst we went scuba diving. Can't wait to go back. Just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Fabian K
We would like to thank you for your time conveying your best experience and for choosing Sharm Grand Plaza Resort for your last stay in Sharm El Sheikh. Your review here and your comments are real asset for the hotel and for the staff mentioned.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you at the hotel and will do our best to exceed your expectations.
Kindly find our contact email for any future requests or enquiry:
info@sharmgrandplaza.net

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Flight:
Easyjet : To: budget no frills..friendly staff
Fro: miscommunication to Sharm airport of no catering resulted in frenzied purchase of really bad sandwitch's for posh London price! recommend pay extra and pack from resort!

Transfers: Cheapest and most reliable : Sharm-club, Khalid, Luca and Amar..awesome service!

Resort: Facade excellent, interiors ; 2 double beds in one room for a couple; good sea view on third floor; tired fittings in bathroom; bath curtain too short resulting in water leakage; housekeeping forgetting to replace bath gel/floor mats.

Staff : Managers : Naader/Osama and all reception : excellent friendly service; gave us a free extended stay on last day until 3pm!

Food: Abysmal! Food hall stinks of meat; looks like aubergine/ravioli/four cheese pasta..but tastes bland and yucky!; pancakes are floury; all puddings even if they look different all taste the same ..like cardboard!!; The Russians railroad you to food with no courtesy to wait! Though we were pleasantly surprised at the extravagant food put out for us for the Christmas dinner!! It was visually stunning and tasted just amazing! Makes one wonder if they can cook food so well, why is it the everyday buffet is so awful?????

Massage: Average with poor face massage passing off as facial.

Beach: lovely corals; Animation team is most annoying overly hyped up! They have free reign of beach; keep the music so loud all day, so much so that one can't hear the waves!!! sometimes the speaker is left outside with music blaring without no supervision. They also run around shouting loudly ' aerobic time' without consideration to people who are snoozing enjoying the sun! No one to supervise them or manage them! The Italians then take over the beach front with their loud conversations; the italian reps go around the beach rounding up kids very loudly with no consideration for others!; They have their own aerobic time with loud music blaring out despite having a teatro right next door and the rep infact arrogantly told me ' I am sure you have paid more than us Italians for this holiday!' Very rude and cocky and loud!!!

Diving: Easy Divers, Mohammed, Olga, Tatiana, Ahmed and Slava were just awesome! Saama was probably distracted by the pretty women on board the boat! Would definitely recommend them for best rates for diving. Their website is eazydivers.com.

Sharm el Sheikh Airport: Everything that is sold in this airport, coffee, sandwitches, pizzas, tea is so expensive, it almost seems like the last squeeze on the poor tourist!! Do not buy anything in this airport!!

Room Tip: Third floor; 4327/26
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear IntrepidWalker

We would like to thank you for your time to post your experience in a comprehensive way. We appreciate your time conveying your comments and we will be looking forward always to welcoming you in the future and will do our best always to exceed your expectations.

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Arrived at Sharm after an 5 hour plane journey from Manchester. Plane was half full. I am guessing due to the news about Cairo. Sharm is 2 hours ahead of UK time. The airport is 20 mins drive from the hotel. We used an coach transfer which took 2 hours. Upon arrival our luggage was taken to our room by the Bell Captain.

The room was on first floor overlooking Ninos bar and pool. Very nice but can get a little noisy at night until the bar closes. The room was a nice size with 2 double beds. Bathroom was as expected after reading previous reviews. The room has tv, safe, aircon. All of which was included in our inclusive package. A free bottle of water was in our room every day. The room was cleaned, towels changed and beds made every day.

We took egyptian pounds and English pounds with us. We paid for trips at hotel in English and used Egyptian while out. 10 Egytian = £1 English. I received all my currency in nominations of 200 Egyptian each. Very hard to get 200 bills broken down and unless you want to tip £20 every time, you need to get the 200 bills broken down.

Outside the resort gates there are several shops on the opposite side of road. We walked this once but never again. We were hassled by the shop keepers all the way down to the Hyper market. I wouldn't recommend women walking along here alone. Hyper market is a 15 minute walk to the right. Walk another 15 mins and you will find TGI Friday, Burger King, Rock Cafe etc.

We got tips off the rep for getting taxis and it worked. We went outside and waited for a Blue and White taxi to hoot us. I told him i would pay 50 Egyptian to Soho square but he said 70. I said no and walked off and he came back and said ok. We even arranged for him to pick us up for the same price later on, which he did. Beware the driving is an eye opener!

