We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit hotel improved since seven years ago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh to your Saves list
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 5,783 Reviews
Pontefract, England
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our second visit hotel improved since seven years ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just arrived back on the 2nd February we went on a ten night stay with family. The hotel is much better than before the food choice is very good and of a high standard I really liked the asian restaurant. All the staff where great bar staff really good and didn't expect a tip unlike other hotels I've been to but very appreciate it when you do tip. Would definitely recommend it again and will return again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.
Thank you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to welcome you again back in November to your second home in Royal Albatros Moderna.

Kindly accept our warmest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,425
    1,465
    559
    204
    130
See reviews for
2,087
2,233
80
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,449)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Another wonderful visit to the RAM. Why do people keep returning to the RAM I can't quite put my finger on it but maybe because its like home. Most of us have "that room that needs redecorating, the odd tile that could do with replacing etc etc" The RAM is the same, if you look really close it's a bit rough round the edges but does it detract from the holiday .....not at all. Food great, staff excellent. Will we return again.....probably :o) along with lots of other people who were also "returners" whilst we were there.
Do not buy a visa! That is if you are not going out of Sinai you don't need it. You will be hassled and pushed into buying one ignore them and walk past.
Fantastic new beach bar just opened, new entertainment stage etc in the process of being built (possibly even finished now). New work planned for the amphitheater possibly child's splash pool. Again lots of improvements in the pipeline.
Many thanks to all the staff who work so hard to keep us all happy and satisfied !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm-el-Sheikh.

We are glad, that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay. The team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

Once again we thank you for all the recommendations. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just come back from our holiday at this hotel. This was the second time we have been and have recommended it to our friends and family. The staff are all brilliant and very friendly especially Shabnam on the reception desk, Mahmould Attia barman at the relaxation pool, who looked after us all day long and Salah Abd el Gelil the waiter in the tagin restaurant to name but a few. The evening entertainment has improved since our last stay and many of the staff remembered us from before. We met some lovely people and we are planning to return with some friends of ours very soon. As for the food, there is a lot of choice as there are many restaurants here and the doughnuts are to die for and they cook fresh croissants every morning. Last of all the weather was great and so nice to get away from wet England.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

We are glad, that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such detailed review and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Royal Albatros Moderna .

