We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Time - We love It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh to your Saves list
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3rd Time - We love It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Just returned from the Royal Albatros and had a fabulous holiday. Our third visit and this hotel just gets better and better.

Arrival - we were checked in by friendly reception staff and swiftly shown to our delightful room. Wow, we were lucky to stay in one of the newly built rooms. Huge bedrooms, plasma t.v, well stocked fridge, walk in shower, personal safe. Regular courtesy calls during stay from reception staff to check all was well.

Changes - since last year, fab childrens pool with slides and fountains, new furniture in hotel, parasols, sunbeds and jetty has been extended. Jetty is exclusive to the hotel, others have to pay. Snorkelling off the jetty is amazing.

Beach Bar - is good for lunch. Pizza, pasta, chips, freshly made sandwiches. It's waiter service, and you don't wait long. Staff work really hard.

Main Dinning - area is much extended with themed nights and a huge choice of dishes. There really is something for everyone. Although they very rarely serve chips, well after all you are in Egypt, not Benidorm. Yes, I agree, the food stations are spread out, but can you imagine the chaos if they weren't. Such a big hotel with so many people, need i say more!!!

Pools - spent our time between the active and relaxation pool. The active pool is much more lively and you do get hassled for massages and trips, but a polite 'no' is all that's required. The relaxation pool was nice for a quiet relaxing day. The staff at both pools looked after us with much needed drinks.

Bars - We spent many evenings in the Lounge Bar relaxing with good friends we made. A big thankyou to SALAH, HANY and MOHAMED for looking after us. We shared fun times with them and our drinks were never empty. SALAH would always greet us with a smile and a hand shake and amazingly remembered our names.

Hotel is spotless, kept this way by the hard working cleaners.
We found most staff very polite and professional.

Few Tips : Weather is very hot, so take lots of high factor and aftersun. We nearly ran out. Also we took very little Egyptian currency as they prefer sterling.
If you've booked for the Royal Albatros 'ENJOY'

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,167
    1,723
    633
    219
    139
See reviews for
2,514
2,620
92
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,807)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, North Wales
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

