We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Laguna Vista” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Vista Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laguna Vista Beach Resort to your Saves list
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 12311, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
England, Kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved Laguna Vista”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Booked through Co-operative travel and flew with Thomas cook. Booked three days before, for 9 nights.

We are well travelled and went to Egypt to experience the Red Sea and for me the Arab horse.

Food:
BBQ Every night steak not great but chicken and lamb lovely, good selection of food, always found something, you do start to miss UK food but I do anywhere I go. I didn't get a tummy upset until the last day and I think this is due to the Egyptian money as it is very dirty and carries alot of bacteria. The Which Way Restaurant was good for beef burgers, chips and Hot dogs, coleslaw and salad, it was nice if you wanted a taste of home.

Beach:
Very gritty sand in parts and very soft in others, strange but everso pretty out to see, lots of trips to book here, mental mini bikes you can hire and zoom up and down the path way between the beach and hotel, don't understand the point but fun for kids and adults, good snorkelling, lots of places to book trips the Camel dive centre seemed very helpful, the Bedouin tent where you sit on the floor and smoke was weird and I hated it as they had real fur everywhere, so walked back out as I hate that.

All Inclusive:
Was ok, although you had to pay for pool each night approx £7 and drinks in the Cave bar, the drinks in the main bar are free but the beer is very weak. The Dua Dua restaurant was ok I enjoyed my Pizza but my boyfriend and Dad hated their meals and you only get one free meal and one free drink with All Inclusive, wouldn't pay to go there. Drinks are free on the beach and pool bars. Ok we did try a KFC and it was all sorts of wrong, don't do it!

Al a Carte Pataya was shut so we didn't get our 20% off!

Staff:
Were very friendly, sometimes irritating as I have blonde hair I got alot of attention and one guy outside the hotel offered my boyfriend 10,000 , Camels for me! The best staff were the waiters and the guys by the second pool down, Hossam and Ahmed were so much fun!

Snorkelling:
Was as I expected, we went on a glass bottom boat to the old market and snorkelled on a lovely reef book through a gut who came round the pool offering trips, they are all ok people. You can snorkel at the end of the jetty and the different fish was outstanding, I may have even seen more than in the Maldives! The water in January is a bit nippy when you first go in but just do it as once you're in the water is totally fine about 25 degrees.

Trips:
Thomas cook were rubbish and don't recommend anything exciting like horse riding or Quad bikes so you just book through the hotel or there are loads of companies by the beach which are fine and cheaper. Quad bikes were good and I went riding in the desert and lost my guide in the dark so if you do this then do it during the day, and be kind to the horses, he kept saying "kick him, use my whip" I was happy with a little canter, done nicely!
You cam walk left on the beach for about 10 mins and there is a horse there to ride on the beach called Gold, I just rode in bare foot.

Hotel in General:
Hotel room was lovely and spacious with a queen size bed and balcony, bath, shower and TV. You can stay in little huts but they are a little more expensive and we don't spend much time in the room. The first impression was lovely, very unusual, clean and homley.
There is a gym, spa and pool. I used the Spa and so did my Dad and it was lovely, the guy who arranges the appointments who walks round the pool is a character and looks like a small Peter Andre! Shops are ok, you must haggle!

Weather:
Was very breezy and chilly in the evenings but lovely during the day, but this is their winter, pools were cold though!

Overall I was very happy with my choice and excellent value for money, and lots to do, very good location. You get lovely 4 poster beds to sunbath on the beach and around the pool!

I have pictures on request.

  • Liked — The atmosphere and presentation
  • Disliked — Pillows bit too hard
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    478
    247
    164
    166
See reviews for
447
745
35
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Stayed for 1 week at the Laguna Vista Gardens and enjoyed our time there. The apartments being on 2 floors set around a pool area with moving streams and jacussi features. The water was very cold at this time of the year (jan) so most people relaxed around the area in the warm sun. the weather was a little windy at times but the temperature reached 25deg C in the sheltered spots.

The apartments were set in an African theme with spacious bedrooms and a large shower. Each had air conditioning, fridge, TV and a code operated free safety deposit box so no keys to loose. The beds were made each day and fresh towels provided with bottled water to drink. The rooms were warm at night from the days sun but you need mosquito repellent overnight.