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Just returned from RAM having stayed with 3 friends between 24th and 31st Jan. None of us had been to Egypt before and we were all open minded. Having done quite a lot of research beforehand and also reading dozens of trip advisor reports I can honestly say that the holiday exceeded all expectations. Granted, it is not UK 5 star but you are not paying UK 5 star prices. If you accept this from the start, you will not be disappointed.
Upon arriving at reception, I asked for rooms in the 1800&800 block which I understood has been refurbished. We had 1813 which was excellent. All of the rooms are situated around the quiet pool which is heated and very relaxing as no bar or music. The larger relaxation pool is huge and there are plenty of beds. Don't really understand why Brits obviously get up before 7 to reserve their beds then don't return until after 11 or 12. I thought that this was a german trait but a lot of Brits are exactly the same. There are notices up but obviously these are ignored both by guests and management. We found out that the week we were there that the hotel was 94 to 98 percent capacity and there were plenty of beds and it never felt crowded.
The waterpark near the hotel entrance is fab, all 4 rides are great and it was pretty quiet there all week. Absolutely no queues however I would imagine that in school holidays, it would be lot busier when teenagers see it. Also, this area has loads of double loungers which are perfect to go back to sleep and recharge the batteries!
The active pool we found a bit noisy with loud music playing all the time so didn't stay around there very much. A lot of people obviously enjoy this pool and games are played throughout the day.
The restaurants were all absolutely fine with a vast array of choice. It took a day or two to get used to the buffet style as people of walking with plates of food from one restaurant to another, however once you get used to it, it is actually quite enjoyable finding a dish you like. The quality of the food is excellent, especially the rice dishes and stir frys. I don't understand the negative comments. Obviously it is not fine dining but the choice is amazing. Tip...if the food is not hot enough....just zap it in a microwave which each restaurant has readily available. We found that the ambiance in the Tagine and L'Asiatique was the best and we all liked the food there. The wine was perfectly drinkable, however the Tangine serves red wine from a bottle rather than from draft and therefore at room temperature rather than chilled so tastes much better. The white wine was again perfectly fine. The two local lagers were again very drinkable. The spirits were a bit 'severe' and none of us could drink them neat. They were ok though in cocktails, however one tip if you like your spirits is to buy a bottle on the way out in duty free and bring your own. This is perfectly acceptable. Just ask for a glass and drink your own. For the sake of the cost of a tax free bottle of spirit, you can really enjoy your favourite drink all week rather than put up with the local stuff. Believe me, you will be glad that you did.
Al of the staff, from the waiters, bar men, cleaners and life guards were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We found the reception staff to be absolutely fine, maybe not as outwardly helpful as their colleagues but if you had to deal with rude, arrogant Russians like they do, then I am sure you would struggle to remain happy all day!
The beach bar was great to get a quick snack and fresh pizzas and battered fish we found to be the very good. The beach is fine, although it is very shallow so swimming can only really be done by walking along the very long jetty which probably takes a good 10 minutes. It is definitely worth a walk and sun beds are readily available half way and at the end. Snorkeling at the end is an absolute must. You can hire all of the gear for £3 a day or you can buy a snorkel in the shop opposite reception for about £6. The life guard is very friendly and he will take you out to the ship wreck which is about 100 metres away if you ask him. The coral and fish are amazing. It was my first time so nothing to compare it with but the experience was brill.
The camel people will try and get as much money out of you as they can. We negotiated a camel ride for £5 each from an original £50! Make sure they understand that this will also cover the cost of someone taking pictures or video as they will try and charge you extra if pictures are taken. Just stand your ground and they will eventually agree.
We went on a boat trip to Tiran island which included snorkeling in 3 places, lunch and drinks all day. We booked with Bright Shark who have a rep in the resort. Negotiated cost of £20each all in. Very professional, safe and organised.
Outside RAM if you turn left there are shops both side of the road selling fake designer clothes, fake watches, perfumes etc. None of us experienced any hassle at all from the shopkeepers. Obviously they will try and coax you over to their shop but a pleasant no thanks is acceptable and usually replied with 'no problem boss!. The bartering with the shop keepers is really great fun and we enjoyed our evening trips out to these local shops. I would recommend organising your trips with Nabq Tours. Costello was excellent, no hassle and very helpful. 2 of us went on quad bike trip to see sunset. I can honestly say that this was the best £15 I have ever spent. Ask for a private trip. After arriving by mini bus we were taken out into the desert by our own personal guide. Trip lasted about 2 and a half hours. Awesome!!! Also we found a really good leather shop at Center Nopxo, Omail was very fair and helpful.
We would definitely return to RAM and would not hesitate to recommend this fabulous resort. Thank you to all the staff who helped to make our first trip to Egypt so enjoyable.






T

Room Tip: Take some US dollars or pound coins for tips and to help when bartering as small denomination curren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank-you very much for your kind comments and the “5 out of 5 - excellent” rating you gave our beach resort. We really appreciate your support and the team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel again very soon, at which time I hope to speak with you and personally ensuring your holiday here in the sunshine will exceed all your expectations.

Blessings from us all at Pickalbatros hotels..

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

this was our fourth visit to this hotel.the hotel has recently been sold and there are signs that things are changing.All the staff are helpful and welcoming and cannot do enough for you.They are the strength of this hotel.It was very busy as the hotel was full to capacity;The 'trousers only at dinner 'is ignored and there is a swarm of people back and forth through the five restaurants which are noisy and canteen like the atmosphere is not peaceful or relaxing and it can be hard to find a table.Our room was shabby and sunbeds likewise.previously we have enjoyed the evening entertainment,cuban musicians,pianist, violinist etc but this year was awful, loud karaoke type and no musical ability at all.Earsplitting!Still, there were plenty of interesting and colourful tattoos to ponder.probably won't return but think a good hotel for younger people.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to cordially thank you for your very positive summary referring to your recent stay at the Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm-el-Sheikh.

We are glad, that our resort with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay. The team will be delighted you have recognized their great efforts.