My friend Sue and I have stayed at this hotel three times in the last 8 months October 2008, February 2009 and April 2009 so obviously we will be returning in the near future, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else and on our second visit there wasn't one member of staff who didn't recognise and welcome us back. The staff are the friendliest and the most hard working people we have ever met especially Hany, Sharkey and Mohamed in the lobby bar, these men are fantastic, especially Hany who is an expert bar manager make yourself known to him and you will be looked after I am sure, all of his staff never stop working from 9am until midnight, often much later, they never complain and are always smiling. Nothing is ever too much trouble, I suffered with a bad throat on my last holiday and couldn't speak for three days Hany went to the pharmacy and bought some throat lozengers with his own money for me and constantly made me Anise tea, how many bar staff would do that? The staff in this bar made our holiday. Hany, Sharky and all of the other bar managers are lovely hard working people and always happy. The only bad point to this hotel which we have both agreed on is the manager Medhat Ahmed who constantly shouts at and upsets these hard working men, it spoiled our holiday because they don't deserve the constant nastiness that they have to endure from this man, they never stop working, never sit down and on many occasions we had to witness the staff being shouted at for no reason but to keep them in their place. Not good for the customers to witness I would say and this should be addressed as soon as possible. We don't want to come on holiday to listen to somebody constantly telling staff off especially when it is not warranted. It was a shame we had to witness this on many occasions. On a more positive note the hotel is one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in and is fantasic value for money. Our room on the top floor was beautiful with everything we could wish for, spacious, clean and a lovely view of the pool. The food was excellent, plenty of choice and a different menu daily, a fantastic range of dishes and plenty of vegetables and fresh salads. The beach bar menu could do with a bit more variety but the food on offer was very nice. It was also nice to see that the ice - cream was included in the all inclusive. However if you are a Gin and Tonic lover the tonic is not included in the all inclusive this should also be addressed. The entertainment in the hotel was not fantastic but we were at the hotel for relaxation not entertainment. We had no problem at all getting sun loungers on the beach or by the pool. The pools on the beach side of the hotel need to be heated then it would be perfect. We would highly recommend this hotel for it's service, the staff,(especially in the lobby bar), the food and it's high standard of cleanliness. It now has a fantastic new children's pool and also a children's club so the hotel is suitable for families with small children. The location is about 20 minutes from Namma Bay and 15 minutes from the old market, a must to visit at night if only once!! Don't let other peoples bad, unwarranted comments put you off going to this hotel it is a fantastic place and you will enjoy every moment of the time you are there.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Its always interesting reading the reviews of somewhere you've stayed, in the end it's all about the persons own experiences, their expectations, and opinions. We have been to Egypt many times, and lots of times in the red sea area.
So here goes!
We stayed there from the 13th to 27th June 2009.
Reception staff/Check in:- we arrived at 1am. The reception staff we dealt with were miserable and basically unhelpful. I didn't want to be up at 1 am either. We were just handed our key card envelope, towel cards etc and left to it, this place is massive with over 400 rooms! In the end another member of front staff said they'd show us and some other new arrivals where to go.
Lounge bar staff:- Awful, miserable, rarely smiled, probably because I had never tipped them, if they had given good service they would have received a tip as did numerous staff that had given us good service.Only good point was the beer was cold at the lounge bar.
Relaxation pool bar and staff:- excellent! 'Bob' was fantastic, always happy and making sure we were looked after. We spent all our pool time at that pool. On the last afternoon our son fell and hurt his leg and couldn't walk. Bob brought some ice for him, when that didn't work Bob and another bar member carried him upstairs to the masseurs who worked their magic on him and at least got him walking. The young lad doing the towels was also very good, searching high and low to get us 3 beds. On our last day he was very helpful with the towel situation and checking out.
Sun beds:- A problem, people were putting towels down at some obscene early hour of the morning, the hotel didn't really seem bothered and didn't want to intervene. I know this goes on all over the world, but it's annoying just the same and for a hotel that's classed as 5 star it's not good enough. With regards to being hassled into buying massges, restaurant meals etc, we only got asked once if we wanted to eat in the sefood or italian restaurant. We said no to both and were never asked again.
Food:- Plenty of it! Lots of choice, 3 main AI restaurants plus outdoor cooking areas. You could spend ages walking from one to the other building your 'perfect' meal. Meat was a bit chewy at times, not unusual for Egypt.
Room:- We had a lovely room (840), big, massive comfortable bed, but, they are carrying out a lot of building works adding a floor to the 700/800 block. This was above our room! One particular morning we were woken at 6.30am aware of noises on the roof then at 7am the banging started, and went on past sunset. We complained and moved room(720), no fuss. Although it took them 3 goes to get a fridge that worked.
Beach/sea:- Not good really, sea at beach is like a shallow lagoon leading to a coral wall drop off which can be reached by the very long jetty. There is quite a bit of life in he shallows, moray eels! etc. May not be to everyones taste.
Beach bar/restaurant:- Quite good for lunch, getting a drink was hit and miss unless you went and got it yourself. Only one particular waiter ever asked us if we wanted a drink, yes, he got tipped!
Evening entertainment:- Ranged from very funny when the animation tean did their stuff to typical egyptian/oriental dance shows.
Checking out:- Not acceptable. A five star hotel should at least have a dedicated indoor shower/change area where guests who have checked out can change in comfort and dignity, not just tell you to use the outdoor poolside showers and change cabins! A good point is that you are allowed to use all of the hotels facilities, meals, drinks etc even after you check out at 12 right up until when you leave, we didn't leave until 10.15pm and had a nice evening in the reception/lounge enjoying a drink (which we went and got ourselves as the service was poor,see above) right up until our taxi arrived.
All in all we enjoyed our stay, and would return, however, if they continue to add rooms there'll come a point where the hotel won't be able to cope, the restaurants will gridlock, the it won't be so appealing.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Just return for the second time at this hotel and I must say all expectations were meet. The staff at this hotel are both friendly and cannot do enough for you and for me the all inclusive is second to none.
The hotel is spotless and it appears to run like a well oiled machine there are staff everywhere to ensure that you are ok and happy.
If you have a problem then they will sort it, food choice is incredable, but I would suggest you really need to walk around as there are numerous dishs happening in different parts of the
resturants
Just remember that if you want burger and chips every night then no you will not get it THIS IS A FIVE STAR AFTER ALL
Yes considering all the amenities food etc I would award this a five star
This hotel caters well for families howerever be warned its hot at the moment and hence take that high factor
I WILL BE RETURNING FAB GREAT HOLIDAY Mr Mrs Roberts room 1476

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

After mixed reviews on here was a little concerned. When we got to the hotel it looked great, friendly staff on reception, got in late and straight to our rooms and to bed (12am).

