We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Don't Hesitate To Book !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleopatra Luxury Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cleopatra Luxury Resort to your Saves list
Cleopatra Luxury Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 3150, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Don't Hesitate To Book !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Like so many people I spent hours reading the reviews of hotels in Sharm El Sheikh and worrying about the random few bad reviews on certain hotels however we eventually booked The Cleopatra Luxury Resort Hotel in Nabq Bay.

Having just got back after two weeks (18th Aug - 1st Sept) I can definitely say we made the right choice , I will split my review down into topics which will hopefully make it easier to browse through.

Location

The Cleopatra is 10 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh airport so if you don't have transfers then you'll get a local taxi (blue/white cars) for about £3 from outside the airport.
If you walk outside the hotel there are a lot of shops / pharmacy / english pubs etc which is nice if you fancy a stroll after dinner and they are all within 10 minutes of the hotel.
The hotel is about 20 minutes from Naama bay which I would recommend a visit one evening. Its a very vibrant bustling town centre with loads of shops , bars , restaurants , shisha lounges etc and also has a Hard Rock Cafe , TGI Fridays and a few good nightclubs.
You will get pestered by the local traders which initially is quite entertaining as they are all quite funny but after an hour it gets a bit tedious and its best just to totally ignore them even though you feel a bit rude but it works and they leave you alone !!
Also 10 minutes from The Hotel is Soho Square which is a busy area in the evening with a lot less hassle than Naama Bay , it has bars , restaurants and lots of nice shops , definitely worth a visit , you will pay about £3 in a local taxi. (Top Tip … Don't use the hotel taxi's they cost a fortune , just go outside the front of the hotel onto the street and flag a local taxi down) Don't pay anymore than 30 Egyptian Pounds to Soho square and don't pay anymore than 70 Egyptian Pounds to Naama Bay (They will try and charge you more but do a bit of negotiating and agree a price before you get in the cab !!) Always book one way only as they will try and get you to book a return journey but its a scam as they get you to wait for them in a friends shop and leave you there for ages hoping you'll buy something so book each cab separately !!

Weather

It was generally about 40 - 46 degrees whist we were there which is ok providing you have a breeze which this hotel gets off the sea most days however there were a couple of evenings where there wasn't a breeze and it was unbearable , we were sweating just sat having a drink on th balcony about 10pm so if you aren't that keen on intense heat then consider going early in the year or later in the year (I'm told October / November is a nice time to go) Make sure you take a hat and lots of sun cream , I saw a few hero's who thought they didn't need it and burnt to a crisp within 4 hours !!

Hotel

The hotel is spotlessly clean and very impressive , there is a large reception area with concierge , taxi desk and all the travel reps desks , the reception also has free wifi although its quite slow in the evenings when everyone is on FaceTime and Skype etc
The complex is just about big enough , its only a 4 minute walk from reception down through the complex and onto the beach , I have stayed in other Sharm hotels which are far too big but The Cleopatra is perfect. There are little golf buggys to run you around should you need them and the blocks are split around the complex and the three pools. At sunset each evening a guy walks around with a fumigator which makes the hotel look like a Rod Stewart concert for about 20 minutes however the smoke is non toxic and gets rid of any bugs , mosquitos and flys etc and as a result the complex has virtually no bugs at all , I didn't see anyone with a mosquito bite and I only ever saw the odd fly , great idea that works however I would advise you to keep your balcony door closed for 20 minutes whilst they do this as the smoke smells a bit funny but is completely safe.