The food was excellent and buffet style with plenty to choose from. It was mostly the same but you can choose a different main course each day with soups and salads. The wines were excellent and the staff attentive and helpful. The resturant is very large and a little dark at night with tea lights to light the table if you like that sort of thing. It is possible to have the meal outside but mostly under cover with sea views at certain locations in the resturant.

It is possible to have a meal in the Wayfarers resturant in the sister Laguna Vista beach hotel across the road and spend all day on the beach if you want . The drinks too can be obtained from all the bars on that complex as part of the package. However you have to pay for the drinks in the cave bar in the beach hotel and so most nights it was empty.

There is no entertainment at the garden resort and so you need to cross the road to the beach resort hotel. However the entertainment is in house and can be very loud. Some nights the shows were very unprofessional and poor quality.

The drinks at the garden resort were mainly local spirits which needed to be watered down with soft drinks to take off the raw edge but the beer was fine. Tea and coffee is also available and if you need bottled water just ask.

  • Liked — spacious apartment and cleanliness
  • Disliked — quality of the drinks and lack of entertainment at this location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

On arriving at the Laguna Vista Gardens resort i was immedately impressed with the friendly and helpful staff and the cleanliness of the lobby. When we got to our garden bungalow it was clean and tidy and absolutely gorgeous the only one complaint i had was that the soap dish was a wee bit rusty....but that is it!!!and i am being incredibly picky!!! the room had several facilities, a fridge, a tv with 5 english channels,and a hair dryer and a safe. the hotel also offers a laundry service although i didnt make use of this. our room was regulary cleaned, everyday! but just remember to put your Do not disturb sign on if you want a lay in as it is a hive of activity during the morning with the resort being scrubbed to an inch of its life!!!
The food was hot plate and had a variety of dishes.what one needs to remember is that they are catering to all nationalities so it might not be everyones cup of tea, my husband can be extremely fussy but he managed to fill his plate every evening!!!
the inclusive drinks package was quite good, but im a fussy drinker and didnt take to the egyptian vodka very well,but every hotel in sharm only offers local drinks so dont let that put you of!i just changed my drink!!!the brandy coffee's were going down a treat!
the weather was lovely,sunbathing weather,but unfortunately the pools are a wee bit too chilly for me although some (mad) people ventured in!!!but the lagoon at laguna vista beach is quite warm once you get in and its good for snorkelling.
but dont forget that at this time of year it is chilly in the evening so jeans,pants leggings and comfty cardies are defintly in need!!!
the staff are super friendly and bend over backwards for you,just remember that egyptians are on a different speed level than us and tend to take a relaxed approach to rushing, its not being rude its just there way!!!
we visited the spa during our stay and prices were very reasonable and the staff were brill and what was nice was that i could have my massage with my husband in the same room- single ladies go with a friend as you might feel uncomftable with the male staff ,although they were extremely professional.
we had a superb time at laguna vista gardens and would defantly recommand this resort for its relaxed and friendly atmosphere,i will be going again!!!

  • Liked — The cleanliness of our room
  • Disliked — Cant really think of any!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

I spent Christmas with my husband and parents at the Laguna Vista Beach Resort in Dec 08.

Location - Wonderful, the beach is gorgeous, the sea warm and you can spot all kinds of fish from the hotel's jetty and there's a lovely view over to Tiran Island too. Nabq Bay is about ten minutes from the airport so the transfer doesnt take long, it's a bit of a building site generally but around the Laguna Vista everything seems to be quite complete. There are fast food restaurants across the road if you want them, a really delicious chinese if you fancy a change from the Hotels Buffet restaurant, plenty of shops, banks and supermarkets. Naama Bay is about 10 miles away and you can get a taxi there for outside the hotel for 50 Egyptian Pounds - £5! You'll have to haggle though! If you do go into Naama Bay then I recommend the Tandoori restaurant which is part of the Camel Dive Club Hotel - really superb food at reasonable prices. The bar there is nice too.

Hotel - Generally really nice, well maintained, spotlessly clean, the rooms were nice too, the staff were amazing but, there is room for improvement. First of all, if you are going all inclusive then it's not all inclusive. You can eat in the hotels buffet restaurants and one of the beach bars at lunchtime and a set meal once from the Italian Restaurant (Dua Dua - worth visiting but the wine is extortionate at about £23 a bottle -'Obelisk' is the best of a bad bunch). The food is okay but caters completely for the Italians & Russians. We tended to eat the same thing everyday and my father lived on cheese salads as he didn't fancy anything else! They could have done with more Egyptian desserts too. If your normal tipple is wine then you'll only be able to get it at mealtimes and it's pretty ropey.