Got up next morning and had a good look around, hotel was spotlessly clean, 3 massive pools, heated pool, relaxation pool, and large pool including kids area with fun slides etc.
Plenty of sunbeds, (although everyone tries to reserve them and puts towels on! really annoyed me as the hotel policy is not to reserve sunbeds, i kindly folded them and moved them off beds at 8am when i went down).
Then down to the beach, to find the friendliest staff in the world! Beach bar contained two of the friendliest staff i have ever met, Sharky and Eddie Murphy! they were fantastic with my 4 year old Keiran, and where so helpful, bar served drink all day till midnight, and although the singer who was on there was pretty awful! it was a great atmosphere day and night!! next to the bar is the beach, with a huge jetty exclusive to the hotel (others have to pay) snorkeling is great off this jetty.
Breakfast was a little disappointing as no bacon or decent sausage! however there was a fresh omlette chef, and freshly backed coisannts.
Dinner was either beach bar for sandwiches, pasta or pizza.
Evening meal was a huge array of various foods, and 2 alacarte restaurants which were nice although not included in all inclusive.

The entertainment at night was great, the anamation team was fantastic, Atom, Atem, Rachel and Natalia where fantastic really friendly, Rachel in the kids club was out of this world so good with my little one, and the others where great too, really friendly and always looking to keep the guests happy.

The budget for the entertainment could have been more, and the management need to look at this in order for the hotel to improve, but the anamation team did a fantastic job with a limited budget.

The drink was ok, with local spirits and beer although this finished at 12am which was too early.

Weather was fantastic 100 degrees every day but a nice breeze from the beach due to the location of the hotel.

Booked some fantastic excursions with sharm excursions (google them), quad biking, camels, and diving, as well as transfers to and from the airport.

We really enjoyed our holiday and will definately going back, i am writing this at 4am as i have just got back and cannot sleep!!

Thankyou to all the staff especially the anamation team and the staff at the beach bar for making this a holiday to remember that ranks as the best so far!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

This was our first holiday together and I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed it. We're a couple in their 20's and the hotel catered for our needs.

I've had numerous holidays, all inclusive resorts before, cruises, party resorts and this hotel was just as good , if not better than any other hotels I've stayed at. Our brochure claimed 4* and I have no idea where people keep claiming it's a 5*! I would say it's easily a low grade 4*.

Upon arriving, it was nice to be greeted with frozen towels and smiles. Might have been slightly chaotic but there were 50 of us who arrived on our bus alone! Didn't take long at all to get our room and the hotel staff take your luggage up to your room for you. (They also collect it when you leave.)

Our room was lovely, huge, plenty of storage and a great walk in shower. The only down side - we had no balcony. There are about 8 rooms in the whole hotel without balconies and we were 1! We did ask Ahmed on reception and he asked us (politely) to come back on the Friday to see if there were any free rooms. To be honest, by the Friday, I had unpacked and as we were only staying a week, couldn't be bothered to repack! Some people are saying that the reception staff weren't great. Be polite and friendly and I assure you you will get help! We used the same guy every time we had a question and he was very helpful!

So, the food... I personally didn't have a problem with it. There was always lots of choice. If you're an awkward eater - DON'T go AI. If you've gone on holiday for burger and chips, go to Spain and eat in English bars! We didn't eat at the beach bar for lunch (to be honest, forgot all about it until the last day!) but I heard good things about it. It was more sandwiches and lighter meals. In an evening, look around and see what's on offer. If you feel like spoiling yourself - go to the Tuscani restaurant. The food was lovely and it was nice to be served rather than pushed around.

The hotel was very clean and wherever we looked, there was someone painting the walls, obviously getting it ready for the summer season.