Pools/Beach

There are three pools at The Cleopatra , the main pool behind reception has a swim up bar in the middle however this pool is also where the animation team do all their water polo and aerobics and yoga etc so its quite a vibrant busy pool but some people prefer that.
Our favourite pool was the infinity pool at the bottom of the complex which looks over the beach and sea , its a lot quieter and has toilets on hand as well as being next to the beach bar for drinks and food etc. The pool is looked after by two guys called HANY and AWADALLA , I can't say enough about these two as they were the nicest guys and really made our holiday , they work so hard looking after everyone around the pool , moving your umbrella as the sun moves , keeping the pool area clean and are both very funny to have a chat with , thanks Hany & Awad :-)
The other pool is also very quiet at the front of the hotel if you want to be away from the activities etc. All of the pools had spare sun beds all day so you don't need to panic in a morning about getting a sunbed , you can get up and go to breakfast and wander down to the pool about 9/10am and still get a sunbed in a nice location. When you check in at Reception they will give you a towel card each which you can exchange every day for a beach towel (fresh towel every day) Don't lose your towel card though as its 100 Egyptian Pounds fine !!
The beach is quite gritty but has lots of sun beds and a shallow coral reef that you can walk around in and see lots of colourful fishes etc but you MUST wear shoes as there are urchins and sea snakes in the reef which I wouldn't want to step on !! The snorkelling off the pier is great and there are lots of beautiful fish and corals to see right next to the pier :-)


Rooms

The rooms are stunning , they are large , spacious , tastefully decorated , very clean (cleaned everyday) and air conditioned which is lovely !! The beds are huge and VERY comfortable , I've never slept so well as I did at this hotel. There is a fridge in the room which gets 2 big bottles of water every day for free , there is a small hairdryer in the bathroom however ladies if you have lots of hair I recommend taking your own hairdryer. There is a free digital safe in each room where you set your own code which we used with no problems. The plugs are 2 pin but use the same adapters as Europe. Al the towels are provided so you don't need to bring any.
Block 2 , 3 and 6 are my recommendations as they look over the infinity pool and are away from the noise of the entertainment at night , block 5 is also ok but has the fish restaurant below it which would put me off due to the fishy smell from the food. Blocks 1 , 8 and 7 are all around the main pool and reception area so will be a bit noisier in the day and in the evening.

Food

The food at The Cleopatra to be honest is good however it is rotated quite quickly so in a two week stay you may get the same themed night 3 times and some of the themed food is a bit obscure , it would be much better if they had core food types every night instead of some of the weird and wonderful dishes they prepare. There were quite a few families there so chips or wedges and sausages , fish fingers , chicken nuggets or something similar would be great for the kids and I'm sure a few adults too but don't let this out you off the food is good here.
We were looked after by a couple of great waiters MOHAMED MABRUCK and FAVAG in the main restaurant , they were amazing and always on hand serving you drinks and making sure you were happy , thank you guys !!
There are 2 other ala carte restaurants on the complex , there is a fish restaurant which over looks the beach and sea which you normally pay for however if you are all inclusive then you get 4 visits during your 2 week stay to use either this restaurant or the other italian restaurant. Both are very nice but have to be booked through reception , you will get 4 vouchers when you check in. The drinks on the all inclusive package are great , we are not big drinkers so tended to live on alcohol free cocktails and soft drinks , the guy who serves drinks around the infinity pool (MOHAMED EL SAID) is amazing , he serves you drinks to your sun beds and as soon as you finish one drink there is another waiting for you !! Thankyou Mohamed :-)
The beach bar is great for lunch as it serves Pizza , Fajita , Burgers , Fries etc (included in the all inclusive package) and is in the shade and has wifi so its lovely to sit down there for an hour whilst the sun is at its strongest and have a bite to eat and check your Facebook / emails etc

Entertainmant

The entertainment team at this hotel do the best with what they have , I wouldn't say the evening entertainment was great but its ok , they have a few themed nights with Egyptian dancers , fire shows , snake shows , karaoke etc and every evening is started with a kids mini disco from 8.30 - 9.30 pm which is great for the kids.
The team run trips out most evenings to Naama Bay , Soho Square and various nightclubs and beach partys (If thats your cup of tea) we didn't bother as we found the heat made us quite tired by the evening so we generally , had dinner , watched the hotel show for an hour then went to bed about 10pm !!
There is plenty to do in the day from water polo , aerobics , yoga etc all by the main pool and the entertainment team are all very friendly and not too pushy to get you involved unlike some other hotels.