There was no shortage of sunbeds or pools but it would have been better if at least one of the outdoor pools was heated as they were absolutely freezing, the sea was much warmer.

Christmas at the Laguna Vista - We had a gala dinner on Xmas Eve which was amazing. The food was stunning! Turkey, sprouts and real gravy plus lots of choice of Egyptian desserts and lovely meats for starters. They really had pulled out all the stops food wise and they decorated their huge marquee beautifully. You had to pay for any decent wine/champagne though. A bottle of Jacob's Creek Chardonnay would set you back £50! So needless to say we stuck to the 'Obelisk' at £23 a bottle. The belly dancers and the whirling dervish was amazing too. The only problem on this night was the DJ and the Hotel's Entertainment.

The Hotel Entertainment - is absolutely dire and laughable. It's best to make your own entertainment at the resort really. They are a group of Italians and their 'shows' were like something you'd expect to see in a school production but a 100 times worse.

3 out of 4 of us got ill, but I think that's just what it's like when you go to Egypt. There were 24 hour chemists nearby and the medication was good and quite cheap.

Sharm is a lovely place to go on holiday. We also went to Cairo and Luxor with Sharm Excursions which were fantastic and slightly cheaper than booking with Thomas Cook.

  • Liked — The Location and the staff
  • Disliked — The food & entertainment
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

Before i start, I must admit that i also read the reviews about the hotel before we set out for the xmas and New Year break. Good reviews and bad, so flew out with an open mind. Sadly, the bad reviews have this place spot on! Everyone to their own, but the people that have came on to write good things about this Hotel have obviously been on the Egyptian Whiskey!! (That's right, i couldn't believe it myself!)
First of all the good points:

Surroundings first class. When we first arrived in the lobby looking down to the pool it was fantastic with all the xmas lights around the place.

Room also great. Spacious and Clean with a great view. People in the Hotel also couldn't be faulted. Everyone so helpful and friendly. Restaurant staff especially! That's the good points finished! Now for the Bad!

Food: Basic and repeatative. White rice every lunch and Dinner with Vael, Chicken or Beef. Mostly cold most of the time to the extent where we we're heating up our meals with the microwave which was meant to heat up the baby food. Yes they did have a BBQ, (If you can call it that) Steak like leather ever night. One night out of the FOURTEEN they had burgers available. These were the only thing that was worth eating from these. Breakfast meals were also same as, same as. Boring! The 'Which Way' Restaurant (Open for Lunchtime only) is like an avary! Birds flying in and out all through the lunchtime period. Pecking on Breads, Fruits and anything left on your plate. Staff actually sit out plates with leftovers in the hope it keeps them out, but it only encourages them. The sparrows are actually perched above the food containers. If anyone leaves the lids open on these, you don't need to guess what will happen. Unsurprisingly we only ate there once!! We were led to believe that the Hotel also had an Al la Carte Italian. WRONG! Only available if you paid. Basic pasta and Pizza for the 'All Inclusive Dinners' This seemed to be the norm everywhere were they would put out small teasers like the Fresh orange m/c at Breakfast. Could you get this? Yes. For 1 Euro! Or the Johnnie Walker Black Label pride of place in the Bar. Only £8 a shot! I lost count of the amount of people asking for these things only to be re-buffed with the phrase 'You pay'! Ended up eating out 5 nights of the 2 week stay! Twice in the Chinese across the road and 3 times at Naama Bay. This should be the case in an All Inclusive resort.
Pool: If you like to swim when you're on holiday. Forget it! Water in all the pool areas are ice cold. People complaining all over the resort due to this. What's the point in having swim up bars when you can't actually get in the water?? Felt more sorry for the young kids around the place. Does have an indoor heated pool, but why would you want to go to an indoor pool when the temp outside is 24 degress??
Entertainment : Worst i've experienced. Mostly caters for Italians and boy does it show. The daytime activities were bordering on a 5 year old thinking them up. Nighttime shows were laghable and out of time. If the Activity team spent more time rehersing their routines rather than spending all the time by the pool all day, they may have improved.
Bars: For the size of the resort, it is poor in the bar dept. Ok during the day with the pool bars, but at night it's an absolute joke. No wine available anywhere bar the Restaurant?? Why? No answer from the rep. Only place to get a beer was at the lobby bar. This bar? sits in the lobby which is cold and draughty at night. People are sitting with jackets / coats on while 'enjoying their beer' Also the lobby is a place to share with the Pigeons and the mess they leave behind. Watch out above before taking a seat! Why they can't put up some sort of mesh wiring to keep these out is beyond me?
Forgot about the Cave bar which is below the lobby bar. Looked good when we went down until they told us you had to pay for ANY drink there!! Couldn't believe it! Couldn't even get a beer!!!

