We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty poor overall” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Vista Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Laguna Vista Beach Resort to your Saves list
Laguna Vista Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 12311, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty poor overall”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for a week in one of the duplex huts near the pool and our first impressions were good. The reception area is quite impressive and I have no complaints about the staff who were all very helpful and cheerful. The bedroom area was good too but the bathroom was in desperate need of a deep clean and some minor repairs. The pool areas are okay but nothing really special. There are some serious problems here though. The 'all inclusive' alcohol is really poor, the spirits are virtually undrinkable - we have been on several AI holidays before and know what to expect - this was well below average. Please note that the nice 'Cave Bar' area does not serve all inclusive drinks. We spent a lot of our time (and money) in the Hard Rock Cafe next door as there was nowhere else within reasonable walking disctance for a night out as the hotel was lacking any atmosphere at night. The food was also very poor with limited choice and low quality fare. We did get ill (apparently everybody does) but I do not buy that this is because of the heat - we are well travelled and haven't suffered like that before, could only be caused by a bug. We are not really into 'animation team' type entertainment, but if you are and are planning to travel from the UK be warned that you will be generally ignored by the Italian staff - like I say not a problem for us but it might be if you are travelling with kids. Pretty poor overall, given similar cost and star rated hotels we've been to elsewhere (Cuba, Mexico, Tunisia etc) probably ranks bottom. Only the waiting/bar staff and impressive overall apprearance saved it from 1 out of 5 review.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    478
    247
    164
    166
See reviews for
447
745
35
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at Laguna Vista Beach from 7th - 21st March and got the wonderful relaxing time we were looking for. We didn't intend on doing much this time as we have been to Egypt many times so it was important for us that the hotel was of a good standard as we intended to spend most of the two weeks just relaxing. The end result - we had a wonderful time. The room was one of the ones still waiting for a refurb but it was kept lovely and clean with comfy beds and had everything we needed.The gardens, the beach, pools and the main building were all still as pretty as I remember them and a pleasure to be in. But, the main thing that makes this hotel stand out is the staff. They are all so friendly and helpful and will go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and that you have a wonderful holiday. all the staff we met were fantastic - but we would like to say a really big thank you to some of the staff who made all the difference to our holiday with their outstanding customer service and warm friendly manner. In the main buffet restaurant Ahmed Gamal gave an exceptionally high standard of service every single meal along with Eslam Elmgeed who also looked after our every need with nothing being too much trouble. I can honestly say that we have been to Egypt ten times and these two waiters are the best we have ever had anywhere. Their attention to detail and high standard of customer care is second to none and both waiters are a credit to the hotel. We spent most of out time just relaxing at the quiet pool and would also like to say a big thank you to Rashad. He is such a lovely helpful friendly guy who made sure we had everything we needed every day to enjoy the sunshine around the pool and again was a pleasure to chat with and learn little bits about his family and Egypt in general and I was genuinly sorry to say goodbye to him. The poolbar staff at the quiet pool were wonderful also and made sure we kept well "hydrated" All in all it was a wonderful two weeks and I'm sure it wont be long before we are back for visit number three. We met people during our two weeks who had been ten and twelve times to Laguna Beach and I can fully understand why. It is such a beautiful hotel - but it's the staff that make all the difference and with the staff we met and were served by Laguna Vista Beach is head and shoulders above the rest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in February for our honeymoon. The hotel is impressive, our room was amazing, overlooking the sea and pools, it was very clean. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The food was to a very high standard and you were never short of anything. We would like to thank everyone at the hotel for a fantastic holiday, we would definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My sister and I had a amazing stay at the Laguna Vista ,our room was very comforable and clean ,all the staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful,especially the restuarant waiters Ahmed Shazy,Islam and Khaled,also the bar waiter Mino, all were so kind and constantly doing their best to see you were okay always so pleasant ,the Laguna Vista should be so proud of their wonderful staff,including Taha on reception
who was always willing to help with any queries,we cannot wait to go back for another relaxing stay and be pampered by the wonderful staff.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have just returned from the Laguna Vista Beach Resort and what a fantastic holiday was had by all. The rooms were very comfortable and I looked forward to a chill out after a hard day at the pool.
Our room cleaner was very hospitable and always made us smile with his aetistic displays each day.(arranging not just towels but our clothes artisicly on our beds :) ).
This was our first visit here and to be honest wasnt looking forward to dinning as I had heard not very good refiews about dinning in eygpt , not at this hotel we had a good choice of food that was to a very very good standard. The exec Chef was always there to get feed back and if there was any feed back he would embrace and do his best to accomodate. I really emjoyed eat meal time.