Excursions

Your travel rep will have a meet & greet meeting when you arrive and try and sell you lots of days out etc , I would recommend doing some of the excursions whilst in Egypt as they are fantastic HOWEVER don't be in a rush or put under pressure to buy them from your travel rep , they are much cheaper elsewhere , there is a english pub about 10 minutes walk from The Cleoptara called The George which is run by an nice english couple and they do exactly the same excursions but a lot cheaper , if you are going to do a few trips then you will save a lot of money. I would recommend Flying to Cairo and seeing the Pyramids / Sphinx / Egyptian museum , its £170 through your rep or about £130 from The George pub but its worth every penny , the pyramids and the museum are breathtaking and you get a lovely lunch at a nice restaurant thrown in too !!
The snorkelling is a MUST !! I would recommend Tiran Island on a day trip , they take you out on a boat all day and stop at 3 different AMAZING reefs where you can snorkel or dive for about 45 minutes and you get lunch on the boat which is lovely (Don't book the VIP version , you only get a BBQ thrown in extra and is not worth the extra £20) These trips are £30 through your rep but you can get them as cheap as £10 for exactly the same trip so shop around !!
The quad bikes are also amazing , they are about £20 for 3 hours and they take you into the desert to a bedhouin camp where you have egyptian tea and drinks and then drive back through the desert back to the base … AMAZING !!
The hotel has a spa and the guys will come round and offer you the treatments however the few couples we spoke to were not overly impressed so perhaps if you're thinking about a massage or a treatment then it might be wise to ask for a 5 minute taster before you book !!

General Advice

You will get hassle when you go outside the hotel complex and especially into Naama Bay , don't let it put you off , its all quite friendly but just a bit tedious.
DONT let anyone take photo's for you , they WILL expect a tip.
DONT stroke the camels , the owner will expect a tip.
DONT accept flyers , some people expect paying for them and won't let you hand them back.
STAY out of perfume shops , some of them are not keen to let you leave until you have bought some of their perfume !!
Haggle with everyone , expect to pay about a quarter of the starting price when you buy something !!
If you feel you've had good service then feel free to tip your waiter , pool guy , room cleaner etc but don't feel obliged , The Cleopatra is quite strict with its staff so you don't feel pressured into tipping everyone like you do in a lot of other hotels in Egypt.
If you feel ill then the doctor at The Cleopatra is amazing , I spoke to a few people who went to see him with dehydration and the odd bit of stomach ache and he sorted them all out within 12 hours !! Great guy don't be afraid to go and see him if you feel unwell.

Advice To Hotel Manager

You have a great hotel at The Cleopatra and I would consider coming back , however if you wanted to make the hotel completely AMAZING then I would ask that you consider the following points :-

Increase the variety of food , the food is ok but a little obscure/weird with your choices and there are not enough basic food types , it would be great if you had a section with basic vegetables , chips , sausage , chicken nuggets , jacket potatoes etc especially for the children EVERY NIGHT !! Not so many themed nights would be better but just a larger variety of standard dishes. Everyone at the hotel said the food could be much better !!

Entertainment in the evening needs addressing !! There are so many talented bands , singers , tribute acts , illusionists & variety acts which would be appreciated by all nationalities which I'm sure would be grateful of the chance to come and work around the hotels in Sharm and they would be far more entertaining than watching Egyptian dancers every week , most people I spoke to at the hotel were not impressed with the variety and choice of the evening entertainment.

The entertainment team at The Cleopatra are in my opinion far too young and are not suited to that type of hotel / holiday , they all appear to be better suited in a young persons / club / pub resort and not in a family orientated relaxing hotel such as The Cleopatra , some of them even moaned about the fact they were not happy and wanted to move , I went on holiday to relax and not to hear other people moaning about their job !!

The music on some days on the external speakers outside the restaurant was not what you would expect from a relaxing quality resort , it was far too loud and dance orientated , I have stayed at other resorts in Egypt where the music is very calming and relaxing (spa music) and adds to to the feel of the hotel , it really needs changing !!