All in all we knew this would be different to other holidays we have had, but it's by far the poorest 'All Inclusive' we have ever been to. Keep clear if you haven't already booked.

  • Liked — The service and friendliness of the staff.
  • Disliked — Entertainment / Food / Lack of Bars.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

I had always wanted to go to Egypt, to see the sights, but was talked into the Red Sea instead. I was a bit apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here.

Only thing I can say is they must be hard to please. We found the place Brilliant.

I guess like every holiday its what you make it. Here is what we did.
Tipped the pool boy on arrival, best investment of the holiday. Towels and beds out every morning great service. Talked to staff every day and had jokes with them, all brilliant and when you get to know their working conditions you might appreciate them more. All hard working people.

Food was good, pasta was available at 1 serving station, others were soup, stews, fish and a BBQ every night.

Trips we enjoyed the glass boat and diving over the coral, quad bikes were good, bedouin trip was pants, and a waste of time and effort, although we were told the Thomas Cook trip was good.

Just outside the complex you have a mall of egyptian shops selling the usual souvenir stuff, and a mall directly across the road (50 yards) There is also a chinese restaurant, Starbucks, McDonalds, KFC and soon a Fridays all within 100yds of main gate.

As you walk outside the gate you will be met by what you think is every taxi driver in Egypt wanting you to take a cab, all I can advise is if you want one haggle, (if not just say no thanks )we got into Naama Bay (12 miles) and return for 120 Egyptian.

If you wanna watch football turn right outside the gate and 200 yds across main road is an english fronted bar with big screens, beer was 25 Egyptian a bottle.

Oh and the sun shone every day and never a cloud in the sky. Only complaint we had and it was trivial was that the entertainment crew played their music too loud and drowned out ipods. Apart from that if you cannot enjoy this place you must be a grumpy fussy [----], because it is brilliant.

  • Liked — staff were brilliant
  • Disliked — noisy music at poolside
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

We stayed in this hotel in late November, so not it's busiest time of the year but I was amazed at how big the hotel is and spacious. We paid extra for a ground floor room with a pool, which was worth it even though a little cold in the water! The room was huge with two double beds, and close to the restaurant. I can imagine people in the bungalows near the beach having a bit of a walk to breakfast each morning. The food was good, very thoughtful, although I can see why it is easy to over indulge, especially on the dessert tray! I think thats the main reason people are getting ill here. The food wasn't poor quality, there was just so much of it and people were literally eating as much as possible. Of course your going to get ill. I think some of the reviews of this hotel come across very off-putting which isn't fair because the staff clearly try very hard. But it is almost 3rd world country and put in perspective, it deserves merit. The people that expected 5* luxuary abviously thought they were going to Maldives or something! I'm glad I ignored them.
I will add that we thought Sharm was fab and came back exhausted as there was so much to do, we couldn't justify sitting by the pool every day when there is so many excursions on offer, so 2 weeks would be a tip.
I wouldnt like to go to this hotel during peak season, I understand some people cannot avoid that but the weather was perfect 30's every day, we always got a table in the restaurant, sunloungers by the pool and the resort was practically just adults. A much needed week of Winter Sun.

  • Liked — Massive rooms, peaceful at night, helpful staff
  • Disliked — None of the outdoor pools were heated in Winter - freezing!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Vista Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Vista Beach Resort

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 12311, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#19 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#20 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Laguna Vista Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Laguna Vista Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Vista Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Laguna Vista Sharm El Sheikh
Laguna Vista Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Vista Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.