We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, choice of room crucial” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh to your Saves list
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 5,788 Reviews
Flintshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel, choice of room crucial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Comments in no particular order.

Stayed 27 Jan to 3 Feb
Weather glorious.

9 of us including 3 children for special 40th birthday

Boys adored the pool area and aqua park. A very big thank you to Mohammed Rashed the life guard at the children's pool. What a lovely kind gentleman who took time out to make our holiday special. He is a university educated PE teacher -sadly like so many world over he cannot get a decent job.

Our room 786 what can I say except avoid like the plague. But reception staff especially Shaban were very kind and offered to change it. When we first saw this particular bungalow we thought brilliant no one walking around or dragging furniture above us. WRONG!!

Above this room is a road and right over the road is the ramp. Throughout the day and night coaches of all sizes literally bump and boom and the room vibrates. You have been warned. Just look for the tallest palm tree on the complex the room is below it.

Daughter and family had a room near relaxation pool. Very dark furniture, low watt bulbs not great. She actually used torch on her mobile whilst looking in the wardrobe. But she did say it was quiet.

Think rooms need makeover

Donuts and pancakes at 4pm delicious.

I have stayed at The Jaz Mirabel next door and yes it is sumptuous, but at a price. Walked along beach to it and it looked pretty empty.

For what we paid to stay at RAM for 1 week we all reckon it was a bargain. I would go back there again depending on the price

Staff are generally happy and courteous with the exception of the miserable ice cream man.
Pleasant to grown ups but so rude to well mannered children. Needs a word in his ear from management.

Spa people a pain in the backside. The red flag already mentioned in reviews does not deter them.

Went on good quad bike/buggy ride in the desert. Booked with Marcus from hotel dive centre for £10 per person for approx 3 hours. Thoroughly enjoyable. However do take scarves or t shirts to wrap around your head and mouth. Marcos told us we could buy the black/white t towel scarves when we arrived at the quad bike station for £2. But they insisted on a fiver each and would not come down in price. Captive audience if you have nothing with you. Not Marcus's fault- but be aware.

I agree with other reviewers about the entertainment. Guy singing was OK, his female 'singer' was really bad at screeching. Also they have the sound turned up so loud it actually distorts. As it is all open plan no matter were you sit you can't block out the noise, it does become annoying.

Such a big entrance near reception surely more seating is a must.

40th birthday meal brilliant. Staff decorated the table really beautiful. Also if you have a special day to celebrate take party stuff candles etc with you and they put on a reserved table. Waiters came with a cake and they all joined in singing. Memorable.

Coffee shop brilliant.

Food OK we always found something to eat.
5 restaurants, choose your food from any, like pick and mix, and sit wherever you want.
Drinks and cocktails were fine for us but that's our opinion.

9 of us, 6 had iffy tummy's which lasted a day.
Imodium didn't seem to do the trick. However one of our party was bad for several days. a visit to the on site pharmacy and a selection of pills for 15 euro did make her feel much better. So I guess don't suffer in the hope it goes away!!!

Room Tip: Room choice is crucial. Rooms around the children's pool are sunny but possible noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank-you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again very soon, at which time I hope to speak with you and personally ensuring your holiday here in the sunshine will exceed all your expectations.

Blessings from us all at Pickalbatros hotels..

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,427
    1,468
    559
    204
    130
See reviews for
2,089
2,233
81
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,451)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I went for 10 days 13th to 23rd of January. We booked a prom room and the room was ok but had no view so we went to desk and asked could we change. No problem was put in a nice room over looking the relaxation pool.
Staff great. A small tip goes a long way but even if you don't tip the service is still very good.
coffee bar and surrounding areas great
pool areas great
food and wine good
Entertainment could be better and not enough seats ,so had to stand up must of the nights.
Irish bar smelly.
Need lessons in how to make cocktails with crushed ice
snorkelling off the reef is fantastic.
overall had a good time and would return.
Best tip, put baby oil on legs arms and any exposed areas at night you will not get bit by mozzies.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here 1 week end of feb , was absolutely fantastic , food was amazing , pools and outside areas and hotel professional clean , recommended to everyone I know and is the best hotel we have ever stayed ! Staff unbelievable so welcoming !!! So friendly ! We will be back ! Xx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm-el-Sheikh.