Breakfast at the Sharm Grand Plaza is 07:00- 10:00 and has a vast variety of breakfasts all buffet style. Lunch is 13:00-15:00 and dinner 18:30-22:00. Unfortunately for me, i am a fussy eater and i struggled to find anything i liked during lunch and dinner, so i had large breakfasts every day. Xmas dinner was the worst for me, everything was laid out lovely and looked nice, unfortunately there was little i liked and what i had eaten made me ill the next day (still suffering now back home).

Nuts bar was good. All English from 07:00-23:00 then the disco starts from 23:00-03:00 and all the Russians come in and the Brits go, although i stayed and enjoyed it.

The grounds are laid out lovely and the complex huge. Everywhere is spotless. There is a path leading along the beach and adjoining every hotel. As you reach each hotel, there will be a security guard who sometimes check your wrist bands but mainly leave you alone but you can freely walk along the path admiring each hotels facilities. We tried to use the pier on another resort but were politely asked to leave by security. Even the grand plaza asked us twice if we were from their hotel before we could go onto the pier. The beach is lovely. All the sun loungers, umbrellas and wind breaks are free. Do not enter the water without aqua shoes or you risk coral cuts. The air temperature was about 31 and very sunny but at night got quite cold (jumper recommended). It is constantly windy in Sharm. Do not walk into the water more than about a foot or the whistle is blown by the hotel staff. This is so you don't damage the rest of the coral. Beware we saw sea snakes by the shoreline too. There are lion fish and stone fish too. So footwear recommended. You can swim off the end of the pier and snorkel or dive. The dive centre is next to the pier.

The facilities are good at the hotel. There is a 24 hour free gym as well. But the spa is extra. There are reps selling just about everything on the beach.

We booked all our excursions with the hotel rep but beware this is more expensive than buying excursions from sellers outside the resort. We were only there for 8 days over xmas and needed to get our trips booked fast so booked with rep immediately. The camel ride and stargazing was very good. The Dolphin swim was £100 per person and was excellent. Dolphin show was £10 each and very good. Boat trip on Nautilis was £130 for both and was disappointing. The luxor trip was £185 each and starts at 04:00 and ends at 22:00 but was amazing and you must do this trip which is by plane only.

Tips:
Don't bother with underwater camera if you are not intending to swim with fish. I took an 300mm lens and zoomed right down on fish from pier and got lots of colourful fantastic close up shots.
Take lots of small notes on all trips. e.g. the camel ride/star gazing we already paid for but upon arriving in the desert you are asked if you want to buy an head scarf for 4 egyptian, then once off the camel you are each expected to give the boy holding your camel 10 egyptian, then at the camp there is jewellry to buy, then on the bus back you can buy an dvd of your whole experience for 250 egyptian plus photos at 25 egyptian each, then the tour guide requires a tip, then the coach driver requires a tip. Go on a trip to Luxor and buying and tipping goes on for the whole trip every time the coach stops.

We had a great trip packed holiday at the grand plaza. The guests were mainly Russian but we witnessed no problems and as the staff seem to dislike the Russian guests, the Brits seem to get very good service from all staff members. All the staff will rally around for you and get what ever you require. They really made our holiday special. We will be back as soon as we can, even though i struggle with the food.

Room Tip: Block 1 is by the sea, select first or second floor for best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the m, General Manager at Sharm Grand Plaza, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Stewart186356
Firstly thank you for sharing your positive feedback on your stay at Sharm Grand Plaza Resort. It is our pleasure to know that you and your family spent a nice holiday; also we are glad to know that all our services and staff here were up to your expectations
We have a big target to maintain the highest standard of service to meet all guest expectations
we will be looking forward to welcoming you again in the resort

Ashraf Yehia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sharm Grand Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Grand Plaza

Address: P.O.Box 340 Sharm El-Sheikh,Nabq, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sharm Grand Plaza 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly laid on the shores of the Red Sea, with private 300 meters long sandy beach, own stunning Coral reef, 90 meters away walk on the hotel own jetty, The Sharm Grand Plaza reflects peacfulness, tranquility and comfort.The one and only resort in Sharm featuring a 2 double queen size bed in all rooms "160 cm wide", Our aim is for you to relax and enjoy the wide range facilities of pools, entertainment and Dinning experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sharm Grand Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Grand Plaza Hotel Nabq Bay
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Plaza Resort
Sharm Grand Plaza Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sharm Grand Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.