The pools need some attention , there are tiles dropping off the walls and floor of the pools on a daily basis , especially in the infinity pool !! It makes the pools look untidy and unkept , it would be a very quick job to rectify this but it doesn't seem to be getting done , disappointing as the pools are otherwise amazing !!

The pool sun bed cushions and umbrellas are ready for a change , they are ok but not what I would expect of a 5 star luxury hotel !!

The Russian Guest Relations girl (Blonde Hair) is the most rude and unhelpful person I have ever met , she is the worst person in the hotel to be in Guest Relations , not a good impression for the hotel !!!

The supervisors often walked around the pools inspecting the pool areas which is great however they were shouting at the pool staff in front of guests which is awful !! The pool staff work so hard and do a great job so please stop your supervisors shouting at them , its unprofessional and not necessary as the pool guys are amazing !!

Conclusion

Great hotel , could be made AMAZING with a few changes but if you are thinking about booking a good reasonably priced 5 star hotel in Sharm then I would definitely recommend The Cleopatra , if you want to spend the extra money and want to be pampered then consider The Rixos hotel , The Savoy Hotel or if you have lots of money then go to The Four Seasons hotel.

Room Tip: Room tip is to get blocks 2 , 3 or 6 which all overlook the infinity pool and most rooms overlook th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashroush M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Narmus73,
Warmest Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Thank you for taking the time to write your summary regarding your stay. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services.

It is great to know that you have chosen our resort for your holiday destination and that the associates of our resort have made your stay at pleasant one. The genuine care and comfort of our guest is always our highest mission.

Regarding to pool issue we finalize and fix all pool tiles .
Your concerns and feedback have been acknowledged, noted and shared to our management.
Be rest assured that your next visit will be even a more pleasurable one, as we continuously strive to provide the most memorable and unique stay for our guests.
and we appreciate your advance for other guest :)

best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,440
    631
    172
    62
    38
See reviews for
530
1,108
69
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

So, me and my bf stayed here for a week. When we got there we were told that we were getting an upgraded room free of charge. We told the receptionist that he wasnt really doing us a favour as we paid for an upgrade anyway. They seemed to do this with all the guests at the hotel. He was kinda rude and seemed annoyed with us for questioning it. We accepted it as we just wanted to start enjoying our holiday.

The grounds of the hotel seemed nice but could be alot better. It looked quite shabby and definitely not 5* or even 4*. The room was spacious but there was no wireless internet! This was a big problem for us. The sunbeds were old, some broken and shabby.

The food was the main problem here. It was pretty much disgusting. I was extremly ill from eating the rubbish food that they served and i didnt even eat a full meal all the time i was there. It was bland and ugly looking. The beach grill served a pathetic excuse of a pizza covered in flour. It was dry and tasteless. The italian restuarant was pretty much the same and barely italian. We didnt eat in the seafood restaurant as they were full on the nights we were able to eat there.

There are rude obnoxious russians everywhere. The people try to rip you off every chance they get.

Sharm is a beautiful place buy we will never be going back to the cleopatra "luxury" (lol) resort!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrCairo, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear reviewer,
Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort ,

We have 2 types of sea view room Superior and deluxe ,You have booked a superior sea view room and what you got is a deluxe sea view room and that what the receptionist told you . He did not mean to make you a favor but he wanted to please you that you have got a free upgrade to a higher category .


For WIFI issue we offer free WIFI at lobby area , disco and beach grill restaurant and internet with Cable at rooms Free of charge , we didn't mentioned we have free WIFI at rooms.

1- Food issue, kindly note that we have seven different them nights to get guest with different nationalities and test satisfactions..

At Main restaurant we offers 07 different them nights plus to 02 ala crate restaurants and beach grill restaurant plus snacks are available for each pool area include burger , chips

Main Restaurant: we already have a variety and high quality of food presented in the main restaurant through theme nights. So we have Italian, Mexican , French , international ,oriental , gala dinner , Mediterranean and sea food and Caribbean nights .