Once again we thank you for all the recommendations. We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Group of 4 guys.
Visited 6th Jan 2014 for 5 nights.

Lets start with the negatives as there aren't that many:
This place could easily be 5 out of 5 with some very minor adjustments and/or improvements.
The biggest issue for the group I was with was the food.
The food was really quite bland and in some cases was very cheap quality.
For instance, the burgers and chicken nuggets were from low quality processed nastiness, with probably very little actual meat content (from the relevant animal anyway).
The fish used for the fish & chips appeared to be Vietnamese Catfish - something which is pretty cheap & nasty.
All the food was just depressing because it looks so good and there is such a massive variety - yet all of it was missing flavour or was low quality.
This is what annoyed me the most - the fact that they had gone to a lot of trouble and expense, yet let themselves down at the very final hurdle by inexplicably withholding one or two ingredients that would have made all the difference; or they used nasty processed meat instead of something better.
It would have been better had the variety been limited but tasted good.

The other negative was the beach. Oh dear oh dear; there were camel droppings everywhere and the quality of the sand was dreadful.
It stank to high heaven. Why the heck couldn't they clear up the mess and invest in some better beach quality? Not difficult.
Again, they'd gone to all the trouble of having a beach connected directly to the resort without the need to cross a road or take a shuttle, yet all of this is let down at the last hurdle by a poor quality beach.
Why did they bother going to the trouble if they were going to go 100%? it's like they put in 95% of the time and effort and gave up - the missing 5% worth of effort letting the whole thing down - just like with the food.

That said, everything else about the place is really really good.
No need to leave the complex other than to get some decent tasting food now and again.
The numbers of Russians is relatively low thankfully; they all seemed to be confined to one block around the heated pool which in a moment of amusement we labelled "The Soviet Block".
Unfortunately you do run into them now and again and so you must put up with their rudeness and lack of manners, but only once or twice a day.
The rooms we upgraded to (only about £20 per person overall) were very large, containing two (small) double beds per room and they had a decent view of the relaxation pool from the balcony.
I've read comments where people complained about the state of their rooms, but we had no such trouble.
If it helps we were in rooms 1808 and 1809, which unfortunately involved a climb up two flights of stairs but not a major problem. The rooms were well decorated and looked good.
The showers were very powerful.
Distance wise, only 15 minutes drive from the airport.
The western restaurants such as McDonalds, TGI, Hard Rock Cafe, Burger King, Starbucks etc are about 1.5 miles away - approx. 30 minutes walk. Go out of the entrance of the hotel, turn immediately left and keep walking.
Soho square is well worth a visit and there is a free bus that takes you there. They seem to be in need of business so the prices are greatly reduced in all the restaurants over there, which would otherwise be quite expensive.

Overall, a fantastic place which could have been even better had they made that slight little extra effort with the food and the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the relaxation pool. Avoid the rooms around the heated pool unless you are Ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahmoud R, General Manager at Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are more than happy, that you had such a fantastic holiday with us here and liked our resort with all its facilities and services and I shall pass your kind words on to the staff.

We are very pleased we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Mahmoud Ragab
Area Operations Director
Pickalbatros Hotels
gm@royalalbatros.com.eg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We did enjoy our stay in Egypt, it was a good price, weather was perfect and it was very relaxing. The hotel was clean, tidy, generally nice staff but was far from perfect. There was just not enough that was appropriate for my 2 year old, all but 1 of the pools were too deep, and too cold, the beach was covered in rock going down to the water, the equipment in the playground was for older children and although he LOVED the kids pool and slides, we did notice on the last day that the slides were prohibited to under 4's and he shouldn't have even been using them! There were no changing facilities in any public areas and I had to carry a blanket around to change him on the floor!! Food was average, although seemed to get better while we were there-maybe we got used to it? Again, not a lot for my little boy who lived on pizza and pasta for two meals a day all week! Staff were generally really nice, but we found the reception staff to be really off hand and dismissive when actually dealing with any issues. Was not particularly impressed with overlooking a building site, which woke us up around 6-7am every day, meaning we had to put my little one to bed after dinner, so didn't get to enjoy any evening entertainment but the family room was lovely, spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.