Ok, so the alcohol wasn't great. It's the same as most AI resorts to be honest, week beer and cheap spirits. I didn't taste the wine so can't comment. You get 2 FREE bottles of water a day. I've never known that in AI before so was happy. Although the first day, we didn't get any. A quick chat with Ahmed and we weren't forgotten again :-)

We did get talked into a full 3 hour spa treatment. Worth every penny though! It cost us 1500 egyptian pounds. We're not too great at haggling so you might get it cheaper!

The pool's were good and clean. The big pool does have a deep part - you just have to find it. The relaxation pool seemed to have better service, as in the bar staff get your drinks for you but to be honest, we were trying to drink water during the day.

Few tips for you....
Anywhere in Egypt quite happily takes english and american currencies. I was a bit peeved off when we tried to buy a visa at the airport (and pay for extra leg room seats on the way back) and they don't take their own currency! If I was you, I would take a mix. I paid for some things on my credit card and think I've been ripped off! Be careful with that.
Naama bay - literally is Blackpool with lights. Worth it to say you've been but the hotel offers a shuttle bus. We paid 80 egyptian pounds for a return for the both of us. Naama Bay is very chaotic and everyone wants you to go in their shop's. Some might ask you just to sign their books... DON'T! They just want you in their shops so they can intimidate you in to buying something.
Both Steve and I became ill whilst there. We had a curry in Naama bay and later that night were ill. I'm not sure if it was the curry, dehydration or maybe a few drops of their water that made us poorly. If you need to go to the pharmacy (as immodium isn't recommended) then try not to use the hotel 1. I made that mistake. There's some shops (where the burger king is) that is about a 30 min walk (or get a taxi) the pharmacy there is a lot cheaper. About 50p for the tablet where as I paid over a tenner!

If you do want to do trips, we did ours through our holiday company. It might have cost us a bit more but we really enjoyed our quad bikes where as some friends we made over there did theirs from a beach hut and said the bloke organising it wasn't very polite.

Others have commented on the men being a bit pervy. I didn't witness it myself but to be honest - I wore a beach dress or something to cover myself up before walking around the hotel. Remember - you're in a muslim country! Be sensible!

So, would we go back to the hotel? Yes, we would but we have no intentions of returning to Egypt. We've seen what we wanted to see, the world's a big place but we would recommend it!

Have a great holiday :-)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Having visited decent hotels in the Red Sea resorts of El Gouna and Hurghada over the last couple of years, I have been generally been impressed by the service that myself and my family have received ..... once you get past the habitual, almost cultural staring, inappropriate gawping and comments the staff feel they need to do and make towards women.

However having just this morning returned from a week's stay at this hotel, I can only describe the service we received from the majority of the staff as woefully short of what I've expected, and on a different scale to I expect from an alleged 5* hotel.

The waiters especially seem to think that as it is an all inclusive resort, they don't have to bother about customer service as they rarely get tipped - well, who carries money in an all inclusive resort? Also, my previous experience of AI resorts is that the discourage tipping, which is not the case here. When the waiters realise they are unlikely to get a tip they are even slower and begrudging than usual! We have paid for this you know! Surly and brusque generally, and over attentive to the ladies and teenage girls!

My second area of real problem was the reception staff. I lost count of the number of times I was fobbed off or passed to another member of staff ... once being asked to talk to 3 different people at different positions less than 3 yards from each other - incredible! More concerning I was told lies (strong words, but that's what they were!) on 3 different occaisons by the reception/concierge team - which they all denied of course, including the desk manager!

There is significant building work going on in this hotel - be warned, they are adding another floor to many of the wings, therefore if you want a lie in, or have young kids that need peace and quiet during the day - forget it! Of course they did not tell us this when we checked in with our teenagers who do enjoy a lie in!

As for the entertainment ..... let's not even go there!!!

I could go on about the incompetent and inept staff, including the management team, however won't - I just want to forget the experience and put it in my Room 101 never to come out again!

Couple of positives to finish on though .... "Bob" in the Relaxation Bar - top bloke, helpful and attentive and real good guy; maids/cleaning staff - brilliant too, go a great job; and Max selling his knock-off designer handbags in the handbag shop - tip for the ladies (or blokes if that way inclined!) bring a big case and bring plenty home, they're good fakes - but don't pay him more than £20 each for them!!

And the weather, as always, was first class!

Shokran ......

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.