We have 2 ala carte restaurant : ( Italian & Read Sea wharf ) in which you are entitled to get one per week in each .

In the beach grill : we have a big variety as follows: 2 kinds of salad ( Seasonal salad-Mushroom salad) ,4 kinds of sandwiches (Chicken pane-cold beef-cheese burger-hot dog) , 3 hot dishes (chicken fajita-Beef Fajita-chicken wings) all these dishes with French fries , 3 Kinds of Pasta ( Spaghetti Napolitano-Fuzzily white cream sauce-Penne ala arabbiatta) , 5 Kinds of Pizza (Diavolo-Napoli-Margarita-Vegetarian- Cheese –Sausage).


Cleopatra Luxury Resort is a 5* resort , our Ranked on Trip Advisory is 04th of 29th hotels ..

I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion but I would like to steer you towards the many positive reviews which I am sure you checked before booking your holiday as they do tell a very different story.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

My Fiancé and I am just got back from Sharm and we had an excellent time. The hotel is stunning and the staff really help create the atmosphere and make you feel comfortable.

Thank you to the really imaginative cleaner Mohammed for the towel displays, Ali from the beach grill who was a total gentleman and also to Hany who was amazing to us around the pool.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay except for one little thing. The managers were walking around the pool area inspecting different things which was good to see but they were rude to the staff in front of the customers.

Thank you for an amazing holiday

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashroush M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear Norma O,
Warmest Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Thank you for taking the time to write your Fantastic review regarding your stay. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services.

It is great to know that you have chosen our resort for your first visit to sharm el sheikh destination and that the associates of our resort have made your stay at pleasant one.
The genuine care and comfort of our guest is always our highest mission.


Be rest assured that your next visit will be even a more pleasurable one, as we continuously strive to provide the most memorable and unique stay for our guests.

Plasea follow us throw our page on face book Cleopatra Luxury Collection

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed here for the last week of August 2014. I read a lot of the reviews before hand so I was probably expecting the worst.

Check in
We checked in late in the evening and were upgraded to their beautiful sea view rooms with a welcome drinks for all. We Didn't realise how beautiful the views were till the next day. The hotel porter gave us a your of the hotel grounds as he took us down to our room.

Room
The Room was spacious and clean as you can see on the hotel pictures.
The air con could be turned down to a much cooler temperature. We had to ask reception to send someone lower the temperature down as 25 degrees was far too hot to sleep in everyday.
I had an incident with the shower where it fell on me on the first day but this was quickly fixed as soon as we reported it to reception.

Food
The food was edible and there a few choices. It took the kids a while to get used to it but they also had pasta to keep them going. The beach bar serves really nice pizza and it's the place to go if you want chips. Chips was only served on the last 2 days of our stay, not like this was a big negative for us.
Make sure you use your voucher to eat at the fish restaurant and the Italian (Fellini), we certainly enjoyed the food there especially if you don't want buffet food all week.

Excursions
The hotel offers a few excursions, we tried the El Safary, half day trip on the quad bikes and camel rides the guys were organised and it was an enjoyable trip. They also have the desert dive resort reps who you can book a snorkelling and diving trip with, although I must say if you're just snorkelling you can try the hotel pier as they have corals there too. We used the reps for diving one of the best company as we found some people were booking trips outside the hotel which weren't up to the right standards or safety conditions.

Pools
We stayed at the infinity pool but my 10years old loved the activity pool due to the water polo they had on.
Never had problems finding a sun bed as The pool boys were very quick to try and find you one and set up the brollies. You couldn't really get the brollies set up too early as they had strong winds in the morning so be careful as it could fall on you. Another plus side the sea view rooms are right by the infinity pool.

The staff
The staff were ever so kind and polite. From the housekeeper to the pool boys and the waiters. It's up to you if you want to tip, we tipped only because you can tell they work hard and still have a smile on their faces. Mohammed one of the waiters at the main hotel lobby bar seems to work everywhere and worked long hours. They all seem to speak English which isn't something you get everywhere in most cases.

