We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable - has its pros and cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh to your Saves list
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Reasonable - has its pros and cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

PROS - Great Location, great for families. they have an activity pool with multiple slides and good stuff like that. Great coffee shop and good restaurants with loads of choice, good entertainment and good beer on all inclusive.

CONS - however they need to work on their health and safety and room cleanliness. please see attached photos. we was there for 10 days in 2012. and for the entire time their was a extremely dangerous broken glass by a step in the park area, WHERE KIDS PLAY!!!! - SEE PHOTOS. (i obviously pointed this out at the end of the stay)

There is also all sorts of lose cables, broken electrical sockets and all sorts to watch out for within the childrens reach.

all in all, i can see a VERY serious accident happening here with a small child getting very hurt or worse and ruining the holiday for someone. if you do not mind going on holiday with the intention of working as a risk assessor every time you go for a walk, in the interests of your childrens health then this is a good hotel.

the bathroom was also overrun with ants for the entire stay - SEE PHOTOS

other than these issues, a great hotel. seems inside the hotel they are very good, outside neglected.

also the spa area is run by people who come and try to be nice to you. which is great, but they ask you a few questions about your stay and then start selling you stuff. when you confirm you would not like a 'RASTA' hairstyle or worse they then change their tone completely. almost as if you have wasted their time by them asking you questions. so naturally when you reject their relentless attempts to be nice next time, they will then accuse you of being rude and stuck up... but if you have been Egypt before, this is 50% of Egyptian people. Nice but always with an ulterior motive. you get used to it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,153
    1,720
    631
    215
    139
See reviews for
2,502
2,615
92
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,801)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Just booked to go back to this hotel in December to celebrate my 30th with a large group of friends and family.

We stayed in this fantastic hotel last December and at first I was anxious about travelling to Egypt but as soon as we arrived we were treated like royalty. The customer service was exceptional from the cleaning staff up to management.

Food was varied, activities like aerobics by the pool were enjoyed by my mum and nan, my daughter who was 2yrs loved the kids pool and entertainment team especially Lou Lou.

A meal at the White elephant is must! Food is devine and even my hubby who is a chef approved!

Water Park is brilliant and brought out the kid in me.

Royal Albatros Moderna hotel is a great hotel and my only recommendation to management would be to consider making the main activity pool heated as the pool was freezing and therefore empty.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday at the Royal Albatros Moderna hotel and we had a fantastic time . Our rooms were round the relaxation pool and were superb . Everywhere was kept so very clean and the facilities for children were excellent , our kids loved the kids club and the staff who ran it , Claire, Anton and Simone were superb . My only criticism was that the food venues were a bit like canteens and there was never enough staff at the restaurants or at the pool & beach bars .If you have kids and are thinking about going to Sharm then this hotel is the perfect 1 to go too . We will definitely be returning .

Room Tip: if you like quiet then ask for a room around the relaxation pool area , they are refurbished and exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to RAM, which is a first for us to return to the same hotel three times.
We went for 11 days this time and what a great 11 days they were.
We were given a free upgrade to a sea view room with a king size bed and it was amazing(1351), what a start to the holiday.
The food was great yet again, the only place we have not eaten an evening meal is the German restaurant, so can't comment on that one but the other 4 were fantastic yet again, the food is always hot and tasty.
We do not use the full content of the food on offer during the day, we did have a couple of ice creams, but do not have the doughnuts and cakes that are on offer all afternoon.
Again what makes it a great holiday are the staff, they are all so pleased to see returning guests and we spent much of the first couple of days feeling like the king and queen of the Royal Albatross where were were greeted so well by everyone.
The staff at the beach bar are great, our glasses were never empty, so a special thank you to Amir and Mohamed Fawzy, they looked after us so well.
All of the staff are great and nothing is a problem, they do not look for tips but a couple of pounds goes a long way to saying thank you.
Can't wait to return in November again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just returned from 10 days.........weather was fantastic for this time of year....with three kids flight time is great too. Our last three visits have been to Sharks bay to three different hotels so I feel experienced now.