We are glad, that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay. The team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

Once again we thank you for all the recommendations. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

home now,hotel very good services very good,few minor faults,no recognition for three visits,staff reduced so waiting for tables some of the time as not cleared,coffee shop only had one member on at night,so he was in trouble when he was collecting emptys as people reporting him to reception,managers fault not his,the bar areas not enough staff to cope when hotel full as it was,amir out of singing bar superb lad ,mohamed out of irish bar superb,beach crew superb,massage gang even hassle you even with the red flag which means dont disturb.
gerges out of beach cafe super lad ,s really apart from a few small niggles it was very nice ,our room cleaner was ok but i swatted a fly the second day there and it was still there the day we left ,coffee run out and did not replace,whitener run out and didnt replace without asking.
never had this before when we was there,but small complaints but should be addressed as people might not return and reccomend this hotel which would be a shame ..
and as before the manager mohamed do not answer this with the same speech as you do to all these reviews answer it properly with all my comments addressed thanks

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

The resort in general is amazing, but the room we had is not what I expected. It wasn't bad, just not great. The staff were pleasant and friendly throughout the resort. However, the staff behind the reception weren't great, they had poor customer service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Me and my daughter stayed from 22nd Jan to 2nd Feb and had another relaxing break in the lovely warm sunshine.
We were by the relaxation pool in room 707 and had the best room cleaner imaginable, we would also like to thank Mahmood Attia and his workmate for the excellent bar service they supplied so a big thank you from CLAIRE & PAUL and thanks also Mahmood for the sand vase gift!!
This hotel and most of the staff are very welcoming and friendly BUT this time I was really annoyed by the anticts of the pushy spa sales people who should be brought into line.
While sitting by the water park this sales man lurched at me and starting threading / plucking my right eyebrow and after finishing it said if I wanted the other one done so it matched it would cost £20. My daughter also arranged to have a pedicure and was first quoted £50 but after she said someone we spoke to earlier only paid £12 after haggling he agreed and made an appointment for her and gave her a written receipt.
When she went in to get it done and another client realised that she was paying more than my daughter for the same treatment and complained they renaiged on the agreed price and asked for twice as much money.
Also the Jacuzzi in the Spa is not clean whatsoever with a thick greasy layer of film ouround the waterline YUK we only noticed after getting in and the staff weren't bothered we only lasted 4 minutes in it.
Overall this is a great value for money very large hotel complex and we will definitely be returning but will give the Spa a miss for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your summary about your recent holiday at Royal Albatros Moderna

It’s really a great pleasure for us, that you spent a lovely holiday at our property and that we could meet your expectations and good to hear that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay.


Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Just back from 11 nights, where to begin? Entertainment in the evening entertainment a bit restricted and there were not enough seats in the bar area - I guess it's the time of year when people want to sit inside rather than out. Shantan (the male singer) was very very good and a huge range vocally, I am sorry but the Russian lady singer was awful we went downstairs one night to get away from her and could still hear her voice vibrating right through us - sorry not for us. The food is plentiful but mealtimes can be manic, the hotel was busy so it was difficult to find somewhere to sit and eat, again the weather wasn't warm enough to sit outside so probably a seasonal problem. Although lots of choices of food German, Mediterraen, Italian, Moroccan and Asian it was like a giant food hall (with the exception of the Asian restuarant), people tended to walk between each section in other words lots of people navigating their way around with food - get your table before your food! The asian restaurant was really good so ate in there most days and there was also fresh Pizza and Pasta, there is also a salad station in the evenings and the guy prepared some wonderful salads and made a bit of a feature of it - Greek salad to die for. We were very amused by the British afternoon tea which is served at 4pm in the main bar, lovely pot of tea and a tier of cakes and very very dainty sandwiches, but there is a limit to what you can eat. The coffee shop is also superb a Egytian Costa Coffee. We requested a room by the relaxation pool which was really nice and peaceful, so it you like peace and quiet I would recommend. I agree that some of the linen has seen better days.
We did go to the over 9's water park in the hotel where you can find king size double beds to lounge on - very comfortable, the bar serves refreshments but no alcohol, but no problem the litte waiter from the relaxtion pool was more than happy to get whatever you wanted. I would go back to this hotel as It represents value for money - stayed next door last year at Jaz Mirabel and Moderna far more easy going. It was also nice to be able to stroll down to the Hard Rock Cafe - about 15 minutes walk away, reception will give you 20% discount voucher upon request, it was nice to get out and have food served to you to e honest. Overall a great holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are more than happy, that you had such a fantastic holiday with us here and liked our resort with all its facilities and services and I shall pass your kind words on to the staff.

We are very pleased we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.