Entertainment
The kids looked forward to the disco but a little boring for the adults. They had a few trips organised to go clubbing but this wasn't our scene with kids so you're left with what's on. Having been to a few resorts in Turkey you can't help but compare. As long as they kept the kids engaged it's fine by me.

Outside the hotel
We booked a taxi with the hotel service to Naama bay at 300 Egyptian pounds return cost. Naama bay was good for shopping but be ready to haggle and slash all the costs down to half. Also you will get hassled a lot on the streets so just walk on by unless you're interested in what they are selling.

There's a few cheap shops outside the hotel which we didn't bother checking out but these are within a walking distance if you're looking for cheap souvenirs.

Check out
As most flights to the uk were in the evening you'll need a late check out. We were able to get a 3pm check out at no extra cost! 6pm would have cost £25 extra but we were being picked up at 5pm and did not see any value in it. You can still get drinks until you leave the hotel and use the hotel facilities.


Overall for a family holiday of 4, we were happy with our stay and believe it was a wonderful all inclusive service, I'm glad we saved a few pennies this summer. It's a great value for money in my opinion.

Thank you Cleopatra hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashroush M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
Dear Ketty

Warmest Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive summary regarding your stay. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services.

It is great to know that you have chosen our resort for your holiday destination and that the associates of our resort have made your stay at pleasant one. The genuine care and comfort of our guest is always our highest mission.

Excursions not offered by hotel "Diving, Water sports, snorkeling by diving center company at hotel" , Safari, etc by tour leaders

Looking to welcome you again soon.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a week in august. I hope I can give some hints and tips to make your holiday a little bit more enjoyable.
We arrived late at night, nearly 11pm and check in was really quick. We got taken to our room in a golf buggy along with our suitcases and a small snack was also provided (bread, baps, fruit and some cheese).
When we went to our room we noticed the aircon was broken (the room would have melted you!!) and our balcony door lock was broken. We called to reception and someone was with us within 10mins and got both fixed.

The hotel itself is nice, the grounds are well kept and staff are constantly working. It is a little tired in places though, missing tiles in the pools are bad, so many people cut themselves. The pool area is so slippy, I nearly went on my back about 20 times!! You need to be really careful you don't slip!

I'll try and break the rest of this down for you.

Food...
Breakfast - the breakfast here wasn't to my taste, I hate sweet breads etc and I'm used to a good old Ulster fry so I don't let my review of breakfast put you off! There was loads to choose from, cereals, breads, fruit, eggs (cooked various ways) it all looked lovely. No pork anywhere - you won't get a pork sausage. They have chicken sausages and beef sausages. Kind of like the ones you get in a tin of Heinz spaghetti and sausages. Not good. Lol.
Lunch - lunch was lovely!! You can either eat in the buffet "market restaurant" or down at the beach grill. We ate at both but mostly the beach grill as they make a lovely pizza and chips.
Dinner - we loved the buffet food at night, they have a BBQ outside which has turkey etc. The buffet itself at dinner time had plenty of choice and you definitely won't go hungry.

Entertainment..
Prepare to be bored. The entertainment ends very early and you'll be left sitting thinking "is that it?!" Absolutely nothing to do at night and nowhere to go. And you will get a pang of jealously when you hear the tunes pumping from the Russian hotel next door. Bring scrabble.

Drinks...
The wine would strip wallpaper. The beer is rotten. But, a drink is a drink, I stuck to the white wine. You'll get pissed quicker so be careful, a hangover in that heat is horrendous!!

The shops inside the hotel...
Very expensive. You will get ripped off. As tempting as it is because it's handy, buy what you need from the shops down the street (left and right from outside the hotel)
Do NOT buy the Egyptian oils and aloe Vera... We were told the aloe Vera would help for sunburn and to use it before we sunbathed - it didn't help. It made it worse. We still owe that cowboy 150 Egyptian pounds - obv, we didn't pay.