The hotel is 15 minutes transfer from the airport..but not worth walking outside it as there is not much around.

Hotel complex is masive....the resort is still being built and the hotel is the last one at the end ...there is building works going on.

It takes a good 20 minutes to walk from the front of the hotel to the end of the beach jetty, so would advise getting a room aroud the main pool. All the pools are cold execpet for one which is heated which is next to the waterslide park and is a good base to be with kids as the other pools they would be in and out to often. There is a nice kids pool on the way to the beach which is shallow and has lots of smaller slides which is great for under ten year olds but again cold so will be in and out. The Beach Jetty is the longest I have been on..a good 10 minute walk from the shore to the end (great to snorkel as long as its not windy as waves make it too dangerous.....you can snorkel 3/4 of the way along the jetty but its much shallower(waist height) and not as colourful.....also lots of sea urchins....wear aqua shoes. check the flags for safety...I found if its not windy best time to snorkel is 8am. ........other hotels I have been to have had much better reefs

We had a familly room.....great size, but a bit tired...has fridges full of bottled water..televisions are a bit ancient....had to ask for a plug for the bath and towles on most days as not enough were provided.

As its all inclusive there is a German, Asian, Morrocan(great falafel wraps at breakfast), Italian (pizza station great) and European resatauant all next to each other with slighly different food and you can eat in all of them...tables are easy to find ....cutlery not so easy...drinks are a small wait.....spirits are awful...wine is just about ok.....bottles beer ok(pump awful). Nice lunch at the beach bar....freshly baked croissants at breakfast.

Dress code...yes you can wear smart shorts for dinner contrary to what they say.

Evening entertainment is not good generally.....however theres an outdoor cinema for the kids which is good.

Snack wise there is a pancake station, doughnut station, cake station, milkshake and icecream stations ( they are poor ice creams ...only good icecream is Movenpick served in the lobby bar as is the coffee there.... for a limited time during the day...coffee elsewhere is awful).

On the day of departure check out is 12 nooon (60 euro to keep it any longer and not negotiable) and they say you can shower in the spa and will provide towels........shower yes..towels they give you a few the size of a tissue as thet keep the normal sized towels for people who have massages......

For the money its value...they advertise everywhere around the hotel to rate them on tripadvisor and think they are a 4/5 star hotel...they need to concentrate more on improving the things you would associate with these level of hotels then.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Have just spent one week in March 2013 at this great Resort Albatross Moderna in Sharm El Sheikh. The food is excellent with a lot of restaurants and they are very clean. All staff are also so friendly and service minde. So I can absolutely recmmend this resort!
Warm regards from a cold Stockholm

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

All about this hotel is great. We didn't once leave the hotel and (apart from £14 tips) never spent any money what so ever. The weather was very hot but the pools a bit cold but warming up. The night time entertainment was practically none existent the two female singers were quite dire. Most people we found went to bed quite early, as did I, so if you are looking for an exciting night life this doesn't provide it. All in all, had a lovely relaxing time and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool rooms open up onto pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh

Address: Peace Road, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh 4.5*
Number of rooms: 680
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2004, the 5* resort has a dream location on the golden sandy beach on the new hotel zone of Nabq Bay, facing coral reefs in the crystal clear waters of the Red Sea, and the shipwrecks of the nearby Straits of Tiran. The main building and the attached two-storey building are surrounded by resplendent gardens extending down to the beach. This elegant all inclusive resort is only 12 km from Sharm El Sheikh Airport, and 20 km from the famous Naama-Bay.Whether you're celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon, planning a family vacation in Sharm El Sheikh or just wanting to get away from it all, Royal Albatros Moderna is the perfect place for all ages and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albatros Moderna Hotel Nabq Bay
Calimera Royal Moderna
Calimera Moderna Beach
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El-Sheikh Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.