The whole experience was a memorable one and I will be going back next year as I was made to feel very welcome by all staff . The pool bar and towel attendant were funny and attentive.
Thank you Laguna Vista for a brilliant holiday we will see you next year that is defo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our second trip to Laguna Vista beach resort. Such a relaxing place to be set in beautiful surroundings. We enjoyed our time there last year hence we returned so i knew what to expect. When we went into the restaurant to eat (all inclusive) i was a little disappointed that there was less choice than last year, however, the quality was far better. There is a new executive chef (been there 7mths) and he clearly wants to please the guests. It was great to see him in the restaurant every day speaking to customers and truely listening to their opinons. Even though its a buffet style restaurant (plus bbq outside every night) you can personally ask for little extras - we requested home made chips on 1 occasion (there the best chips ever!!!) we were then offered them on a further 2 occasions just because he knew we liked them. - it appears nothing is too much trouble in the restaurant this year. All pool areas are beautiful and well staffed, lifeguards, towel men and bar staff, again, nothing is too much trouble. We were made to feel very welcome and will be returning for a third year. Its not the best place ive ever been but theres something about it that makes you want to return. We met many people that have been returning year after year. We were asked by management to air comments, complaints etc and the only 2 things we could suggest was WiFi should be free throughout the hotel and it would be good to have more than 1 all inclusive bar in the evenings (there are 3 during the day currently).
I would like to thank all the staff that looked after us so well and i look forward to seeing them next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

First, and most important, the STAFF…. All brilliant, so helpful and friendly, could not do enough for you and always with a smile. Personally we were very well looked after at every meal by Badwy, making sure we had a nice table and getting our drinks. Our room was looked after by Ahmed, who made us some wonderful towel sculptures. At the (smaller) pool Rashad made sure everything was OK, had our sun loungers and towels ready for us every day, chatted and took the guys off for games of table tennis. On Valentine’s Day he made a lovely floral tribute. Ahmed, our pool barman kept us supplied with teas and coffees and any other drinks we wanted.
The ROOMS, spacious, with a large bedroom area, large balcony and plenty of storage space. Good sized mirrors and a large TV. Comfortable bed but pillows not so good. The bathroom let it down somewhat, being very tired and in need of a revamp, the hairdryer was pointless, would have been there all day. I can see that some guests would have demanded another room but it was clean and we didn’t see the point in making that much of a fuss over it. The bed was very comfortable.
The FOOD.. yes, some of it could be quite samey but lots of effort went into presentation and there was plenty of choice. Breakfast was my favourite meal, choice of continental style meats and cheeses, scrambled eggs, French toast, etc. Freshly made pancakes and fried eggs or omelettes. Plenty of choice of bread/rolls – not our favourite as tended to be cardboardy and tasteless. A large selection of very moreish mini Danish pastries. Yoghurt and good choice of fruits.
Lunch was choice of hot or cold. Plenty of well presented salad options, two choices of soup and freshly made pasta dishes – these were excellent. Fruit and desserts. Desserts often looked better than they tasted, for example quite often any sponges were too dense and dry and held together with too much extremely sweet fake cream. But there were some really delicious ones, a lovely cheesecake and strudel things plus the crème caramel was excellent.
Dinner was similar to lunch but with added extras on the outside grills which could be freshly made pizzas, kofta kebabs, grilled chicken or duck to name a few.
Wine, which you could only have in the restaurant with lunch or dinner, was good and even better when I discovered they were quite happy to add soda so I could have a spritzer.
Dua Dua – poor… one visit per stay for all inclusive, should be one a week as per majority of other inclusive resorts. Very restricted, uninspiring menu – if they were hoping this would encourage you to come back for a la carte they have another think coming.
If you really didn’t like the food there was McDonalds, KFC, Burger King and TGI’s just outside the resort, but this defeats the object of all-inclusive and can be got at home (although not if you live where we do!)
There were always plenty of bottles of water for you, if you had to pay for these it would add a significant cost so this is a real plus point.
Downsides.. it was not always clear what activities were on. The seafood restaurant – Papaya – you received a discount on, we didn’t try it so don’t know how good it is. The guests tend to be majority Italian or Russian. We felt that the amount of food taken, and wasted, by some of the Russian guests was very disrespectful and unnecessary.
The sea was very shallow for a long way out and fish could be seen in the shallows without the need to snorkel, although you saw more if you did. May be the time of year but not so many different fish as in Sharks Bay where we have been before.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the Cave Bar as this can be noisy until late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laguna Vista Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Vista Beach Resort

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 12311, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#19 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#20 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Laguna Vista Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 370
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Laguna Vista Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Vista Beach Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Laguna Vista Sharm El Sheikh
Laguna Vista Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Vista Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.