The pool...
There's 2 main pools. One "noisy pool" and the infinity pool. The noisy one has a swim up bar which you can also get a burger and chips. The food is nice enough but the mix of raw and cooked burgers looked abit dodgy to me.

Outside of the hotel...
You can get a taxi to the nearest McDonald's, we paid 140 return with the hotel taxi service. There's also a KFC and a few British pubs which was great! The price of stuff in shops is much cheaper there too! Just be careful. You get hassled ALOT. Some of them are very rude which resulted in a quick "F OFF" from my boyfriend. I wouldn't advise anyone to repeat it. It didn't go down too well. Haha!!

The beach/sea...
Lovely beach and sea. The pier is great too, lovely view and so many colourful fish. The sea itself is very shallow and then it has a sudden drop, you can't walk to it, the lifeguards whistle at you to come back. It's a 25ft drop and there's coral.
The shallow beach/sea is lovely to walk around but YOU WILL MOST DEF NEED SHOES. There are more things in that shallow sea that will bite and sting you, we got shoes from down the street for £4 English pounds. The shop at the hotel wanted £20. In the pockets of deeper water in the sea we seen sea snakes, massive eels, loads of colourful fish and jaggy black things that like to hide on the bottom of the seabed, they are everywhere and will give you a nasty jag if you step on one. The snorkelling is very good, just off the pier.

The newspaper seller...
He wanted £5 British pounds for the sun newspaper. I told him I would give him £3, he said ok but as I was at the pool I had no cash so he agreed I could pay him the next day. Sure enough, he came over the following day but he said we agreed £4 (which we didn't) and he stood and argued with me. I know it's only £1 but it's the point of it. He wouldn't take £3 and I wasn't giving him £4. He tortured us multiple times to get £4, he got nothing at the end. Avoid him unless you have the money there and then.

Beach sellers...
You will come across Egyptians who make their way onto the beach to try and sell tat. Watch your bags. These people have nothing to do with the hotel. They also send Egyptian children with necklaces over to you, begging you to buy. You will also see a few women sellers hiding under the pier and they asked me to go to my hotel and bring them food - and ice cream. They had no chance. But people must do it for them as I have seen empty dirty plates under the pier.

Money...
There's an atm in the hotel which gives you a great rate. £11.67 Egyptian for £1 English. Keep your money in the bank and change it over there.

British pubs...
If you walk out of the hotel and turn right and keep walking you'll come across a lovely British pub! Sometimes it's nice to feel at home!

The rooms...
The rooms are very spacious and clean. Towels were changed every day and we also had a cool towel monkey left in out room one day!

EGYPTIAN TUMMY...
Jesus Christ almighty. There's no avoiding it. Bring Imodium. You will need it.

Check out...
Check out is at 12, we Wernt leavin the hotel til 7pm. They wer looking 45 euros to keep the room until 3pm. We didn't take up their offer but you can still use ur all inclusive until you leave which was great.

Overall the hotel was very good. A few wee niggly things but nothing major. I don't think I would go back to this hotel though.

If anyone has any more questions about the hotel feel free to ask :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashroush M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Sunny greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort- Sharm El Sheikh.

Many thanks for your fantastic review; we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Cleopatra Luxury Resort- we much appreciate your time for posting your comments and sharing your experience here.

We do look forward to welcoming you soon again at our resort. we will pass your nice comment to our team member.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Just returned from the Cleopatra Luxury resort where we had a great two week stay. We traveled as a family of three.
Our stay was made so enjoyable by the people we met, many of whom we will keep in touch with (thank you everyone) and also to a large number of the staff who worked so hard to make our stay enjoyable.

This is however a review of the hotel not my overall holiday:

Room: Our room had the most amazing view overlooking the infinity pool and out towards the sea (thank you Emad for meeting our requests)

Hotel layout: The hotel is well designed and makes the most of the amazing views, all areas of the hotel are easily reached with short walking distance.

Hotel up keep: V Poor, the hotel has been allowed to deteriorate badly in such a short space of time, some restoration started to take place as we were there but not soon enough for our visit. The pools are in a bad condition as are the beds and shades.(We did however avoid the bad areas where feet were cut rather than still swim there hoping for best!) The cleaning is not thorough or closely inspected (i.e discarded nappy left uncollected for three days). We booked this hotel based on the luxury concept!

Bars: Drinks widely available during the day across a number of bars and we certainly enjoyed trying the variety on offer. However at times the staff could not cope with demand and drinks were served in hot glasses or without ice as they had run out across the hotel. In the evening the selection of bar areas and space to sit and relax is limited.

Restaurants: The main buffet is adequate but not great and this is certainly where in other countries you get greater selection and quality (but you pay much more). The waiting staff here are disorganised and at no time did i see a table wiped between each customer. New cutlery was just placed with a paper napkin.

The two a la carte restaurants offer a change with our preference being the fish (however being overcome by wood preserve fumes from roof top maintenance on one visit was just one example of poor management)

Animation and entertainment: The animation team come largely from an agency who supply hotels on demand and a number joined and even left while we were there. However some were exceptional, Magdy, Gary (Civil engineer) Valentino, Football skills man (sorry forgot your name). Had some nice chats also with Racheal and Annie. Jess you really need to think is this the career for you! A more organised programme would make these guys even better.

The evening entertainment was not high quality compared to that experienced on other vacations.

Staff: Most in general work so hard. Special thx to Mohamed (terraced bar), Mustafa and Ahmed (Pool Bar). Khaled (Beech Grill and Fish restaurant)

Security: As for previous review, we know this was not the only theft by staff at the hotel - with the theft of other Ipads from rooms - shame on them. So i dont think the cleaner really did put them safe do you! The management also whilst knowing it was the staff tried to brush under the carpet.

Would i recommend this hotel: I would if you are looking for a relaxing break, with beautiful views with food not your main driver as to overall holiday enjoyment! Also if you need to carry an ipad or valuables be v careful where you leave them.

Room Tip: Infinitypooland see view rooms amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amrCairo, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Warmest Greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review regarding your stay. Your feedback is always important to us in order to improve our services.

It is great to know that you have chosen our resort for your holiday destination and that the associates of our resort have made your stay at pleasant one. The genuine care and comfort of our guest is always our highest mission.

Your concerns and feedback have been acknowledged, noted and shared to our management.
Be rest assured that your next visit will be even a more pleasurable one, as we continuously strive to provide the most memorable and unique stay for our guests.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

So I am writing this whilst having lunch at this resort and felt I must say something as there have been some bad reviews recently.

Whilst I accept there are tiles missing in the pool and some umbrellas are worn and the food is not amazing. I would also like to say that the rooms are stunning, the service is brilliant, the views are amazing and you can always find something in the buffet.....remember you dont need to have everything they serve all on your plate, there are mixed nationalities here and they have to cater for the masses.

Then the final point is for the money this resort is fantastic.....if you truly want 5 star then pay the £1000 more and go to the Grand Savoy, fourseasons or Rixos.

So all in all well chuffed with the value for money I am receiving here and would come again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rashroush M, General Manager at Cleopatra Luxury Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear BigJim02,
Sunny greeting from Cleopatra Luxury Resort- Sharm El Sheikh.

Many thanks for your fantastic review; we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Cleopatra Luxury Resort- we much appreciate your time for posting your comments and sharing your experience here and ADVICE TO OTHER GUEST WE APPRECIATE IT .

We do look forward to welcoming you soon again at our resort. we will pass your nice comment to our team member.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cleopatra Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Luxury Resort

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 3150, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cleopatra Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh is located in the Sinai Peninsula in the splendid isolation of Nabq Bay along the shores of the Red Sea with a water front private beach. The Resort offers one of a kind ambiance and style by reflecting the location, culture and history. The Resort combines the tradition of its host community with exceptional Service & Cuisine a luxury product with attention to detail. This distinction elevates Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh into the upper echelon of a five star hotel destination for sophisticated travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Cleopatra Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleopatra Luxury Resort Collection Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleopatra Luxury Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.